We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Quality Inn By the Bay

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Quality Inn By the Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 195: English reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Cindy at front desk was very helpful with our request and everyone was nice. Second floor room I like with hall entry. Room was clean as was the hotel. Didn't use the pool it looked nice but small. Free breakfast was good and well maintained. Location was good a short drive to downtown. Booked online. Excellent value and would stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greg g
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We are extremely proud to know you enjoyed your entire stay from check in to check out. I will relay the acknowledgment regarding the excellent customer service you received from Cindy. We take pride and strive to offer "Genuine Northern Hospitality". We hope to see...

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here as most hotels were full. The two ladies at the front desk were friendly and helpful. The room could be entered from a main hall which was in much need of cleaning and updating. You could also enter from outside. For the most part it was clean but also needed updating. The bathroom door had a brushstroke of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann S
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. We cannot thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. We are proud to know you enjoyed your stay for the most part. I'msorry about the "brush stroke" paint job you saw on the bathroom door. Our maintenance team is in the process of touching up...

Hampton, Virginia
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Second time staying here. Each time has been great! Very clean rooms with microwave and refrigerator. Cookies at the front desk. Good continental breakfast. Walking distance to multiple restaurants or free shuttle bus to places. No musty smell. Small indoor pool and hot tub.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KAREN D
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We thank you for your repeat business and cannot convey how much we appreciate your choice in our hotel for your accommodations. We are proud to know the reason why you return is the cleanliness of our rooms and facility, as well as the breakfast offered. We...

Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

This is a 2 story older hotel. That is Not a negative. The first floor rooms open to the parking lot which is great for unloading and reloading luggage. We parked right by our door. The rooms are clean and roomy but not large. It had all the usual amenities.frig, microwave, coffeemaker, TV etc.plus a pool, and brkfst. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patteq
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time in sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are proud to know you enjoyed your stay. We are happy you found the rooms on the ground floor with exterior entrance very convenient. We are proud to know you enjoyed your clean and comfortable rooms as well as our friendly staff....

Fountain Valley, California
Reviewed 11 September 2016

No microwave in our room, but all the other normal amenities. Freshly painted in some common areas. Rooms facing the bay will have the best views, but may cost more. Pool, exercise room, and business facilities. Value good for the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank edq88222
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We are sorry your room did not have a microwave. We hope you had a chance to mention this matter to our staff so that we would have been able to deliver a microwave to your room. We are happy to know you found our location convenient...

Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel is an older establishment, with a slightly musty smell. If your kids or you have mold allergies, look elsewhere! It was clean and the bed linens were high quality. The location across from the water was nice and easy access via car to downtown restaurants. Many doors open to the outside-but directly to the parking lot-made it feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorinda M
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and offering your feedback. On behalf of our entire team, please accept my sincere apology of the musty / moldy you encountered during your stay. I hope you had a chance to bring this matter to our staff's attention right away. We would have made every effort to remedy the issue...

Grass Lake, Michigan
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We rented a room for one night on 8/13/16. As soon as we opened the door we could smell a mildew or urine smell--weren't sure which--until we went in the (tiny, tiny) bathroom and found that the shower curtain reeked of mildew. Then, when I was washing my face, the sink backed up and wouldn't drain immediately. Once it went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sweatpea3814
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and shring your feedback. On behalf of our entire team, please accept my sincere apology for falling short of your expectations. I am sorry for the mildew smell you experienced that have seemed to be coming from the shower curtain. Our housekeeping team strive to make sure everything is checked with...

Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Staff was very friendly and courteous. Unfortunately that's about the extent of what I can say positively about my family's stay here. The room wasn't cleaned very well and our sheets had quite a few stains on them. The food for breakfast was low quality and there wasn't much of it- it's first come first serve and they put very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding yur recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apology for falling short of your expectations. We are proud to know you were satisfied with our staff's service but we are sorry for falling short in our housekeeping department. We strive to offer a clean and comfortable hotel backed by...

North Bend, Oregon
Reviewed 18 July 2016

we were 'upgraded' to a suite due to some problem with the property...should have left instead. it seemed like the suite hadn't been opened in weeks or months - musty smelling and hot inside. (it was 92F outside when we arrived) only a small wall unit in the bedroom - not nearly large enough to cool the suite, so we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnelrog
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Johnson, Thank you for taking the time in sharing your feedback. On behalf of my entire team, please accept my sincere apology for not meeting your expectations. We wanted to offer to upgrade you to a larger two room suite dur the our hotwater boiler system was having trouble and we ewanted to provide an better alternative. We...

Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

I made a reservation earlier tonight and even had a confirmation email sent to me. At 10:30 this evening I get a phone call that they cannot honor that price. I had already cancelled a previous reservation at another hotel and now I'm left without a room for a family vacation. I'm furious!!!! If you make a reservation be where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review

Dear Sir, When you made your reservation with us, my front desk agent tried to explain to you that our rates changed from weekday (Sunday through Thursday) to weekend (Friday & Saturday). You demanded to have the lower rate that was for Thursday to be applied to the Friday & Saturday night rate. My front desk agent was so shaken...

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.2 km away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#6 of 40 in Traverse City
447 reviews
0.6 km away
Boarders Inn and Suites Traverse City, MI
Boarders Inn and Suites Traverse...
#35 of 40 in Traverse City
99 reviews
8.3 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
#16 of 40 in Traverse City
728 reviews
1.3 km away
Traverse Bay Inn
Traverse Bay Inn
#21 of 40 in Traverse City
240 reviews
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#10 of 40 in Traverse City
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Breakfast Available
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Quality Inn By the Bay

Address: 1492 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Price Range: RM248 - RM825 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn By the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Inn By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn By The Bay Hotel Traverse City
Quality Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Quality Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Quality Inn By the Bay staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Byron Center, Michigan
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Quality Inn By the Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Second floor is more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles E7798EAgregg, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Easy unloading on first floor”
 of 5 bubbles J3126PRkarend, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“when leaving, turn right and go to a traffic light. less headache or possible accident”
 of 5 bubbles shrewdgrud, 16 May 2016 | Read review
“The upper floors is quieter, but the first floor has doo rs to each room with direct access to the parking lot”
 of 5 bubbles chasf64, 22 Apr 2016 | Read review
“We were on bottom floor and you could hear people walking around above room”
 of 5 bubbles martinzames, 28 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay