We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Magnuson Country Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Magnuson Country Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 121: English reviews
Start your review of Magnuson Country Inn
 Click to rate
Baraga, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago

It all started at check in, the man had at the least 2 day old scrubby beard and looked as tho he work up in his work clothes from a car shop. At 7:30p.m. a family of 4 came into the pool area with their winter attire on and the dad had his greasy work clothes on and boots on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul071966
Michigan
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

I stay here whenever I'm in Ishpeming for business. It's not a new hotel but it's nice, the property is clean and well maintained, housekeeping does a fantastic job everyday of your stay. Front desk folks are very pleasant and accommodating. Room has one of the best showers you can imagine, WiFi is great, no password and don't have to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Muldoon56
Battle Creek, Michigan
Reviewed 15 February 2017

We stayed her recently and were a little disappointed. The rooms are showing their age, the breakfast is very basic, and there is basically no parking if you are pulling a trailer. It just seemed like we ran into an obstacle at every turn. We will look for a different place to stay next time we are in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelBee231
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Staff was great an helpful with info about the trails! Getting gas for the sleds was right next to the Hotel, as was access to the trails. Pool area was nice an well taken care, Rooms are kind of dated but not bad, They can feel kind of small at time as with the bathrooms for a big person like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenny W
Marquette, Michigan
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

So, I have nothing but amazing things to say about the check in clerk, Bailey. After 12 hours of packing up 2 houses to move downstate, I'm informed that they are unable to rent to anyone from Ishpeming. I've called Marquette County home for 17 years and Ishpeming home for 11. After a tiring day, all we wanted was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shellee P
CountryVillage49849, General Manager at Magnuson Country Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed although I am not quite sure what happened to cause it. I spoke to the clerk who checked you in and she didn't mention any issues and you did indeed stay here so I am confused as we do in fact rent to locals who need a place to stay on occasion....

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

As other have mentioned, the hotel is a bit dated. But bang for the buck? Worth it. Rooms and hallway were clean. Indoor pool area was HOT like a sauna but opening a window fixed that right up. Free wi fi is bonus! Breakfast is cold cereal Danish type continental but no wait. Fridge in our room was helpful but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boatgirl6
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Room was spacious but very outdated. Lamps had burned out bulbs. Some outlets didn't work. They did include a free breakfast at the restaurant next door which was nice. Staff was friendly and did accommodate a late check in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DH_Traveler01
Le Center, Minnesota
Reviewed 28 August 2016

This Hotel provided a good value and a nice, clean and fairly quiet environment. We noted there was a pool and Hot tub, but did not utilize. We did walk next door to the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast. This was our last night in the U.P. and planned to stop at Agate and Bond Falls the next day,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 24 August 2016

This was a nice, decent hotel for the price. We were moving our daughter up to NMU in Marquette and didn't want to pay the prices the local Marquette hotels were offering for that weekend. We found the Magnuson to be clean, and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VegasGirl1970
Sarnia, Canada
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We stayed on 2 separate occasions in July 2016. The room was satisfactory - reasonably clean and comfortable. The rooms were quiet and nice, but they are somewhat dated and in need of an upgrade - especially the bath fixtures. The first stay was in a King room, which was better than the double beds the second stay. The amenities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TwigDi

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ishpeming
0.4 km away
Jasper Ridge Inn
Jasper Ridge Inn
#2 of 3 in Ishpeming
28 reviews
19.2 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
467 reviews
19.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 km away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#5 of 19 in Marquette
746 reviews
20.0 km away
Holiday Inn Marquette
Holiday Inn Marquette
#8 of 19 in Marquette
278 reviews
22.7 km away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Magnuson Country Inn

Address: 850 US Highway 41 W, Ishpeming, MI 49849-3181
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Ishpeming
Price Range: RM318 - RM653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Magnuson Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ishpeming
Country Inn Ishpeming
Ishpeming Best Western
Ishpeming Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Magnuson Country Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Magnuson Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are very noisy”
 of 5 bubbles Paul071966, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't plan on the Breakfast!”
 of 5 bubbles kennyw818, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“As stated, go for the King Bed room if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles TwigDi, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room on the backside if noise from highway traffic is an issue - US 2 is not an interstate, but it does have some traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles jamesbT1688LC, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had no trouble with our room and it was very close to the vending machines.”
 of 5 bubbles B1360RIjimm, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5