We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
680 US Highway 2 W, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1743
E-mail hotel
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Discount Mackinac Island Ferry Tickets
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TravelocityUS$77
Hotels.comUS$77
TripadvisorUS$77
ZenHotels.com
FindHotelUS$77
Trip.comUS$92
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (127)
Room & Suite (65)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Cedar Hill Lodge
Updated 14/06/20

About

#8 of 30 hotels in Saint Ignace
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Cedar Hill Lodge is one mile east of the Mackinac Bridge, at the top of the hill overlooking Lake Huron and Mackinac Island, leading into beautiful downtown Saint Ignace. Discount ferry tickets, casino packages available. Free shuttles to casino and ferries. Customer service award winner! Walking distance to restaurants, ferry lines to Mackinac Island, shops, and downtown attractions. Offering more than just a place to spend the night -- come relax with us and enjoy our amenities: Heated Indoor Pool and Hot Tub, Free Hot Breakfast, Wifi, Courtyard Garden with Views of Mackinac Island, Bonfires, Grills and Picnic Tables, Volleyball, Tetherball, Shuffleboard, Large Lawn with Lawn Games, Rooms with Private Balcony, Family Suites and Adjoining Rooms available. We are pet friendly, with designated pet-free rooms too. Conference room. Free parking. Parking space for trucks and trailers. Come relax with us at Cedar Hill Lodge!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Vending machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Hotel links
Special Offer:Discount Mackinac Island Ferry Tickets
392Reviews9Q+A73Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 145
  • 134
  • 51
  • 34
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Linda7132907 wrote a review 16 Sep
Anchorage, Alaska193 contributions88 helpful votes
My big negative about this place is the fact that they put ashtrays out in front of the rooms and people sit right by the door and smoke. Very unpleasant when you enter or exit your room. Otherwise my room was very comfortable the bed was nice I had no complaints at all. The breakfast every morning was nice even if it was the same thing every day it was appreciated. And the people at the front desk were very nice and more helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Luke Paquin, Owner at Cedar Hill Lodge
Responded 6 days ago
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your mention of our comfortable rooms and beds, and our helpful staff! (To clarify, yes, outdoor ashtrays are made available for guest convenience and sometimes guests will move them close to their own entry door. Indoor smoking is prohibited by law.) It is good to know that you were pleased with your stay overall! Thank you for staying with us and sharing your positive recommendation.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
oxfordites wrote a review Sep 2021
Oxford, Michigan2 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
We chose this location as a base for our Pictured Rocks tour since it is only a two hour drive from St. Ignace to Munising. The Lodge is very nice, rooms were clean, and the pool was open. The staff were friendly and professional.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Luke Paquin, Owner at Cedar Hill Lodge
Responded 21 Sep 2021
It's good to know that you enjoyed your stay and found everything clean, comfortable, and welcoming. Many guests like the convenience of being within a short drive of Pictured Rocks, Soo Locks, Tahquamenon Falls, The Big Springs, and many other U.P. attractions - we're glad that you liked the location, too. Thank you for mentioning our friendly staff. Please come again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tina G wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
St. Ignace was a wonderful destination for a relaxing vacation. Cedar Hill Lodge was very comfortable and the staff incredibly sweet. We couldn't have stayed at a nicer place. We were in a perfect location to take day trips to explore the UP. Who doesn't want to be a Yooper!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Luke Paquin, Owner at Cedar Hill Lodge
Responded 20 Aug 2022
We agree, St. Ignace IS a most wonderful destination and we are so happy to know you found everything comfortable. relaxing, and welcoming here at Cedar Hill Lodge. Thank you for staying with us and particularly for mentioning our friendly, helpful staff! We hope you will come stay with us again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda V wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions
We decided to use St. Ignace as a base for trips to Mackinac Island, Mackinaw City, and various spots in the U.P. We chose Cedar Hill based on other reviews and the location. The room was small. The AC was either freezing or warm; it froze up one day and we were left w no AC at all overnight. I understand many places have shortages with staff and housekeeping. If this were the case, I'm fine if the management let's us know. But, our beds were made only once on the second morning, and only after we inquired. Trash was taken out and we got new towels only after we asked. The breakfast was limited. On our second day there, our keys did not work. They gave us new ones at breakfast. Those didnt work. We walked down,and the front desk gave us new ones. We went back, and they still did not work. My husband called and asked to have someone please come up and fix it, and also open our door. The man came up, looked at it. At first he said the code was reading that our deadbolt was on, but we insisted no one was in the room. He then said that he thought the battery was dead. But, he had to go back, as he didn't have the tools to get us into our room! Over 20 more minutes passed until he came back and got us into our room. We were now delayed close to an hour, and missed an appointment we had made on Mackinac Island! I'm sure you get the point...we were disappointed in our stay. Luckily we were not in the rooms much, but bc of the AC, it was often uncomfortable and hard to sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Luke Paquin, Owner at Cedar Hill Lodge
Responded 7 Aug 2022
We are sorry to learn that you experienced a problem with your air conditioner and door lock, and that there was a delay in repairing the door lock battery for you - they rarely malfunction, but it is not always a quick fix, and we apologize for the inconvenience. As you point out, the entire area is experiencing a staff shortage and in some cases a supply shortage, but even so we are all working hard at Cedar Hill Lodge to provide every guest with a great stay. We do provide stay-over housekeeping service. We will look into the housekeeping stay-over service you describe, as from your description it sounds as though you may have had the Do Not Disturb sign out, in which case we follow the standard protocol that no one will enter your room except by your request. We keep records on daily housekeeping service and will look into this. Thank you for letting us know your thoughts.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
817stephanie wrote a review Aug 2022
Dallas, Texas36 contributions6 helpful votes
We haven’t even stayed the night yet, but no one here seems to be concerned with customer service and we’re traveling with our dog on a weekend in august so likely not worth trying to find alternate accommodations. We wanted to check in a little after 1:30 (check in is at 3.) they made no effort to accommodate and told us the room wasn’t ready without asking for any reservation information. They heavily advertise pet friendly, but no mention of a pet fee in online booking. We learned that it is $20/ night at check in. Wallpaper is peeling, room is outdated and we discovered a wad of hair in the shower drain. To be fair, it seems mostly clean otherwise. The prices in UP this time of year seem quite inflated (noticed this when considering other options online) but we’ve now paid a whopping $470 for 2 nights. Wouldn’t recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Luke Paquin, Owner at Cedar Hill Lodge
Responded 7 Aug 2022
It is often not possible to accommodate requests for early check-in during peak season, as our team needs adequate time to clean, prepare, and inspect each room - our front desk responded to your request accordingly, it is not a reflection of our customer service values. We highly value customer service and are working to ensure each guest a comfortable and relaxing stay. We also value our hard-working team and need to provide them enough time to do their jobs properly. Yes, we do list our pet fee up front on our website and on every online platform that we use. As you point out, our rates are in line and competitive with other similar properties in our busy market, and we strive to provide extra amenities that our guests will enjoy on top of a basic stay: being pet-friendly is one of them, along with bonfires and other outdoor recreation opportunities.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Craig B wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Had left over supper from night prior went to the breakfast buffet to get a fork so we could eat it. They said we sell forks in the gift shop. Refused to offer a plastic fork even though Im going to use one tomorrow for breakfast. The worst part is they messed up and cancelled our documented reservation. Luckily they had openings. Very poor customer service. Would not recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Luke Paquin, Owner at Cedar Hill Lodge
Responded 22 Jun 2022
The error with the reservation was unfortunately made by the third-party booking agency, as our manager explained, but even so we were able to accommodate your stay. We always strive to provide the best customer service, when possible to make our guests happy.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
packerbeer wrote a review Oct 2021
134 contributions84 helpful votes
So, it was easy to find, and they offer free transportation to to boats to get to Mackinaw, and free transportation for the casino (provided by the casino and boat company). Casino offers $10 free per night you stay. Not much, but better than nothing. Checking in was slow, but the folks were nice. Did not use the pool or hot tub though would have nice if it would be centrally located. Did not want to go over the whole campus to get to it. On to the rooms, they are rustic in comparison to major brands. It is clean, though much dated. Bed was okay, nice pillows, they did not go flat when you put your head on it. Controlling the temp was a whole other story. Set for 70 and I am not joking when I tell you we were sweating bullets. Turned it down to 50 and was still toasty. Had to run the A/C (in October) Good water pressure on the shower, though dated. and chair in room was low to sit in. Channel selection on the tv was well, odd. not much to chose from. No alarm clock in the room. Price was good, and the go breakfast was okay. Got a cinnamon roll, pre packaged, water, apple and piece of cheese. someday maybe things will go back to normal. Would probably stay again if in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Luke Paquin, Owner at Cedar Hill Lodge
Responded 4 Nov 2021
We are happy to know you were pleased overall and will visit again. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kay wrote a review Oct 2021
Denver, Iowa1 contribution
This resort is not at all as great as their website makes it look. The staff people were rude and unfriendly. The room was not clean. We were told the free breakfast would be a sack meal which we thought would be acceptable. My husband went to the office about 7 the next morning and was told there was none! The person was very rude. The staff acted like we were a big pain to them. Awful customer service. Do not stay at this resort. It was a terrible experience!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Luke Paquin, Owner at Cedar Hill Lodge
Responded 2 Oct 2021
We are surprised by your description of our offerings, and we are sorry to learn that you were not well pleased. There have been no mornings that breakfast has not been available - we DO have grab and go breakfast every day. Thank you for your feedback. Our team's mission is to provide friendly, top-notch customer service to every guest.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jayne M wrote a review Sep 2021
Cicero, Indiana30 contributions9 helpful votes
We typically stay closer to town, or camp at the State Park, but this year we found a great price online and decided to try Cedar Hill. What a great decision that was!!! The staff and management there were all fabulous. This past year has been so hard on everyone. But every single time I walked into the lobby I was greeted with a smile. Our air went down and we were immediately switched to a different room. Within 5 minutes maintenance came to our door and we were moved. The campfire every evening was so awesome. I’m hoping I can find a great rate and return for Labor Day 2022. Love love love everything about Cedar Hill.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Luke Paquin, Owner at Cedar Hill Lodge
Responded 2 Oct 2021
Thank you for giving us a try - we are glad to know you had a great experience here! Thank you for mentioning our friendly, helpful staff - we have to agree they are all "fabulous" team players. Glad you enjoyed the bonfires, too. We are located right in town, within walking distance of downtown shops, etc. Thank you for sharing your review. We look forward to welcoming you back next time!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Toliv2 wrote a review Sep 2021
St. Albans, United Kingdom2 contributions
This 'lodge' is in my opinion far from acceptable considering the price we paid for. After looking at the reviews I was shocked to see the actual place, I would say most pictures were probably taken a long time ago. The first thing I wanted to do when I walked into the room was to walk straight back out, it was fairly dirty, for example I wiped the surfaces, like the night stand and it was brown with dirt, the floor had all sort of things on it and clearly looked like it hadn’t been hoovered. I found pills next to the bed, probably from previous guests, the bed covers had stains on them, of what i am not sure... and honestly by the look of the building, I didn’t expect any rooms to be different. Like I said when i booked, by the look of the pictures and reviews i thought it would be ok but this it was one of the worse place i stayed in over 15 years, at $200 a night, to me it looked like I had been fooled, I actually left after 1 night as we couldn't bare the thought of staying any more, so i wasted a lot of money to just drive home. The best thing that can be done to this place is either renovation or lowering the price to the right value, if there’s ever a next time, I will book a chain hotel in mackinaw city or close by, lesson learned.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Luke Paquin, Owner at Cedar Hill Lodge
Responded 23 Sep 2021
We will happily refund any guest who does not like the room, for any reason, upon arrival, and we would have been happy to issue you a refund so that you could find other accommodations, had you brought this to our attention. Our guest and staff records show no reflection of the experience you describe here. Our photographs on the booking site and on our website are not old, they are current and we do feel that our photographs and descriptions offer travelers a good representation of our offerings. We are working hard to provide every guest with clean and comfortable lodgings, and we are sorry to learn that you were not well pleased. We do encourage our guests to bring any concerns to our attention during your stay, so that we can work with you to make it right. We have responded to this same review from you previously, as well.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$64 - US$106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganUpper PeninsulaMackinac CountySaint Ignace
NUMBER OF ROOMS
77
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cedar Hill Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Cedar Hill Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Mackinac Bridge (0.6 km), Straits State Park (0.1 km), and Wawatam Lighthouse (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cedar Hill Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Cedar Hill Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Cedar Hill Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Cedar Hill Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cedar Hill Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Village Inn, The Gangplank, and Bentley's B-M-L Diner.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cedar Hill Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Is Cedar Hill Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Saint Ignace.
Are pets allowed at Cedar Hill Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Cedar Hill Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fort Mackinac (7.9 km), Colonial Michilimackinac (8.0 km), and Fort Holmes (7.9 km).
Does Cedar Hill Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.