We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

346 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U
See the most recent reviews
Showing 346: English reviews
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 27 October 2015

This is a newly renovated budget motel. Do not expect luxuries or a continental breakfast, but the room was very clean, the king bed was comfortable, the flat screen cable TV worked fine, and soap, shampoo, and fluffy towels were provided. Check-in and check-out were friendly and efficient. A great value at $53. If you are just staying a couple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelin-Light-PA
Brennen C, Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Thank you for the awesome review Travelin-Light-PA. We have been working very diligently to go above and beyond our customers needs by providing a nice clean room and excellent customer service. We hope to see you at our location again in the future! Best regards, Brennen Clarke

Midland, Michigan
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Looking for the best price but want fresh and clean too? We found it here. Room size is adequate but they have carefully sifted out non essentials to keep the price down. Bath towels are the plushest you will find. Nice reading lamps too!1

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine W
Brennen C, Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Dear Elaine, Thank you for the terrific review! I am glad to hear that our effort to provide a quality, clean hotel room and a low price is exceeding customers expectations. I am also glad that you liked our new plush bath towels, as well as, our new reading lamps! I hope to see you again at our location in...

Flint, Michigan
Reviewed 17 October 2015

I've stayed here multiple times over the past year for my job and I have never seen such a quality looking room. Floors were spotless, bathroom was terrific and the room smelled great! Their new manager seems to be doing an excellent job at turning that hotel around. I will be staying at this location more often when traveling for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
AKuhens12, Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Dear Paul s, Thank you for taking your time to wright a review for our hotel, Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West. We love to hear a response from all of our guest, as it gives us the opportunity to improve. I am so glad to hear that we were able to accommodate your every need. We hope that if you...

Indiana
Reviewed 12 October 2015

Clean, well priced and nice location. Chose this based on trip adviser ratings on cheaper hotel/motels. No complaints for an inexpensive place to sleep. Comfortable bed, plenty of parking. Was only here for about 8 hours but happy

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BuenosNachos2
Brennen C, Owner at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review BuenosNachos2! I'm glad we were able to provide you with an inexpensive, quality place to sleep. We hope to see you again at our location in the future!

Mount Pleasant
Reviewed 16 September 2015

We were there 4 nights. The new manager Heather was really great and always trying to please everyone. Angelina was also great. Anything you needed she would get you. They were both always so upbeat. It was a pleasure to be around them

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David L
Heather B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for the great review. We look forward to see next time you are in Kalamazoo.

Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

I had a wonderful experience at this hotel... From the moment I walked in the door to check in it the service was exceptionally great the front desk was very helpful and friendly! The room was very clean and you could smell that it was freshly cleaned.. The housekeepers were all very polite and helpful anytime I needed anything they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth F
Heather B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for the amazing review.

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

Great place! We stayed for the wine festival and the hotel we super busy with several other events. The staff was doing an amazing job help ensure all the early check ins could get into the rooms they wanted. I witnessed one guys screaming and throwing a fit because he could not be on the first floor and the person...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
Heather B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review

Reviewed 14 September 2015

Stayed 9/11-9/13/15, HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE WITH HEATHER THE GM. We were given dirty rooms, some of our party got AAA discount some didn't, needed lower level due to handicap party told not available yet cleaning crew showed us there was. I've been staying here for 7 years NOT ANYMORE. Not to mention all the ants in the room

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 4monkey
Britton B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

I am very sorry for the experience you had with the former management. We do feel that our number 1 goal is guest excellence. As the new manager for the property I once again would like to apologize and we do hope in the future we can prove just how valuable you are to us as a guest.

South Rockwood, Michigan
Reviewed 14 September 2015

We had made reservations a year in advance as we have had the 3 years prior. When we called 3 weeks before our scheduled visit to confirm, our reservation wasn't there. So we then made a reservation for 3 rooms with king beds on the first floor. We were assured that wouldn't be a problem. We then called 2 hours...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Terri F
Heather B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Terry, Thank you so much for your time to review our property as I know your time is very valuable. As I explained to you and your friends that we did not have any rooms on the first floor in the room type that was reserved which was two bed deluxe as indicated in your reservation history. This particular weekend...

Royal Oak MI
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

We paid $140 for a room so I had somewhat high expectations. The room itself was remodeled, as promised, but it REEKED of cigarette smoke. Considering this is a non-smoking motel, I don't know why they didn't either kick out the people who smoked in this room, or air it out sufficiently. They are in violation of the Michigan Clean...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nicole R
Heather B, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property as I know your time is valuable. Our pricing is comparable to similar properties in the area and we feel we provide good value given our central location. We regret that this was not your impression and offer our apologies. It is unfortunate that not all guest respect the fact...

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
4.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
6.5 km away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
0.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East
#20 of 31 in Kalamazoo
117 reviews
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites
1.2 km away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U

Address: 5425 W Michigan Ave, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-1907
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Price Range: RM244 - RM382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kalamazoo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Jackson, Michigan
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West - Western Michigan U staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can afford an extra $50/night, stay at an alternative upscale hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles davidaN9648BO, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are rooms available with microwave for a slightly higher price.”
 of 5 bubbles Datakat, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for amenities before booking.”
 of 5 bubbles lorriewilken, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There are no smoke free rooms at this hotel. Guests and staff smoke in the doorways and leave butts on the ground.”
 of 5 bubbles LauriHoward, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“back building facing side street”
 of 5 bubbles teddygrit, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5