We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights

Booking.comUS$90*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights
See the most recent reviews
Showing 145: English reviews
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Reviewed 11 July 2016

I had a room elsewhere all planned out, but then it fell through leaving me with no where to stay. I checked out the Extended Stay in Sterling Heights because it is close to where I am working. I was helped out by one of the employees named Fiaz. He was very nice and friendly, and got me a room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank _nschmidt555
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

It is pleasing to know we were able to accommodate you on such short notice. I'm glad you check in went well and your overall stay was a great one for the affordable price you paid. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our...

Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

Hotel was clean, no ice machine, no pool. Staff seemed friendly. Bathroom very small could hardly stand and shut door. Room had old smell to it, had to go buy candles to get rid of smell. Bed is comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
Reviewed 30 June 2016

My 2 day stay was made excellent, by the accommodations afforded to me by the desk clerk Faiz. Faiz truly turned what could have been a disastrous situation in to a overwhelming success by granting me a request which made it possible to fully enjoy my time at thus location...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Colin R
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

The team and I appreciate your positive remarks. I am thrilled to read that Faiz was able to handle your situation and accommodate you so well. He will be informed on the excellent job he is doing for guests. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back...

East Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for a weekend after having surgery at Henry Ford. The check-in was easy. Ask for dishes at reception if you think you'll need them. Our room was recently remodeled and painted. It smelled like fresh paint which was a bit overpowering, but we were able to crack the windows and we bought an airfreshner and that helped....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Legal_padgurl06
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am so glad to hear that your room's cleanliness met our expectations and that you enjoyed our location during your visit. I apologize that our recent upgrades left your room smelling of paint. I will be sure to address this issue with our maintenance team...

Windsor, Canada
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

Hotel served its purpose. Nothing special but was a great price! There's was a kitchen in our room but no coffee maker or anything, it was nice having a full sized fridge. There wasn't any information inside our room, such as taxi numbers or close restaurants, room service number ect. We didn't know when the grab and go breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Haley M
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that you were not informed about our amenities that we offer. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. If you have any additional feedback, please...

gold hill
Reviewed 14 May 2016

we were visiting family in Michigan and decided to use esa again. could not ask for a quieter room. the breakfast is minimum but useful if you are in a hurry. the coffee was good. people that were staying there this time were men in the majority and many smokers who were outside the front door. staff was always friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mary d
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I’m glad to read that we were able to provide you with a positive stay overall and that you enjoyed our quiet atmosphere. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at...

Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

It was my second stay at this hotel and unexpectedly we were greeted by the same gentleman from the first visit. His name is FAIZ. He was very friendly and I was surprised that he actually remembered my name. He gave us a nice room. The room was very clean and I enjoyed the stay. I will definitely come back...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LUAY B
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting a review of our hotel. It’s great to read that we were able to accommodate your needs with our friendly customer service and comfortable rooms. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Michigan
Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

I have stayed at this Hotel at least five times in the last year and usually my stay would get a Five Star rating, but my recent stay in December changed that. We stayed in room 229 (King Suite). We usually stay in 329 and that room is great (except for the same bathroom). During our arrival to 229, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keecherie
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with details about your stay. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the odor issues you experienced. I will share your comments with our staff to ensure your experience is not repeated. Still, I am glad to read that you had a positive stay overall. Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you...

Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

Found this hotel on Hotels.com for a two night stay. Travelled 11hrs during the night and called to request early arrival. They called me back almost ASAP to advise us that they cleaned a room to allow us early check in which was much needed as we were exhausted. Room was very clean with free breakfast and very hospitable! Will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank April G
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to read that you were pleased with our hotel and our friendly staff. I’m thrilled we were able to accommodate your needs with an early check-in. Thank you again for your kind words. The staff and I would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in...

FLORIDA
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Can't say enough good about this place. All of the rooms are completely renovated and contain modern and efficient appliances. They supply all kitchen utensils including cups, glasses plates, bowls, forks, spoons, pots, pans etc, etc, and all accessories. Though the bed was a bit small (but cozy) for two, the living area was spacious with tables, chairs, and a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BARTNANCY
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to read that you were pleased with our hotel amenities and staff. I would like to take the time to apologize for the issue you had with your bed. Thank you again for your kind words. The staff and I would love to provide you with another...

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sterling Heights
2.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sterling Heights
Hampton Inn & Suites Sterling He...
#1 of 7 in Sterling Heights
312 reviews
2.2 km away
Quality Inn And Suites Detroit Warren Tech Center
10.2 km away
TownePlace Suites Detroit Sterling Heights
TownePlace Suites Detroit Sterli...
#3 of 7 in Sterling Heights
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Warren MI
9.8 km away
Comfort Inn Utica
Comfort Inn Utica
#3 of 7 in Utica
206 reviews
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn Warren
Comfort Inn Warren
#3 of 18 in Warren
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights

Address: 33400 Van Dyke Ave, Sterling Heights, MI 48312-5927
Region: United States > Michigan > Sterling Heights
Price Range: RM314 - RM417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Sterling Heights
Sterling Heights Extended Stay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Prescott, Arizona
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Detroit - Sterling Heights staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You can easily cook in here! The hotel is in a good area and there are food places that are not too bad of a drive as well.”
K7251NXtimg, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“good place to stay”
tomE1050ZI, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“nook a room higher up”
maryd858, 13 May 2016 | Read review
“2 rooms out of 2..... they all were excellent and seem the same”
BARTNANCY, 30 Aug 2015 | Read review
“A stayed in a number of room, and they all are very good”
marklY2365QK, 19 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$90* /night
View Deal
ExtendedStayUS$90
TravelocityUS$90
Expedia.comUS$90
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates