We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cedar Motor Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cedar Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cedar Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 168: English reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2016

we had a very nice experience here, clean and fresh smelling. low cost but not a chaep hotel nice clean pool area. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool and hot tub waere wonderful, nice and warm.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank F760FDamyc
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Cedar. I appreciate your line about "low-cost but not a cheap hotel" because that's what we try to explain to folks. Being one of the few year-round independents in the county, we're busy with a clientele that looks for "family and clean" so that's what we...

Waterloo, Canada
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We were pleasantly surprised by our stay here. It is a family run business that the big chains could learn a lot from. The room was very clean and bright. After a long day on the road from Winnipeg we had a very relaxing time in the whirlpool which was spotless and enjoyed a cooling dip in the pool afterwards....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ylvasteve
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your time and response to a recent stay with us. We receive many Canadian travelers who "dip" into the U.P. on their trips back and forth across their country. The Canadian flag flies in appreciation for their patronage as well as our personal heritage on both sides of our family. We're glad you had a pleasant room...

Laingsburg, Michigan
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Loved this mtoel from the minute we walked into office. Charming and efficient young woman who greeted us and made us feel welcome. Room wa impeccably clean and modern. Very comfortable bed and spacious room. Breakfast was well tended to and very nice selection. We will definitely look forward to returning to this delightful place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet D
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay was at the Cedar. It's nice to know that our guests appreciate our uniqueness. We're glad you had an enjoyable room and experience with staff. Next year will be 50 years in the family so we hope you can find your way back again next year,...

Chehalis, WA
Reviewed 13 October 2016

This is a long-time family owned business. Even though it's a motel, the pool, the breakfast room, the office - everything - can all be reached without going outside in the snow or rain during winter because it has "indoor corridors". They really accommodate skiers (a "waxing room"). Breakfast - hot tub - sauna - pool. Easy to find -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jwkChehalis
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Yes, while we might have designed the building differently than was done originally, we do agree that the heated hallways were a very good idea. Besides happy guests, the staff also enjoys not being in the elements. We will be celebrating 50 years family-owned next year...

Choctaw, Oklahoma
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

I made this reservation online for a one night stay for a double room. Upon entering the outer area to get to the rooms, we noticed a funky smell. We were assigned a room down a dimly lit corridor almost in the corner. To say it was outdated & creepy is an understatement! The bathroom was very small & had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to respond on your recent reservation. I know it's hard for a guest when they book online with anticipation and those wishes aren't met. Ours is such a cookie-cutter society of everything looking the same. We do encourage our guests to call us so we can place them in the best room for their...

appleton, wi
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We were near the road, but our room was still quiet. It must be the extra hallway that blocks the noise. It was clean. Not much for breakfast if you need meat and eggs and such things. We went to subway and Big Boy after learning that the Perkins is gone forever. I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clytn92
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on staying with us this week. Yes, the hallway really makes the hotel cozy and convenient for guests. It's easy to walk down to the continental breakfast in your pajamas and sit in the atrium and have a cup of coffee and muffin. Since we have no restaurant or kitchen, we're glad you were able to...

Point Pleasant
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Clean, safe, convenient, and if you had family with you also had pool and sauna. Price adequate and would recommend. Has a real key to get into the hall, key gets you into room. Little different in this day and time but no big deal...just different. Wifi adequate so worked out just fine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annette B
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments after staying with us. We like to think the Cedar has a bit of everything for our guests. Our family has been here four generations so far in the last 50 years and we're glad you enjoyed that our hotel is a bit different from the mainstream type of accommodations.

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here on our way over to Pictured Rocks Lakeshore. Very close to downtown Marquette(less than 5 minute drive). Some on here complained about the breakfast; here is my view: this hotel is $30-40 cheaper than other hotels in area that offer breakfast. Stay here and use that money to go to Big Boy/Shoney's down the street, and you'll....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D M
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Cedar. Depending on the room chosen, the difference you refer to can be much greater. Ours is a continental because we do not have a kitchen or restaurant and cannot be approved by the health department for food, so we offer what we can to get...

presence1st
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Alas after reading reviews planned on a comfortable overnight. Was not near the pool which was good for us, however all the rooms on the other part of the inn have a closed in hallway. Would be great in winter for fumbling with lock (which we did) in a warm place however there is no air circulation and the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank presence1st
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. There were some comments you made that I don't quite understand, however we're glad you were comfortable for the night. All of the hotel is enclosed by a heated hallway, not just part of it, and all exterior doors are locked for safety. All of the rooms have at least...

Saline, Michigan
Reviewed 19 September 2016

My husband and I stayed for a couple nights in September. The room was clean and large compared to other hotel rooms with two mirrored sink counters. Fridge and coffee pot in room. Pool and hot tub area clean. Convenient location. Parking almost right outside your room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank merrykerry2015
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Yes, our housekeepers work very hard to see to it the rooms are spotless and I'm glad you enjoyed one of our larger rooms also.

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (42)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.3 km away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#5 of 19 in Marquette
745 reviews
0.2 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
467 reviews
0.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#14 of 19 in Marquette
215 reviews
4.1 km away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
2.5 km away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#10 of 19 in Marquette
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Cedar Motor Inn

Address: 2523 US Highway 41 W, Marquette, MI 49855-2258
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Price Range: RM292 - RM447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Cedar Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Motor Hotel Marquette
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Marquette
#5 Romantic Hotel in Marquette
#6 Family Hotel in Marquette
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cedar Motor Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Boyne City, Michigan
8 months ago
Telluride, Colorado
8 days ago
Marquette, Michigan
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Cedar Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was across the hall from the pool/spa area. Could (maybe)get busy/noisy, but would be ideal for those with kids though!”
 of 5 bubbles 487erikj, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from poolside if you need to be to bed before 10:30.”
 of 5 bubbles 354angeliquel, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“no elevator, but rooms close to parking”
 of 5 bubbles BigAlMuth, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“118 was a nice room”
 of 5 bubbles MNLit, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“budget friendly”
 of 5 bubbles F760FDamyc, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5