We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 107: English reviews
Dayton, Ohio
Reviewed 26 June 2016

This is simply a beautiful bed and breakfast! It is super clean and very comfortable. Joan and Steve's eye for detail is everywhere. Joan's breakfasts are mouth watering and filling. The location of this Inn was perfect for our day trips to Vermont and New Hampshire. Look forward to returning next year!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristine1315
Joan and Steve S, Owner at The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks, Kristine! We loved having you visit from Joan's home state and enjoyed your company and the opportunity to hear about your work and share wonderful memories about that special place. A week gave you time to really experience the house (a move to the suite at the end of the week was an inspired choice!) and the attractions here...

Worcester
Reviewed 24 January 2016

Stayed for the first time with Joan and Steve MLK weekend, but were treated like old friends. Very welcoming (as a B and B should be) and helpful with our many questions. Breakfast was a feast for the eyes as well as the palette. The bed in our room was perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
Joan and Steve S, Owner at The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Joe, Thanks so much for the compliments. We're very happy that you both had a good time here, especially as two-night visitors. We love the variety of folks who come stay with us from all walks of life, but having been involved in education for so long and having so many teachers in our family, we enjoyed your visit...

Brattleboro, Vermont
Reviewed 13 December 2015

My daughter, son-in-law, and I stayed with and enjoyed the hospitality of Joan and Steve while attending the Franklin County Cider Days. As our days were filled with activities of the event, it was such a pleasure to start the day with a hearty breakfast and then to head back to our inn and enjoy the common areas and grounds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FortyPutneyRoad
Joan and Steve S, Owner at The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Wow! First of all, given the quality of your property, we're overwhelmed by your high praise. You really know your stuff, so your comments mean a great deal to us. Secondly, we love hosting other innkeepers and restaurant owners because when they share tips of the trade, as you did, we gain valuable new perspectives and information we can use...

Palmer, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 December 2015

I arranged for an overnight for my wife's birthday. The highlight of the birthday surprise was having dinner at a nearby restaurant that my wife has wanted to try for a long time. It's a distance away so I thought an overnight would compliment the dinner. Well much to our delight the stay at Centennial House was the best part...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank george c
Joan and Steve S, Owner at The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you, George! As a small business owner in a crowded industry like ours you know how important it is to strive to exceed the customers' expectations. We truly enjoy meeting and hosting folks and were honored to host your wife's birthday surprise weekend. Steve says the house "performs well" for special occasions like birthdays and anniversaries. We're gratified that...

Stuart, Florida
Reviewed 13 November 2015

Our first time in New England and so thankful that we found The Centennial House B&B. Joan and Steve were so helpful from the moment we made the reservation until we met them for the first time. The house and property is amazing and very well kept. The Inn is very convenient to I 91 and in a lovely little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GJax
Joan and Steve S, Owner at The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

WOW! You folks are too wonderful! Our helper Caty and I were so intimidated when we found out that you were foodies and love to cook. It's gratifying to know that you liked the cake and the rest of the breakfast that much. I promise I will get that recipe out into the mail asap! The Deerfield Suite is a...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 26 October 2015

On our way back to Boston after fall color drive through ME and NH we stayed in this pretty B&B. We got their fairly late in the evening and went to bed after a brief talk with the owners about the property and breakfast. The inn appeared pretty spacious with two fairly large dinning rooms and several living quarters. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank P M
Joan and Steve S, Owner at The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for so many superlatives in your text. We're delighted that you appreciated our convenient location in the heart of New England, and found so much in your brief stay to compliment us on. Sorry too that you felt you had to tiptoe around on the wood floors at night. We wish we could have assured you that at 200...

Reviewed 25 October 2015

My sister and I stayed one night on the way back to civilization from a leaf-peeping tour of VT and NH. The house is a great added-on-many-times late 18th/early 19th century classic. It is very comfortable, but not in a flashy way. Two nice sitting rooms downstairs, an attractive sun room/ breakfast room and inside dining room. There are several...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank agriffithva
Joan and Steve S, Owner at The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very complete description of our services and the flexibility of our room layout--a unique feature of the property. The option for suites was here when we took over Centennial House, and date back to the 1800's, when the interior rooms were heated by fireplaces (now not in use unfortunately) and hallways were cooler (thankfully,...

Montpelier, Vermont
Reviewed 24 September 2015

I'm a frequent visitor at Northfield Mount Hermon and the owners here always make me feel welcome and right at home. They are always accommodating with breakfast times, etc. The food is consistently delicious. The rooms are lovely and comfortable. Warning, though: It's a small place and they fill up quickly so make sure you reserve far in advance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GreenMountainGirls
Joan and Steve S, Owner at The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you, GreenMountainGirls! We love our NMH guests because we get to know you over a span of time, hear about your children's progress, and know you're here because you want to be, not just because we are convenient to the school. Repeat guests remind us to never stop improving so that your experience, while familiar, is still fresh. That's...

NJ
Reviewed 20 July 2015

I needed a hotel for a lacrosse tournament being held at Northfield Mount Hermon. Somehow, I found Centennial House. Lucky me. We booked the Deerfield Suite and it was superb! A room for my daughter -- a big room with two twin beds; and for me a four poster king. We had our own beautiful large bathroom with a spa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsKNj
NJ
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Very nice owners. They neither ignored us, nor talked to us too much. Just the way my husband and I like it. And, the house is decorated just enough, not too pretentious, not so full of "stuff" that you feel like you are in your grandmother's house. We really enjoyed the breakfast. I see other reviewers mentioned it wasn't enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dosacquas
Joan and Steve S, Owner at The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hello! We're delighted that we hit the right note for you during your visit and we'll look forward to seeing you again. We usually ask about any mobility issues vis a vis the Northfield Room bed as it is high. If you booked online directly, we may not have had the opportunity to raise the issue. B&B's strive not to...

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northfield
18.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
20.7 km away
Deerfield Inn
Deerfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Deerfield
793 reviews
22.2 km away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 km away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
550 reviews
7.6 km away
The Inn at Crumpin-Fox
The Inn at Crumpin-Fox
#1 of 1 in Bernardston
74 reviews
16.9 km away
Brandt House
Brandt House
#2 of 4 in Greenfield
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Boutique B&B with spacious guest rooms and suites minutes Greenfield and Deerfield, colleges and Pioneer Valley attractions to the south, and north to Brattleboro or Keene. Pillow top beds, cable TV, WiFi and ample country breakfasts in an historic New England village. Enjoy hearth side breakfast in winter, or spectacular views in the Sun Room in warmer weather. Relax in a gazebo overlooking distant hills; there's electricity and WiFi out there too so you can use your laptop. Weddings, meetings and other events. Off I-91 and Mohawk Trail, near attractions, hiking the New England Trail, x-c skiing, shopping and fine dining. Open all year. Romantic and family-friendly suites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 94 Main St, Northfield, MA 01360-1022
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Northfield
Price Range: RM594 - RM968 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Jetsetter so you can book your The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sturbridge room had a great view!”
twintelepathy, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We have stayed in several different rooms and all were very nice!”
buckeyegirl56, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Northfield is a QUIET town (but minutes from Deerfield, Greenfield and Brattleboro VT)”
  • Comfy quarters
JoeD193, 23 Jan 2016 | Read review
“look at the rooms on the website”
GreenMountainGirls, 24 Sep 2015 | Read review
“There is an option to have a 2 room/shared bath if you are traveling with children.”
  • Lovely B&B - great hosts!
alisonm429, 16 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5