We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sierra Sands Family Lodge

Show Prices
#1 of 3 Hotels in Mears
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Sierra Sands Family Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sierra Sands Family Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 317: English reviews
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Stayed at Sierra Sands Hotel during Memorial weekend 2013. The hotel is family owned and run which gives it a very warm and personal experience. The room was clean, cozy and comfortable and even came with a small fridge to keep our left over pizza from "The pizza factory" which has some of the best pizza i've had ( i've... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Sunburn74
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review

Thank You for the great review! We are glad to here you had a great time and that the presence of security made a difference for you. Look forward to seeing you in the future. More 

Romulus, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Stayed here with the wife and kids, 3 boys, in a room with the bunk beds...awesome time. Great time in Silver Lake with lots to do. We will be back soon with the family for another memorable family vacation. My kids can't wait!!! The place is super clean and they respond to your every need.

Helpful?
2 Thank Wingsfan1
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review

Thank You for the great review! Loved having your family stay with us and look forward to seeing you again. More 

Cincinnati
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed here one night in June, we were driving up the coast and just happened upon this spot. The staff member that checked us in was really helpful and gave us a lot of recommendations on how to spend our time in the area in the morning. They set us up with a Razor J's Sand Dune experience and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea B
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Was photographing the last of the fall color in the Hart, MI area, but there was a massive low pressure storm with lots of rain for a few days. Checked out early Sat. a.m. from another area motel, ready to make the drive back to Chicago when the rain began to unexpectedly clear on 10/20/12. So at about 10 am... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 111Steve_G
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review

Thank You for the great review, and we are glad your photo shoot was successful! More 

Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We went here (2 families) and decided to come back next year as soon as we parked our car. From the entrance all the way to their BBQ yard at the back is very relaxing. The staff are very helpful and courteous. Coffee and Tea are a plus (almost all day fresh). Rooms are are exceptionally clean like a 5... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Mika S
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review

Thank You very much for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again next year! More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The lodge staff were rude, offensive, and treated my friend and me--hard-working, young professionals in our 30's who traveled to Silver Lake for a relaxing weekend--like we were hooligans. Additionally, I would not recommend the place to families looking for a quiet, kids-friendly respite due to the large number of young revelers hanging out in the parking lot and drinking... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank k s
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review

We apologize that you were not happy with your stay at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, and do appreciate your honest feedback. However, we disagree with your portrayal of the area and our property. Silver Lake Sand Dunes is a family destination and offers a lot of great activities for people of all ages, and our property does offer family friendly... More 

Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This past weekend was the worst I have been treated by a hotel in a very long time. After 1 night (that of course they insisted I pre-pay for) we received a call that my girlfriend's grandmother was dying. The staff accused me of lying to get out of a second night (why would I want my trip cut short),... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jamesbain
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review

We would like thank this guest for his feedback, it is important as a small business is to listen when guests are not satisfied with their experience. This guest is correct in his recount of our payment policy at check in as well as our $50 early departure fee. While we would never question a guests reason for requiring an... More 

Warren, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Wanting to stay near the beautiful Silver Lake Sand Dunes my kids and I loved our stay! Within walking distance to restaurants, entertainment, and the dunes. There is bike rental at the front desk as well. The room was immaculate!The pool and hot tub were clean and towels were provided at the front desk so you don't have to use... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer B
Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Trip up the coast with the family and trying to stay and eat at small, locally owned places. As you can imagine in this day and age, it is always "interesting" to come around the final corner and see what you are in for. In this case, you could not ask for anything better. It was old school in layout,... More 

Helpful?
Thank sheckyboy
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We arrived late Friday night and it was nice that the pool was open until 10pm for our girls to swim a bit after the long drive. The pool and hot tub were very nice. There is a great fire pit behind the motel, which is divided from the parking area by large evergreens. We had a fire both Friday... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lovinlifeinmichigan

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mears
7.6 km away
Dunes Express Inn & Suites
32.3 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 17 in Ludington
410 reviews
18.0 km away
Days Inn suites Pentwater
Days Inn suites Pentwater
#1 of 1 in Pentwater
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.9 km away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 1 in Montague
223 reviews
31.7 km away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
349 reviews
32.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newest family friendly lodging at Silver Lake Sand Dunes. Featuring Kid’s Suites with separate cozy bunkroom for children to enjoy their own TV/Play Station as well as a Two Bedroom Family Suite. Standard Rooms include two queen beds, flat screen TV, DVD player. Heated outdoor pool and spa, inviting park area, equipped with basketball area, playground equipment, picnic tables and grills. Experience the thrill and beauty of Silver Lake Sand Dunes and the beautiful beaches of Lake Michigan. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sierra Sands Family Lodge

Address: 7990 W Hazel Rd, Silver Lake, Mears, MI 49436-8605
Region: United States > Michigan > Oceana County > Mears
Price Range: RM262 - RM689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sierra Sands Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Sands Family Hotel Mears
Sierra Sands Family Motel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sierra Sands Family Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
10 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Sierra Sands Family Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No elevator if your room is on the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles JorgeCurioso, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on lower level are better if you have lots of luggage & items to haul.”
  • Patio area, beautiful flowers & well kept grounds.
 of 5 bubbles vee201, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“A room at the very end on the second floor on the west side...”
 of 5 bubbles marrd57, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Be sure to mention if you have a truck & trailer. Ask for lower floor room on larger parking lot side.”
 of 5 bubbles jjstreit, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“kids suites is perfect for the kids”
 of 5 bubbles T3833FGlisac, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay