We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

459 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit
See the most recent reviews
Showing 459: English reviews
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Spent a girl's weekend here and we reserved the two room suite. Very clean and comfortable beds. Plenty of room to spread out. Balcony is small but it was too cold to go out there anyway. Breakfast was tasty and good variety. Only reason I didn't give 5 stars is that we could hear people running on the floor above...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NDtoUK
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Third time staying here; first time in Winter. Always nice and relaxing; excellent amenities! Northwoods decor is very relaxing and comfortable. Breakfast is the best and so is The Spa Within. Beautiful view of Lake Detroit. Great Staff!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 167denisee
Reviewed 22 February 2017

My sister and I had a great mini vacation here. Great breakfast and wonderful massages!!! Beautiful view and loved the fireplace in the lobby. We will be back for a summer stay. Even though it was February, we got to sit on the balcony because we had such wonderful weather.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
Andover, United States
Reviewed 2 February 2017

As usual, excellent stay at a Best Western. The Lodge is a really nice hotel with amenities that are not found at the average hotel. Great staff, rooms, decor, breakfast (fabulous!) and all the extras. Just another reason for us to continue to enjoy Best Western for our hotel of primary choice when traveling.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dougz726
Minot, North Dakota
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

My wife and I made a mini vacation to Detroit lakes. We had a wonderful stay. The service was very friendly, the room was the quietest I've ever had and it was comfy as could be. Great massages at spa.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zachary H
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

We had two rooms for the holiday. One was two queens and the other had a Murphy bed with full kitchen. It worked great for holiday dinner for 12. The staff was great as well as breakfast. Have stayed before and will stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David G
Hallowell, United States
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Great stay at The Lodge, will be going back. Four of the group has massages which were wonderful. We have a family suite which worked out great for the six of us. We also brought a blow up mattress and it fit in the "kids" room along with the pull out couch. Kitchen was well stocked, however it lacked paper...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisalG9867TA
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 21 November 2016

This is not your typical Best Western. I go out of my way and plan my business trip when I'm in the surrounding area so I can stay at this property. I'm never disappointed! The property is beautifully maintained and has a fabulous lake view. The rooms are very spacious, super clean, updated linens, and include extra amenities in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 707deetraveler
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Reviewed 15 November 2016

I was in town for business and the room was average. The bathroom vent was dirty and something sticky on the bathroom floor was the first thing I noticed when walking into the bathroom. The bed was comfortable and I had a good nights rest. The bar needs help. It was hard to order food off the menu because they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joel W
ExperienceCreator, Owner at BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit, responded to this review

Dear Joel, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying at The Lodge. I want to apologize for not providing the exceptional stay we are known for. Average is not a description we hear from our guests. Your review has been used to set a new policy for cleaning our fan vents. Our fans run for...

Forest Lake, Minnesota
Reviewed 7 November 2016

This hotel is one of the cleanest and friendliest I have ever stayed in. I stayed there last week for business. I did arrive in town early and stopped in to confirm the time for check in and to tell them that due to work, I would not be able to check in until the evening. I was there about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank occassionaltrave2016

159 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:59
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit

Address: 1200 E Shore Dr, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501-4727 (Formerly The Lodge on Lake Detroit)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Detroit Lakes
Price Range: RM488 - RM1,091 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier The Lodge On Lake Detroit Hotel Detroit Lakes
Hotel On Lake Detroit
On Lake Detroit Lakes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Stewart, Minnesota
9 months ago
Salem, Virginia
over a year ago
Winnipeg, Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The top floor overlooking the lake”
728kathye, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Beautiful view!”
occassionaltrave2016, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Be sure to get a room with a balcony with a view of the water.”
BusLady57059, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms have patio doors to walk right out to the lake!”
tobycat22, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Lower level rooms have patio access to lake.”
, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5