We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Detroit Marriott Southfield

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Detroit Marriott Southfield
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

311 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Detroit Marriott Southfield
See the most recent reviews
Showing 303: English reviews
Jackson, Michigan
Reviewed 27 November 2014

I stay while attending events in Downtown Detroit. The hotel was a quick drive with out paying crazy downtown hotel prices. The staff is very nice and helpful.The rooms are clean with a comfortable bed.The gym has all of the equipment for a good workout. I have eaten breakfast at the buffet, it has an awesome omelet bar, fresh fruit,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IworkIItravel
Daniel S, General Manager at Detroit Marriott Southfield, responded to this review

Thanks for the comments about your recent stay and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Noblesville, Indiana
Reviewed 18 November 2014

this is a good location in Southfield. Price was $171 with a breakfast included. Breakfast was $13.50, which would be too high. Rooms were nice but not overly so. Bed was nice. Good shower. TV was large and good selections. Room heater was noisy. Room was 56 when I arrived.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
Daniel S, General Manager at Detroit Marriott Southfield, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. I was happy to hear that the hotel was an overall good value and we will certainly make sure our room temperature is set properly in the future. I hope to see you on your next visit. Take care,

Ottawa, Ohio
Reviewed 4 November 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights and had a very comfortable bed. The breakfast buffet was good and pretty reasonable. Did have to drive to go out to eat because didn't want to eat all the time there. My room was clean and comfortable. Normal Marriott room decor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vmaag
Daniel S, General Manager at Detroit Marriott Southfield, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on your stay with us! I am thrilled that you had an overall pleasant experience. Please come back soon!

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 20 October 2014

#1. There was trash in the hallways and stairs by the side door (4) when i first walked in #2. The hallways were really smelly #3. The Security was rude #4. There were kids running up and down the hallways #5. The night staff was ok. But didn't want to deal with my complaints about the security staff As a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Serenia L
Daniel S, General Manager at Detroit Marriott Southfield, responded to this review

Ms. Serenia, We would like to reach out to you regarding the issues you experienced during your recent stay. We take your comments very seriously and would prefer to discuss this matter with you further to gain accurate details of the mistreatment you detailed. However, due to the anonymity of the survey, we ask that you contact the General Manger...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 9 October 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this Marriott during a business trip. The area is very convenient to business, restaurants and shops. While this is no reflection on Marriott, the surrounding roads are in worse-than-bad condition (but that's most of Detroit). The service was good but the facility is so old and worn out. The restaurant/bar is positioned at the front door and is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
Daniel S, General Manager at Detroit Marriott Southfield, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give feedback on your recent stay with us. I appreciate the kind words about the staff and I will pass that along to them. I will certainly review the menu items with our chef to make changes where needed. The property is about to undergo a full renovation which will begin...

Colorado
Reviewed 22 September 2014

The Detroit Marriott Southfield is located in Southfield on the edge of the metro Detroit area. First of all though, the roads leading to the hotel are HORRIBLE! Obviously this is a city issue and not the hotel's fault but if you like rodeos, this is the road for you. The parking was plentiful because the hotel was not full....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bgreenard
Nancy D, Director of Sales at Detroit Marriott Southfield, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing the Detroit Marriott Southfield hotel! I want to personally thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with our location. We have been in contact with the City/County regarding our road condition as the harsh winter took it's toll on all of our roads throughout the area and we are working with...

Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Reviewed 19 September 2014

This is a great property from a location perspective and the staff is nothing short of awesome. The property itself needs an update - it is not just dated but a bit beat up and the Concierge floor actually had an overpowering "chemcially" smell which diminished the experience. Food was quite good and the bed was uber comfortable. This place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mabollinger
Nancy D, Director of Sales at Detroit Marriott Southfield, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Detroit Marriott Southfield! I am thrilled the service you experienced was 5-star and am I pleased to annouce our property is scheduled for a renovation to begin Fall/Winter 2014. It is through the valued feedback of our guests, much like yourself, we are able to continue to deliver both quality in our service and product....

Mt Pleasant, MI
Reviewed 16 September 2014

The entire Hotel is a bit dated including the rooms! The elevator was very slow. The hallway leading to our room looked like it hasn't been vacuumed. In our room, the shower curtain liner was dirty and looked like it hasn't been changed out in some time. The bed was very comfortable though and the linens were clean and updated!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pclerm
Nancy D, Director of Sales at Detroit Marriott Southfield, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Detroit Marriott Southfield for your most recent visit. I appreciate your feedback regarding our facility and am pleased to announce our property is schedule for a renovation Fall/Winter 2014. I am very happy to know you received friendly and timely service from our team as we continue to always strive for excellence in guest service....

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 9 September 2014

For me specifically, this hotel is in a great place just down the road from where I need to work. The only thing bad about the location is the spaghetti junction of highways and the awful, awful road out in front of the hotel. You'll know what I mean when you get here. But, the condition of the road is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shrike2000
Nancy D, Director of Sales at Detroit Marriott Southfield, responded to this review

Thank you for your feeback regarding the Detroit Marriott Southfield! I am pleased to learn your experience with our team has been a positive one and we have delivered the service you expect. We have shared your concerns regarding the road condition with our City/County as we work towards a resolution. In addition, I appreciate your feeback regarding the wifi...

New York
Reviewed 9 September 2014

I have been staying in this hotel for about a year now so I feel qualified to render a review. This hotel is about 10 years overdue for a renovation. The rooms are musty smelling. The elevators are frequently not working. Many people I speak to have problems with the drains backing up. On the plus side there are a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russell C
Nancy D, Director of Sales at Detroit Marriott Southfield, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback on your most recent stay with the Detroit Marriott Southfield hotel! We take your comments seriously and have shared them with the appropriate leaders. We are pleased to announce the hotel is scheduled for a renovation to begin Fall/Winter 2014. In addition, I am happy to learn you exeperienced great customer service from...

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southfield hotels
0.1 km away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#3 of 19 in Southfield
223 reviews
2.8 km away
The Westin Southfield Detroit
3.2 km away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#1 of 19 in Southfield
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield
1.5 km away
Candlewood Suites Detroit, Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott Southfield

Address: 27033 Northwestern Hwy, Southfield, MI 48034
Region: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Price Range: RM438 - RM886 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott Southfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Detroit Marriott Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott Southfield Hotel Southfield
Marriott Southfield
Southfield Marriott
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Southfield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Detroit Marriott Southfield staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms farthest from the elevators are the most quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles therobbie1, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If thre is an issue, just contact the staff and they will make it right.”
 of 5 bubbles FLJ021251, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Please check for a room where the air conditioner does not keep switching on and off with a loud bang”
 of 5 bubbles ashwanikumard2015, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms were nice.”
 of 5 bubbles lancaster4luvers, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“pool view was nice from 2nd floor. A/C unit cooled down and heated up quickly. Room lighting great with an ambient light on the headboard”
 of 5 bubbles Hotel_Traveler_86, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5