We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

University Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
University Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

261 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 250: English reviews
Pristina, Kosovo
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I enjoyed the peace and quiet I needed, offered in all the facilities of your hotel. I want to express my gratitude that you have excellent staff who made our stay secure, good and comforting. I will definitely recommend your hotel to friends and family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alltanekryeziu
Stephanie L, Customer Care Coordinator at University Inn, responded to this review

alltanekryeziu, Thank you for such kind words! I truly appreciate hearing feedback about our fantastic staff, and I will make sure that they get the recognition that is due as a result of your review. A secure, comforting stay is a goal we have for each and every guest experience - we are so pleased to have been able to...

HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 13 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed at University Inn for three days to visit our college son who lives in Dinkytown. What a great location for the hotel! We enjoyed the service and the hotel room had great blinds that knocked out any light to sleep. The hotel also had an amazing 24 hour free coffee machine with super lattes, cappuccinos, etc. It also has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sewexcited
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Stephanie L, Customer Care Coordinator at University Inn, responded to this review

Sewexcited, Thank you for the five star review! We are so happy to hear that you loved the outcome of our newly remodeled window treatments. We selected them with the guest comfort in mind, so I am happy that they worked out well for you. We look forward to your next trip to Minneapolis. Sincerely, Stephanie Lundeen Customer Care Coordinator

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a really lovely place to stay. Rooms are simple but clean and have everything you need: toiletries, cable TV, coffee, full kitchen, wifi, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Free 24-hour coffee in the lobby. Friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amberrose83
Stephanie L, Customer Care Coordinator at University Inn, responded to this review

Hi Amberrose83, I am so pleased to hear that the University Inn was able to provide everything that you needed during your time in Minneapolis! We would love to host your next trip to the Twin Cities in order to provide you with another clean, comfortable, convenient trip. Sincerely, Stephanie Lundeen Customer Care Coordinator

Burlington, Vermont
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a comfortable, small, independent, non-chain lodging in a helpful location. I like that the furnishings and decor reflect and fit with the structure's mid-century origin. It's not too fancy and doesn't pretend to be something it's not, but I found the University Inn to be spotlessly clean, thoughtfully outfitted, comfortable, friendly, and a very good value. Loved having...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 19Alan65
Stephanie L, Customer Care Coordinator at University Inn, responded to this review

19Alan65 - Thank you so much for the great feedback. Not only does your review favor the essence that we hope to project as a hotel, but it also gives great detail as to why you had such a positive experience. I love that you enjoyed the location, cleanliness, value, and service at the University Inn. I will pass on...

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While this is a great location if you have plans near U of M (I did), it is a bit overpriced for the quality of the accommodations. The room was clean but uninspiring with a distinct "this was once an apartment" feel. Cinder-block walls, old appliances, and windows that were not meant to really block out street noise led me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank knappjerome
Stephanie L, Customer Care Coordinator at University Inn, responded to this review

Hi knappjerome, Thank you for your candid review. I am sad to hear that you were not satisfied with our nightly rates. We consistently work to ensure that they are fair within our market, taking into consideration the value we place on our rooms due to recent renovations, our service level, and the location of our hotel. While the assumption...

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We stayed at the University Inn for one night while visiting U of M. Nice location, but the accommodations were very basic. Cinder block walls, small lobby, and not very friendly. No elevator. For the price we thought it was a bit disappointing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leon421
Stephanie L, Customer Care Coordinator at University Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations Leon421. While we are a basic hotel, we find that our high standards regarding customer service and cleanliness lay the groundwork for a positive experience for each of our guests. However, it sounds like we failed to do so for your visit. If there are any specific improvements...

Sioux City, Iowa
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We chose the University Inn for its proximity to campus as we were in town for a concert at Northrop Auditorium. The location was great for that. Our room was clean, and the staff was friendly. The bathroom and bed were both perfect for our needs. The only drawback was that we were on the basement level, and there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly W
Stephanie L, Customer Care Coordinator at University Inn, responded to this review

Hi Kimberly W, I am so glad that you enjoyed your trip to Minneapolis and the Northrop Auditorium! Our location in proximity to the University of Minnesota and the U of M campus is one of our best features, so I am happy that you took advantage of that for your trip. I also love hearing that the "bathroom and...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 October 2016

This was much better than we expected, only 5 minutes drive to downtown or a 10 minute stroll to Main St down by the river, lovely walk and stop in one of the bars for a cool one or a bite to eat. Great value for money, free WiFi & Parking, very pleasant staff. It is a motel so don't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 391karl
Stephanie L, Customer Care Coordinator at University Inn, responded to this review

Hi 391 karl, One of our favorite things to do as a hotel is to surpass expectations. I am so happy to hear that the University Inn provided you with a convenient and comfortable stay! I also appreciate your mention of the University Inn's amenities. You are correct in stating that we are not a full-service hotel, and do not...

Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Reviewed 5 October 2016

I stayed at this hotel to visit the University of Minnesota. This conpact hotel had warm and friendly staff, comfortable bed, useful kitchen and free Wi-fi, coffee service. I could enjoy the atmosphere of Minnesota thanks to this great hotel. At first I was worried about no restaurant being in this hotel, but various restaurants and a grocery store are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Masaki K
Stephanie L, Customer Care Coordinator at University Inn, responded to this review

Masaki K, Thank you for choosing the University Inn during your recent trip to the University of Minnesota! Due to our proximity to the U of M campus, we love having the opportunity to host guests and visitors of the nearby campus. I am delighted to hear that you were able to take advantage of some of the amenities we...

Neenah, WI
Reviewed 3 October 2016

For as much as they can update a cinder block building, they have done it at University Inn. It was clean and the furniture and bedding was nice. I love the gourmet coffee machine. They were deligent about making sure only guests were parked in the lot so there was always space available. The downside is something they really can't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JensNeenah_WI
Stephanie L, Customer Care Coordinator at University Inn, responded to this review

Hi JensNeenah_WI, Thank you so much for reviewing your recent visit! As you mentioned, while the University Inn was built in 1959, we have recently finished a complete re-model, updating the entire building. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed these recent renovations. However, I am sorry to hear that some of the traffic outside dampened your experience. We...

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Hotel University Ave SE
#33 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,019 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Millennium Hotel Minneapolis
#10 of 49 in Minneapolis
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly renovated hotel just 4 blocks from the University of Minnesota. All rooms feature kitchenettes and are ideal for both longer-term overnight stays. Free parking for hotel guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about University Inn

Address: 925 4th St SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414-1944
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > University / Dinkytown
Price Range: RM519 - RM700 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — University Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#14 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from University Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Sleepy Eye, Minnesota
over a year ago
Cambridge, Minnesota
10 months ago
over a year ago
Lakeland, FL
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from University Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for higher floors if you care about light, because basement rooms have small windows.”
 of 5 bubbles Amberrose83, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that does not face the back parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles knappjerome, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay on the lower floors, as this hotel does not have a lift (it doesn't need to).”
 of 5 bubbles bangaloreabhijit, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Lower floors have a/c noise when it rains!!!”
 of 5 bubbles X5701ZQvalerieh, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Call ahead to insure they have a open room”
 of 5 bubbles brads20160805, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay