We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

327 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 324: English reviews
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed 18 December 2014

We booked a double bed room and both beds were terribly uncomfortable. The room also smelled like a wet dog. Location is great for being downtown and the staff was nice. It should be cheaper unless they are going to do something about those beds though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa L
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Teresa L, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to review your experience. I am so glad you appreciated our location and that you were pleased with our staff. Please accept our sincerest apologies for your displeasure with the room. We take your comments seriously and will use your feedback to improve experiences...

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 18 December 2014

Great hotel with the best location. Walking distance to several great dinner spots and the local brewery option are endless. The hotle is also attachrd to the river walk which makes it easy to get a nice run in befor dinner.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JEG810
Alexis B, Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, On behalf of our entire team this holiday season, we thank you for your kind words regarding our property. You are absolutely correct in saying our location within the downtown area is one of the best! Grand Rapids has endless restaurants and events for all to enjoy, and to have them at our fingertips is fantastic! We...

Leslie, Michigan
Reviewed 14 December 2014

Last Year I Stayed at the JW Marriott and had a great time and stay. Yesterday, I stayed at the Marriott G.R. Downtown. Second stay, won't do it again. Noisy, parking not reasons able for a weekend.. 1. Room only a normal motel room. 2. Party in room 322 ALL night. Apparently no security that walks the hall. ALL NIGHT...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank howery2016
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review

Dear TH5060, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review and bring this important feedback to our attention. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the problems during our stay, and be assured we will work to improve and correct these issues. We hope that we have the opportunity to host you again for...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 12 December 2014

Love this hotel location. It was so convenient to get to the art prize events as well as all the GVSU activities throughout the weekend. We had 4 girls in a 2 queen bed room and there was plenty of room for all of us. The refrigerator in room also made it very helpful for us to keep our snacks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
Nathan G, Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review

It is great to hear such a wonderful review of our Hotel! Being located in the heart of Downtown, we are able to offer our guest a superior experience! Its nice that you were able to enjoy the many amenities our hotel has to offer! We appreciate you choosing the Downtown Courtyard and all of your kind words! We hope...

Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 17 November 2014

Courtyard Downtown GR has begun showing it's age. As a frequent traveler and valued member of Marriott's reward program, would opt to stay at a 'fresher' hotel. Carpet is worn, lighting is poor, the best they can do in the gym is an old fashioned water fountain. Really. Parking is cobbled together, up and down two elevators, walk around the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Mark C, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us while you were in Grand Rapids - we realize you have many downtown hotel options in our city, and appreciate you selecting the Downtown Courtyard by Marriott. We also appreciate you taking the time to review your stay and share this important feedback with us, which we...

Michigan
Reviewed 10 November 2014

Great place to stay while in G.R. We came in late at night and the front desk was very accommodating. Couldn't have asked for a better experience. We will be sure to stay there the next time we are in town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spiatt
Nathan G, Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, To hear you say how fantastic your stay at our property was makes me honored to work for such a amazing property! We have many events through out the year, including Laugh Fest and Art Prize that bring in crowds from around the country for these events. We would be delighted for the opportunity to host you...

Toledo
Reviewed 8 November 2014

The location is perfect to view the majority of ArtPrize. The service was good, especially considering how busy it was around the weekend. Free newspaper on the weekend was a bonus. Nice area to eat and relax. Connects to most major places through skybridges. Room was typical Courtyard. No issues waiting for elevators.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Burgs1
Alexis B, Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, On behalf of the Courtyard by Marriott Team, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here during the excitement of ArtPrize! We pride ourselves on the customer service that is provided by our associates and thank you for your kind review! We hope to see you prior to ArtPrize 2015 and look forward to...

MI USA
Reviewed 4 November 2014

Stayed at this property and I was immediately greeted by the front desk staff (Jessica) with a great smile and positive attitude. Had a mechanical issue with the electronic door card reader and made a couple trips back to front desk. Maintenance (genuinely friendly) came and fixed the issue and Jessica offered 'free' breakfast coupons for my troubles. This is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bsamgbane
Alexis B, Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the amazing review! We cannot begin to thank you for complimenting our team and appreciate your comments! I'm sincerely sorry to hear that you faced issues upon check-in regarding your door lock, however, am not surprised that you received excellent service from Jessica! She exemplifies fantastic customer service and I am happy to hear...

South Bend, Indiana
Reviewed 3 November 2014

Pros: Great location, right across from the B.O.B. so it was great for going out. Access to the skywalk so could get to the JW Marriot for an event without going outside. Very reasonably priced room service though their Bistro restaurant and timely service. Cons: Heater was randomly extremely noisy. Two of our towels had coffee stains on them. Charged...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renee B
Alexis B, Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Renee, Thank you for reviewing our property! We appreciate and could not agree more that our location is excellent for nightlife and dining options as well as visiting our sister property, the JW Marriott! I am sincerely sorry to hear that you had issues within your guest room and would appreciate you contacting me via guestservices@courtyardgr.com so I can...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 1 November 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the downtown Grand Rapids location. It is an easy walk to everything from here. Rooms were quiet. covered parking was available within the facility. Rooms were cleaned and well maintained.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane K
Nathan G, Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Diane, We are delighted to hear that your recent stay at our property was enjoyable. Our convenient location to venues and staff services make the Courtyard a popular lodging choice for many guests traveling to the Grand Rapids. Thank you for choosing the Courtyard as your #1 choice during your trip to Grand Rapids!! Best Regards, Nathan Gapinski

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.3 km away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 km away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#3 of 52 in Grand Rapids
867 reviews
0.4 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.3 km away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#16 of 52 in Grand Rapids
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown

Address: 11 Monroe Ave NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2662
Region: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Price Range: RM961 - RM1,375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Marriott
Grand Rapids Courtyard
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#10 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#13 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great view of downtown, ask for one of the newly renovated rooms”
  • Newly renovated King room
 of 5 bubbles BenJonesComedy, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“for a city view, ask to be on 5th or higher floors”
 of 5 bubbles lindabS1949VA, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“They are pretty standard, but I would ask for a higher street view”
 of 5 bubbles theresa146, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“6th floor under construction so do not stay on 5th floor!”
 of 5 bubbles matthewedward, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Do not choose a room with connecting doors to the adjacent room”
 of 5 bubbles johnsV6318RB, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay