We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Econo Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Econo Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 90: English reviews
McBain, Michigan, USA
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We checked in Thanksgiving night after a long day with family and shopping. Just as we were about to enter our room, the woman from across the hall came out screaming & crying that there were bed bugs all over her bed- sure enough! We saw them. And bites on her! Disgusting! Thank God we never entered our room or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rlb3mom
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not actually stay with us. Although it would not be appropriate to get into specifics, the situation with the woman across the hall were not quite as she had portrayed. We have no doubt that had you stayed, you would have found your accommodations pleasant and we hope you will be back in the...

Plainwell, Michigan
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Prompt check in, staff helpful giving information about amenities and local activities. Room clean. Two reasons for average rating...first was an additional $1.50 security safe fee assessed, which was promptly refunded by manager when I explained I could not use the safe as it was wall mounted, above my reach. Second, if you stay here, ask for a second floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wanda1973
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We are pleased to hear you were happy with our staff. We think they are pretty special. Although our contract with the safe company requires that we charge a fee, we are happy to refund it upon request. We hope that you will be back to see all the changes we...

Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

We were extremely disappointed in this hotel it was filthy. See pictures of the shower. Speaking of the shower, I took one at 8:30 am in cold water there was no hot. There is a sign posted in the room that if you want fresh linens leave dirty ones on the floor. I did that, they did not leave fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patti R
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed in your multiple night stay. Our housekeepers typically receive very high marks for room cleanliness so I am surprised you had issues. Unfortunately, since we do not show any "Patti" as a recent registered guest, I cannot determine who may have been responsible...

Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Definitely a low budget hotel. Two floors, NO elevator. We were on ground floor RM 120. Small safe in the room that they charge you $1.50 a day for. We didn't use it. So we had them remove that extra cost. But for the price we felt it wasn't bad. There is NO Hair conditioner, bag hanging in closet for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl T
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We were pleased to have you as our guest. Per our contract with the company which provided our in-room safes, we are required to impose a charge for their use, however we are happy to refund it upon request. Due to the infrequent demand for decaf coffee, we brew it upon...

Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel this past weekend, while visiting the area, and had a horrible experience! While getting ready for dinner on Friday evening, there was some sort of power surge, that caused a flame to shoot out of my curling iron, frying the iron and causing us to lose power in the room. We immediately called the front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Purplelynn1
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We are sorry to hear you were unhappy with your multiple night stay. We are sorry to hear that your personal appliances caused you to lose power but are pleased that our staff was able to restore it quickly.

Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 21 September 2016

This is probably my most disappointing stay in a hotel in a very long time. And believe you and me, I have no qualms about staying in a 30 dollar a night slum. At least they know how to price their rooms. This place is in a terrible location, it's over priced, the staff was pretty unhelpful, and breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrWizard54
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We are sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay. We are sorry to hear that our breakfast of waffles, bagels, danishes, toast, assorted flavors of instant oatmeal, Raisin Bran, Cheerios, and assorted beverages did not meet your needs. Although we exceed the breakfast requirements for the Econo Lodge brand,...

Reviewed 20 August 2016

We booked for 2 nights based on reviews. On arrival, found it to be 8 miles from the downtown Traverse City area, with subpar locks on the door (our door was found unlatched, and we had a hard time getting it to lock), tiny breakfast room, very very basic. We would not stay, we forfeited our money and went elsewhere....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EJJourney
Houghton Lake
Reviewed 18 August 2016

This hotel is a bit out of Traverse City. Closer to Interlochen/Grawn area. But we only needed it for one night and it was for business not vacation so it worked perfect for us. Our room was comfortable, quite (the hotel was full that night). Continental breakfast ok. We did not use the pool so I'm not sure about that....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janice G
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge! We are pleased to hear we were able to meet your needs. We do make an effort to keep our rates among the most economical in the area. We love Rico's too. We hope you will be back to see us in the future.

Wisconsin
Reviewed 4 August 2016

It's an Econolodge, nothing more....clean, basic, comfy. But the staff is STELLAR. Every one of them from reception to housekeeping was happy, friendly, and helpful. We got a good price on our room in TC which is a very high priced area, and the hotel was just fine for an evenings rest. Thank you for the hospitality, we would stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank harvshoney
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for giving our wonderful staff an opportunity to serve you. Our goal is to provide a clean, comfortable room at an affordable price and are happy to hear you found this to be the case. We will be implementing many changes over the winter months, which we hope will make your next visit even more enjoyable..

Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

The staff was very nice but the room was not cleaned. Our sheets had visible stains on them. We were disappointed. Also the location is not walking distance to the downtown shopping district and festivities. I will not stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 403,226
TCEcono, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge for your Traverse City Wine and Art Festival weekend. We are sorry to hear that you experienced a problem with your stay and this has been addressed with the appropriate staff members. We do advertise that we are seven miles south of downtown.

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
12.1 km away
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
#33 of 40 in Traverse City
198 reviews
12.5 km away
Boarders Inn and Suites Traverse City, MI
Boarders Inn and Suites Traverse...
#35 of 40 in Traverse City
99 reviews
12.2 km away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#6 of 40 in Traverse City
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
11.7 km away
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
#16 of 40 in Traverse City
728 reviews
11.6 km away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#28 of 40 in Traverse City
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned and operated. Located seven miles south of downtown Traverse City, near Interlochen, Buckley and Kingsley. Recent upgrades include: new carpet, new wallpaper, in-room coffee makers, expanded wif-fi service throughout the building, flat screen TV's in most guest rooms. All rooms are now equipped with microwaves and refrigerators. Other amenities include: free continental breakfast, indoor pool and hot tub, in-room hair dryers. Dogs accepted with permission. We have parking available for trucks, trailers, motor coaches and other large vehicles. We offer wine tour packages in cooperation with the Leelanau Peninsula Vintner's Association several times throughout the year. If you have a special need/request, please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1065 S M 37, Traverse City, MI 49685-8508
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Price Range: RM236 - RM716 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Traverse City
Traverse City Econo Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for second floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles Wanda1973, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles MrWizard54, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you are looking for vacation, this is not it. We left and were not sorry.”
 of 5 bubbles EJJourney, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a first floor room if you have mobility issues. No elevators.”
 of 5 bubbles JaniceG254, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Pet Friendly, Large Vehicle Area, out of town but next to some food/gas.”
 of 5 bubbles harvshoney, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay