We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
05/11/2017 06/11/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Publick House Historic Inn

    On the Common, 277 Main Street - Route 131, Post Office Box 187, Sturbridge, MA 01566-0187
    (508) 219-6443
    Hotel website
    Lowest prices for your stay
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Savings alert: 17% below average rate

    The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$81/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    SAVE US$77
    SAVE US$77
    Traveller (90)
    Room & Suite (20)
    Dining (5)
    • Excellent39%
    • Very good24%
    • Average19%
    • Poor10%
    • Terrible8%
    Travellers talk about
    “bake shop” (31 reviews)
    “sticky buns” (19 reviews)
    “public house” (30 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Air Conditioning
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Pets Allowed
    Conference Facilities
    2.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    5 Nov6 Nov
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      View Deal
    View all 44 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (443)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year

    1 - 5 of 433 reviews

    Reviewed 4 days ago

    We arrived late after a 6 hour flight to Boston and stayed in the Country Motor Lodge. The room was large clean and the bed was comfortable. The lower dinning room was still open so we had a supper of soup, which was good, serve...More

    Thank Lynn5450
    Response from FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Publick House Historic InnResponded 3 days ago

    Dear Lynn, We were so happy to host you here at the Publick House Sturbridge and provide you with the relaxing rest from the road that you needed after traveling for so long. Your highlights of our cleanliness and our dining team are very appreciated...More

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    This historic New England property has been here since the 1700's! Property houses several dining rooms and function facilities as well as a tavern and bake shoppe. We arrived for the Harvest festival weekend and the annual scarecrow contest. This year was a little disappointing!...More

    Thank wetsuitdrymartini
    Response from FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Publick House Historic InnResponded 5 days ago

    Thank you for your detailed comments and for making us part of your annual trip. We're pleased our friendly staff and delicious food keep you coming back. However, we're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the food selection and availability this year. We'll pass...More

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    An easy off the hi way for a quick lunch. Historic and very colonial. Good lunch service. The fried fish sandwich was overcooked and dry and not recommended. The chicken pot pie was excellent so get this. A warm breadbasket had several choices and was...More

    Thank lfbmonkey
    Response from FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Publick House Historic InnResponded 1 week ago

    We are pleased to hear that your lunch at the historic Publick House Sturbridge made for a pleasant diversion from your travels. While our warm breadbasket, chicken pot pie, and colonial atmosphere were all to your liking, we apologize for not hitting the mark with...More

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    So many problems. We arrived to find two weddings in full swing, plus two private events. An unlucky start. But it's a sprawling property with add-ons and additions which are not easy to follow. No-one to take cases or direct to suite in one of...More

    Thank layaboutEngland_
    Response from FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Publick House Historic InnResponded 1 week ago

    Thank you for notifying us of your experience. We are sorry that our accommodations did not meet your standards or your expectations. Your issues with traffic noise are very atypical and we sincerely apologize for any deficiencies with our AC unit that led to that...More

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

    3 friends enjoyed a delicious lunch together on this gorgeous autumn day with fresh hot bread, clam chowder, smoked salmon spinach salad. Enjoy the pretty fall flowers outside afterwards. Very old colonial building. Good service. Lots of parking in back. Don't miss walking through the...More

    Thank Pamela N
    Response from FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Publick House Historic InnResponded 1 week ago

    Dear Pamela, All of us at Publick House Sturbridge loved serving you and your friends a delicious lunch! It sounds like you had a lovely get-together, so thank you for allowing us to be a part of it! Our clam chowder and smoked salmon spinach...More

    Hampton Inn Sturbridge
    615 reviews
    #4 of 14 hotels in Sturbridge
    Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
    364 reviews
    #1 of 14 hotels in Sturbridge
    Super 8 Sturbridge
    805 reviews
    #3 of 14 hotels in Sturbridge
    Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
    364 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Southbridge
    • Top amenities
    • Restaurant
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Pool
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Banquet Room
    • Conference Facilities
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Pool
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Outdoor pool
    • Price range
    • US$83 - US$154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Suites ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 100
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Publick House Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United States >
    • Massachusetts >
    • Sturbridge
    • Also Known As
    • Publick House Historic Hotel Sturbridge
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (90)
    Room & Suite (20)
    Dining (5)
    Pool & Beach (3)
    Hotel & Grounds (74)
    Family and Play Areas (4)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
    Bathroom (2)
    Super 8 Sturbridge
    805 reviews
    .95 km away
    Hampton Inn Sturbridge
    615 reviews
    .57 km away
    Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
    364 reviews
    5.62 km away
    Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
    364 reviews
    1.04 km away
    Nearby Restaurants
    Sturbridge Seafood
    412 reviews
    1.16 km away
    B.T.'s Smokehouse
    543 reviews
    1.37 km away
    Publick House Historic Inn
    705 reviews
    .01 km away
    Cracker Barrel
    312 reviews
    1.50 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Old Sturbridge Village
    1,160 reviews
    1.62 km away
    St. Anne's Shrine
    50 reviews
    3.12 km away
    Notre Dame Parish
    26 reviews
    4.70 km away
    Hemlock Ridge Golf Course
    5 reviews
    4.17 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    6 October 2016|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from Downsouth56 | Reviewed this property |
    Sorry, not a pet owner. You should call the hotel or visit their webpage.
    2 September 2016|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from Andrea C | Reviewed this property |
    There is an outdoor pool that is probably open during daylight hours until it gets too cold to use. Call the front desk about refrigerators, new renovations probably brought new amenities. There is a YMCA in nearby... More
    Room Tips
    "Stay in the Chamberlain!"
    Read review
    "If u r handicapped or have difficulty walking, u may not want to stay in the lodge. ask your questions..."
    Read review
    "make sure you book in the main part of the hotel and dont take children!"
    Read review
    "Good place midway between Boston and Hartford--all rooms seem to be good and are quiet"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing