We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Econo Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Econo Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 126: English reviews
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Do not book a room here! Rooms are gross, even the nonsmoking rooms stink. Clientele is super sketchy, seriously wouldn't be surprised if they rent rooms by the hour. Found a guy passed out in the lobby when I decided to check out early because I couldn't stay there anymore.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mina L
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Esteemed Guest, Thank you for staying at the Econo Lodge during your recent visit to our area. We also appreciate your review and observations. We have investigated the happening and taken the appropriate steps to improve everything which you have mentioned in it. We have taken all the steps to ensure that our guests get the best services and hospitality...

New York, New York, United States
Reviewed 4 September 2012

i whole heartily agree with everyone of these reviews. The place is unbelivably sketchy. My room was possibly the most depressing "bates motel" imaginable. I could not believe that this was a hotel in the choice hotels group that i am a member of. The walls were dirty the locks on the door seemed flimsy,the cable T V barely worked....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Frank F
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thanks for writing the review and observations. We apologize for whatever may have happened howsoever. Please note that we have investigated the unfortunate trouble you had, but have taken remedial steps to see that it never happens again to any of our guests. We have done a thorough check up of the rooms and taken steps for...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This place is a real dump, even by Delhi standards. Do yourself a favor: just go back to rte 1 and find a motel 6 or anything else. Boston area is expensive... but this is Malden, a poor location and still $100. Are you kidding? May as well sleep in the car.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jeff H
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your stay at the Econo Lodge, Malden. We see your review and remark on the price. We are making sincere efforts to make improvements in all areas to offer our guests a clean and comfortable stay at a better price. Visit us again and have a great stay! Sincerely, Hotel Manager.

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This hotel/motel is advertised as being convenient to Logan airport: it's not too bad, though rush hour traffic makes it less so. However, that isn't enough to lure me back. A sinking feeling in the gut began on seeing the bulletproof plexiglas at reception. You know, the kind in liquor stores in bad parts of town. There was no smile...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tinker2000
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thanks for your stay and writing the review with observations. We apologize for whatever may have happened howsoever. Please note that we have investigated the unfortunate trouble you had, but have taken remedial steps to see that it never happens again to any of our guests. We have done a thorough check up of the rooms and...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 19 August 2012

The room reeked of smoke so badly that we had to launder all clothes after staying here. Meager breakfast should not even be advertised. Apathetic and unhelpful staff. Located in a very questionable area. Really didn't feel safe staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying at the Econo Lodge during your last visit. We note your review and regret the incident howsoever it might have happened. Our apologies on behalf of the front desk manager for any unfriendly behavior and assure that it will never happen again. We have given a special training to all the hotel staff and reception...

Gainesville, Florida
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The room refridgerator had been turned off and was left closed, creating a foul smell and making it unusable. The strong smell of urine in the corridor at the top of the stairs was horrible - that alone would make me never want to stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcculloc
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying at the Econo Lodge. Thank you further for your review which will definitely help us to improve. Guest reviews help us to improve a lot so that they get a nice experience. We are continuously improving our rooms, amenities and other related areas. We would love to see you again at our hotel and assure...

Reviewed 2 August 2012

The room stinks bad from the stale smoke. Opening the windows didn't help. Defiantly not worth it. Called the front desk about getting another room and i was told there are No non-smoking rooms. Paid $120 per night. Do not stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J C
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thanks for choosing the Econo Lodge and the review. We have investigated the smoke issue and have taken appropriate steps to attend each room of the hotel for amenities and just everything. We will offer you the best hospitality. So please do visit us again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.

Northfield, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 July 2012

...Far from it. The place is certainly sketchy and god knows who it caters to. I was in Boston and temporarily without accommodations, so I booked this motel without reading the reviews. The good -Fairly well-equipped room, with microwave, refurbished bathroom, mini-fridge, safe, hangers, TV -Fairly clean The bad -Not everything works, especially the lamps -The TV only has one...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gaiusjuliuscaesar
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying at the Econo Lodge, Malden. We appreciate you for taking your time to comment on your recent stay and your feedback. We truly apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during the stay. We have implemented complete security measures and ensure that no anti social activity is going on. We are addressing your observations related...

Malden, Massachusetts
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I stayed at the Econo Lodge back in May of 2012 for 3 days. The rooms are damp and humid. The AC barely works. The covers are itchy. The area is shady. MY GPS GOT STOLEN OUT OF MY CAR. I told the manager but he didn't do anything about not even a courtesy phone call. Breakfast is a joke....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dalia E
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for being at the Econo Lodge to stay during your last visit to our area. Our apologies for the bad experience you had howsoever. We have taken your review seriously and appropriate actions are being taken on each of your observations. We are hiring a professional team to study and improve the hotel upkeep and hospitality. We...

Aliso Viejo, California
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The Hotel was in worse part of city, first time visited Boston, this place was my first impression of Boston. I did checked out next day. The pictures showing nice place but are deceiving. It smells of mold and Boston's humidity adds to that. Got there on a rainy day, which I had no choice but to stay in hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NHemedy
econolodgemaldenma, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying at the Econo Lodge and the review. We are investigating the issue you have mentioned, and our apologies for the same however unlikely it may be. We believe that’s only way to improve. We are paying serious issues to the amenities and also pest control through a special agency. You are again welcome to stay...

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malden
1.8 km away
Quality Inn Revere
Quality Inn Revere
#4 of 5 in Revere
352 reviews
4.0 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ Boston - Logan
3.9 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Boston Logan International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Hyatt Place Boston/Medford
3.5 km away
Rodeway Inn Logan International Airport
2.3 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Boston Logan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Econo Lodge(R) hotel is conveniently located just seven miles from the Boston Logan International Airport. This Malden hotel is only minutes from the University of Massachusetts Boston (UMass Boston), Tufts University, Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Northeastern University and Harvard University. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 321 Broadway, Malden, MA 02148
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Malden
Price Range: RM379 - RM820 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Malden
Econolodge Hotel Malden
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Econo Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Montevideo, Uruguay
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try and get an upstairs room away from the main road it might be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles ChristopherL183, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you want Smoking Room, this is the place.”
 of 5 bubbles LaurenS611, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the main floor”
 of 5 bubbles charlottek785, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There are no good rooms-just a place to sleep and get up and go.”
 of 5 bubbles 767lynng, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get Room 258”
 of 5 bubbles GatorGuy32, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5