We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,184: English reviews
Buckinghamshire
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Sadly my brother is passing away at the hospital down the street from this awful hotel. I have never meet such unhelpful staff especially the Manager. The reception knew my situation and did nothing to help me and my friend make our stay bearable.all they did where native things far to many things to put on this site. We checked...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank dorris66
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We are saddened to hear about your brothers deteriorating health. After investigating the incident I have found that are staff did everything in their power to try and accommodate you. I am proud of how they handled the situation. We have a very friendly, engaging and professional staff at The Normandy Inn. If I can answer or be of any...

Montreal
Reviewed 16 February 2016

A bit dark and dowdy but the staff was super - everyone from cleaning staff to desk personnel was helpful and had a smile. Maybe this is a Minneapolis characteristic. The hotel is a five minute walk from the light rail stop at Government Plaza and another 10 minutes walk to downtown shops and restaurants. It is a couple of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flavourguy
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your positive comments about our friendly staff, centralized location, complimentary shuttle service, newly renovated pool atrium and freshly baked cookies and milk! We apologize for the inconvenience as we are getting a brand new elevator in one wing...

Duluth, United States
Reviewed 15 February 2016

This hotel has the most friendly, courteous staff, always feel welcome when we stay. Rooms are updated and clean. Beds are comfortable. I love the value of this upscale hotel. The only downside is there are no microwaves in the rooms and you have to go to the basement to seek out the microwave. I still seek out this hotel...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer K
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your 5 star review and positive comments about our professional staff, newly furnished guestrooms, comfortable beds and wonderful value! On your next visit you should try one of our suites that come with microwaves. We look forward to...

Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 14 February 2016

Was solicited for prostitution. Waiter lied about menu. Lamb dinner was raw and 75% fat. The refire was same lamb well done and charred. Sandwich was cold missing béchamel sauce after 3 phone calls the owners wife Bonnie called me to chastise me. I let her know kitchen staff watching superbowl not cooking she said none of my business &...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I would like to apologize to all the Trip Advisor readers for this misinterpretation of our Normandy Kitchen Café & Bar. After investigating this review we stand by our extremely high standards for the quality items that come out of our kitchen. Although this reviewer says that she did not receive a refund we in fact never charged her for...

Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Reviewed 10 February 2016

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlesbY3017RU
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

This hotel was great! Easy to find, onsite parking (only $8), friendly staff, clean room, comfortable bed, and the shower had good pressure! Ice machine and filtered water down the hall; there was a pitcher & glasses in the room to use. We also enjoyed a meal at the restaurant. Loved it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey A
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your 5 star review and positive comments about our centralized location, convenient parking, friendly staff, high cleanliness standards, filtered water machines, comfortable beds and fantastic Normandy Kitchen Café & Bar! We hope you have a chance to visit...

Wheaton, Minnesota
Reviewed 9 February 2016

I have stayed here many times before, this is the first time for a downstairs room and my last time. I will always check my room from now on. I have coils in my back from this old bed, it was shot! The comforter was just as old a nylon comforter that had no shape or form. Nice clean place,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cranmom
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review

From all of us at The Normandy Inn we apologize for not meeting your expectations. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we value your feedback so we can make immediate improvements. Since all of our beds are brand new I am very curious to know which room number you were in so I can do a full inspection....

Reviewed 8 February 2016

Very nice hotel. As we pulled into the parking lot the hotel looked kind of run down, but even though it is an older hotel the inside looks well kept up. We arrived late in the evening and were treated to warm cookies and cold milk in the lobby!!! The beds were comfortable, price awesome for location, We would stay...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tmjmjk
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your 5 star review and positive comments about our comfortable beds, freshly baked cookies and milk, centralized location and fantastic value! We look forward to your next visit at The Normandy Inn!

Denver, United States
Reviewed 8 February 2016

My wife and I traveled from Denver to Minneapolis to attend the Guthrie Theatre and Orchestra Hall. We also visited with friends, most of whom came to The Normandy Inn, and enjoyed beakfast or dinner with us.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arthur K
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your 5 star review and positive comments about our centralized location and fantastic Normandy Kitchen Café & Bar! We hope you have a chance to visit us again in the near future!

Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

The Normandy has been around for a million years however you would never believe it when checking in. The hotel was clean and decorated very nicely! Very safe and secure and the staff were very helpful and kind! I would certainly recommend it to others!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jo Ann U
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We appreciate your 5 star review and positive comments about our high cleanliness standards, safe location, helpful staff and wonderful value! We hope you have a chance to visit us again in the near future!

550 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (52)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (405)
Viewed
Amenities (50)
Viewed
Double Double Suite (65)
Viewed
Double Queen Standard Room (41)
Viewed
King Suite (62)
Viewed
Pool (32)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Standard King Room (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#15 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,471 reviews
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#9 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Address: 405 South 8th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Price Range: RM489 - RM819 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Normandy Hotel Minneapolis
Best Western The Normandy Inn And Suites
Best Western Normandy Inn
Best Western Minneapolis
Minneapolis Best Western
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed on first floor due to elderly person using a walker.”
 of 5 bubbles yarbz4040, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get the cookies”
 of 5 bubbles MinotNDLiver, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room.”
 of 5 bubbles Redawuk, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“stay away from the pool”
 of 5 bubbles dalimima, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“They did offer suites and pool side rooms but fourth floor is quiet and wonderful!”
 of 5 bubbles TroynJeanne, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay