We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

575 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar
See the most recent reviews
Showing 565: English reviews
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 8 November 2016

This room was super. It was on a corner on the 13th (!) floor with windows looking both directions. The bed was comfy, the bed covers were elegant, the extra down blanket was cozy, the sitting chair was comfy, the bath was large, the closet was big too. The iron and hairdryer worked. Down sides: no breakfast included, no fridge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K H
AaronWicks, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review

K.H, We really enjoyed having you as our guest during your recent stay in Minneapolis. Our corner rooms truly do offer a great view of the city! We look forward to having you as our guest in the future. Have a great day, Aaron

Brookings, South Dakota
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Upgraded to the Northstar Suite (room 720) because of my Spire status! No problems with the suite...clean, spacious, and comfortable. Only issue I ran into was my credit card was declined upon check-in for no reason whatsoever (I called my card company immediately and there was nothing wrong with my card or account). No reason from hotel or credit card...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam K
AaronWicks, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review

Adam K, Thank you for your continued loyalty to IHG and congratulations on being a valued Spire Member! We enjoyed having you as our guest and it was our pleasure to upgrade you to our Northstar Suite. Have a great week and we look forward to your next visit with us.

New Richmond, United States
Reviewed 1 November 2016

The hotel itself is beautiful. The lounge area is very cozy and relaxing. I cannot speak for all rooms but the King room we had on the executive level was very clean and neat but very small and walls seam to be paper thin. I stay in hotels around 10 nights a month and I don't think I've stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
AaronWicks, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review

Matthew P, Thank you for your loyalty to IHG and the Crowne Plaza in Minneapolis. We enjoyed having you as our guest and appreciate your comments regarding the room. I would certainly like to look into this further with you, please contact the hotel and ask to speak with Aaron. Thank you and have a great day. Aaron

Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

I thought the rooms were clean. My suggestion is a fan in the bathroom. The staff were friendly and helpful. Generally it suited my purpose. I wish they left more coffee packets in the room as coffee is not served in the lobby. Other than that I had a good stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberleef
AaronWicks, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review

Kimberleef, Thank you for selecting the Crowne Plaza during your recent visit to Minneapolis We appreciate your feedback and will ensure we are continually working to enhance the guest experience. Have a great day.

Oregon
Reviewed 31 October 2016

This is a good downtown location but older hotel and rooms are just OK. Very clean but small and older style. One bonus is nice inner courtyard which is a good outdoor space to relax and gave a drink. Check in and out easy and staff friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FoodFlowerTravel
AaronWicks, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review

FoodFlowerTravel, Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza during your recent stay in Minneapolis. We appreciate your feedback as we are continually working to enhance our guest experience. Have a great day and we hope to have you as our guest again soon. Aaron

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

This is an old hotel that shows its age in every aspect: rooms with dented, dusty, damaged furnishings; HVAC system that doesn't cool well in summer; bathrooms with no outlets; Venetian blinds on the windows. If I didn't have to stay here for work, I wouldn't -- and you shouldn't!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
AaronWicks, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review

Pam M, Thank you for staying with us during your recent business trip to Minneapolis. Please accept our sincere apologies and allow us to make things right for you. We would like to discuss your stay further, please contact the hotel and ask to speak with the General Manager, Aaron. Have a great day.

Bay City, Michigan
Reviewed 27 October 2016

I arrived on 10/24/16 to attend the WWE tv taping at the Target Center. I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. My stay was a 50th birthday present from a friend. I have stayed at this hotel at least four times since I been traveling through minneapolis for years. I feel the hotel is kept up really well for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnjay86
AaronWicks, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review

Johnjay86, Congratulations and thank you for celebrating your 50th birthday with us at the Crowne Plaza. We appreciate your continued loyalty to IHG and the Crowne Plaza. I heard a lot of great feedback from the WWE event, we certainly had many guests in town for this event. Have a great day and thank you for your 5 star review....

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 20 October 2016

The location is fairly incredible. It is perfectly centered between Downtown West and Downtown East. My experiences with the room quality has never been great. Something is always dirty or broken. But, it is never anything to make the stay intolerable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jdx509
AaronWicks, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review

Jdx509, Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza and for your continued loyalty. I would like to ensure that we make your next stay great, please reach out to Aaron the GM so that we can discuss your recent stay further. We value each one of our guests and want to ensure that we can provide a great experience for...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

It didn't start well when the reception staff were so unfriendly. Our room was ok but the hotel is old and poor. The corridors were old and in need of repair. I did not feel comfortable walking around the hotel on my own. The hotel had a unwelcome feel and I would not return. Location is ok and car parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ladytraveler63
AaronWicks, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review

Siany63, Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza, I am sorry that you did not have a great experience during your visit. We appreciate your feedback and would like to discuss your concerns further, please reach out to the hotel and ask for the General Manager. We want to make this right for you. Have a great day, Aaron

Eau Claire
Reviewed 18 October 2016

First of all the location was perfect. Got off the light rail and right into the hotel. Very convenient. Plus, it was in walking distance to a lot of restaurants that I wanted to go to. Music is important to me so I walked to the Dakota Jazz Club which wasn't very far. The room was a little small but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lekona
AaronWicks, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review

lekona, Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza during your recent visit to Minneapolis. We truly enjoyed having you as our guest and appreciate your kind remarks regarding our bartender Bob, is a great member of our team! We are looking forward to your next stay with us, have a great day. Aaron W

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
The Westin Minneapolis
The Westin Minneapolis
#21 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,064 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#15 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,490 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Minneapolis Downtown (Convention Center)
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Minneapolis Crowne Plaza Hotel located in the heart of the downtown Minneapolis business and retail district and connected to the Skyway system for easy access to shopping, dining, sports, entertainment and any other downtown Minneapolis event. Deluxe guestrooms include 2 phones with data-port and voice-mail, wireless high speed Internet access for a fee, On-Demand movies, iron/ironing board, coffee/coffeemaker and USA Today paper delivered daily. Our Cafe Northstar restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. In addition, our Krona lounge overlooking 2nd Avenue in downtown Minneapolis, features light meals, a connoisseur's collection of spirits, complete wine bar and more than thirty beers & ales in a comfortable atmosphere complete with fireplace. Take advantage of our free Fitness Center and the services of our Business Center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar

Address: 618 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Price Range: RM409 - RM1,000 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar Hotel Minneapolis
Crowne Plaza Minneapolis
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#25 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“find a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles ericpO3750CB, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for rooms facing inside not on the street side for a better nights sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles FoodFlowerTravel, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room by the elevators has guest traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles lekona, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Accessible to anywhere downtown”
 of 5 bubbles harsheep2015, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Try to get on the 17th floor”
 of 5 bubbles bkpoud2, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5