Seri Simanggang Hotel

Seri Simanggang Hotel

Lot 1518 Block 2, Plot 49 Simanggang Town District, Sri Aman 95000 Malaysia
Traveller (59)
Dining (6)
Room & Suite (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#1 of 1 apartment in Sri Aman
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
2.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Malay
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Coffee shop
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Paid public parking on-site
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Coffee / tea maker
On-demand films
Bath / shower
Iron
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms

Location

Lot 1518 Block 2, Plot 49 Simanggang Town District, Sri Aman 95000 Malaysia
44Reviews1Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1
  • 19
  • 19
  • 4
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Paul C wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice hotel, big room, unfortunately the towels and bed linen have a bit musty smell. Appears the hotel laundry is either saving on softener or omitting it altogether.
First time I ever have stay in a hotel with a fast food outlet, a chicken rice outlet combined with a Fried chicken one. Food not to bad tho. Breakfast is so & so, despite having quite a few items in the buffet.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: It does have elevators, the rest of the smaller hotels or inn do not.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CBN wrote a review Feb 2020
Kuching, Malaysia11 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We've checked in the hotel before 12pm. The first thing I noticed is that the girl who who were working on that day is not friendly at all. When we asked her do you have a smoking room or not, she answered with an attitude. So rude. But anyway, the room that we got was at Level 2.It was nice and cozy. The food foe breakfast that they served here was average as well. The staffs that was working at the cafe was muy bien very friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Do request for windows
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ngumuihua wrote a review Dec 2014
Malaysia262 contributions54 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
new & modern facilities in this town of Sarawak. convenient. new development.

check with hotel. they started operation in dec2013.

well maintain . breakfasts are provided. good service.

the reception ladies are very kind. to open some of the rooms for our view. for our future visit to Sri Aman.

part of our visit is to see benak tidal waves. check with friend before coming.

unfortunately. we are not able to see. as it is heavy rain on christmas night.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: new. the room is spacious . well maintain.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Abdiel92 wrote a review Aug 2017
6 contributions14 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks with the first week on Deluxe Twin Room 313 and the second week on Premier Double Room 818.

Pro
1. Smooth Check-In and Check-Out
Check in was fine considering that we check in at night and checking out took less than 10 seconds (you only need to return them your room cards)

2. Fair Room Size
Room size is decent enough for both room types considering the price offered

3. Breakfast Choice
Variety choice of breakfast that are rotated each day ranging from local cuisine (fried rice, chicken curry/rendang, mixed vegetables), western cuisine (macaroni, sausages, egg station, baked beans), breads and jems (kaya, chocolate, strawberries, etc), soup condiment station (chicken or tom yam or beef soup).

4. Good location
KFC which open till 2am daily and coffee shops is within less than 3 minutes walking distance.

To Improve
1. Ensure Pre-booked Extra Bed is Ready
It was rather disappointing that the extra bed that we pre-booked were not ready in the room when we arrive and is only prepared after we check in.

2. Ensure Bed Linen are Visibly Clean
The bed sheet that was in the Deluxe Twin Room for the first few nights have visibly yellow stained on it which is rather disappointing for a hotel standard.

3. Improve Availability of Iron and Ironing Board
It is rather disappointing that for such standard of hotel that iron supply is an issue. Iron is only available upon request. There were times that iron were requested but were told that none are available due to shortages. This could probably due to an event was going on and the hotel is running on high occupancy rate. However, considering the number of rooms, a decent number of iron should be readily available.

4. Gym Facilities
Considering the size and standard of this hotel in Sri Aman, it would be a huge plus to have a decent average gym facilities for guest fitness.

5. More room cards for guest
Considering that a Double Room could accommodate 4 adults, at least 3 room cards should be given rather than the existing 2 room cards only. As inconvenience would occur if some of us leave the rooms and would want to return at different time.

6. Non-functioning Refrigerator
The refrigerator in both rooms are rather non-functional as it is not cold at all.

Overall this is the best hotel that you can get in Sri Aman. Do not place too high of an expectation for a 2-3 star hotel to avoid disappointment. Nevertheless, it was an acceptable stay considering the price and the hotel you can get in this small town.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bazli B wrote a review Mar 2017
1 contribution2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Satisfy. Just less place for parking. Still a nice place to stay if want to visit sri aman. Hotel room is ok. Comfortable shower room. Hotel staf are friendly. More privacy if u want to stay at sri aman for vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ChrisM64 wrote a review Feb 2017
Miri, Malaysia33 contributions12 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I was told this was the better of the Hotels in Sri Aman,
Things i would of expected to be in a hotel

1 A Bar
2 A Restaurant
3 A Gym
There were non of the above in this Hotel,
The rooms where pretty basic, nothing to write home about
Car Parking...... good luck
I really wish i could think of something postive to say about this hotel, oh ok, its pretty new and the shower cubicle is large
I know Sri Aman is not the centre of the Universe for modern day living, but you would expect modern day things in a Hotel
I would call this a Posh B&B,
ths is the second time i have stayed here,
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
inascully wrote a review Feb 2016
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia765 contributions138 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked through Booking.com for MYR103++/nite for twin bed (hotel's web price MYR120). Breakfast included. 3 hours drive from Kuching to Sri Aman. Check-in was smooth & quick. But their front desk was not so friendly, but once you start to converse with them, they will give their best service & smile more. Hotel is located nearby Pasar Tamu (morning market) & shop lots. A fast food eatery (Sugar Bun) & Halal Chinese restaurant located in the hotel. Not to worry, you will find a lot of eatery places. Sri Aman is a small town, so everything are within your walking distances.

Room 320 located on the 3rd floor (facing back view). Our view was a pitch roof. Ask for higher floor, at least you can see mountainous view. Clean room & you will get basic amenities, 2 sachets of instant coffee, 2 bottled drinks, 2 soaps, bath foam & shampoo. Water heater & air-con worked perfectly. Good sound buffer. Comfortable pillows & mattresses. However only few TV channels available & was fuzzy.

Breakfast was delicious & variety, local & western foods. But their juice was not made of fresh fruits but instead made by using cordial. Taste bad but coffee, tea & plain water available too.

Nice clean new hotel so definitely will come & stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: ask for higher floor for better scenic view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
yamashitareina wrote a review Jan 2016
Kuching, Malaysia78 contributions49 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
For a hotel in a small town, this is pretty decent. Modern and clean furnishing with all the basic needs covered i.e. air-conditioning and hot shower. The wifi connection was a little dodgy at first but it was all good after it connected. Breakfast was basic. Not luxurious but enough to fill you up for the morning to go on with whatever activities on your itinerary.

Overall, delightfully surprised that we could get a very comfortable stay in a quiet town.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cipan80 wrote a review Oct 2015
Kuching, Malaysia26 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is managed by the same group that manages Penview Inn, Kuching, and Sri Purnama in Limbang. As it is a relatively new hotel, one would expect that the facilities and amenities would be in good working condition. The room was clean and tidy. Apart from some minor leaking from the bathroom sink pipping, the rest are all fine. Wifi is provided.

Location wise, its within the Sri Aman town area. Eateries are within walking distance from the hotel, and it is a 5-10mins walk to Fort Alice, a tourist attraction in this place.

The hotel is adjoined with shopping facility. There are Watson Pharmacy, Unaco supermarket, and some eateries such as Sugarbun and Singapore Chicken RIce outlet. Should you plan to buy some snacks or stuff from Unaco supermarket, just walk through the adjoining glass door which links the hotel compound withe the supermarket.

However, be ready to be prevented from using that same door to go back to the hotel by the staff there while holding plastic full of items, you have to go out via the main Unaco entrance (located on the other end of the whole adjoining building), and walk on the outside of the building to go back to the hotel. My suggestion, do install the security scanner at the door rather than preventing any person holding shopping goods from using it if you want to prevent shoplifting. Else, it defeats the purpose of the whole adjoining idea...
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: There's a food court and KFC located next to the hotel. Fort Alice is 5-10minutes away from...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Saharudin52 wrote a review Jul 2019
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia383 contributions55 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Sri Aman Sarawak was previously known as Simanggang. It was a hot bed for terrorists. When peace finally came, it was renamed as Sri Aman, meaning a peaceful place. However, the hotel was named Seri Simanggang to retain its connection to the past history.
The hotel is considered the most modern and luxury in Sri Aman based on local context. It has 10 floors and easily visible being the highest building in the vicinity. It is a 3-4 Star hotel depending on individual’s own experience.
The room size is quite spacious and normal room cost below RM 200. The Junior Suite cost only RM270 and very spacious with living room with sifa and dining table. The aircond worked well. The water heater temperature is set at a certain temperature and the water pressure moderate. Mattress is quite OK and pillows feel like spinge but not hard.
TV with bad reception. 2 FOC bottles of drinking water. All in all it is good for traveller on business to get a good sleep.
It offered room rate with breakfast with reasonable spread. There are plenty of cafes and restaurants around and for Muslims the best restaurant within walking distance is Sri Tunjang on the right side as you exit the main lobby. There is also Pasar Tamu on the left side a 10 minutes walk.
All in all it is quite a good a good hotel as it will take you 3 1/2 ti 4 hours ride using peace meal Pan Borneo Highway which is under construction. Considering the local context, it is the best hotel in Sri Aman, if you are fussy or concern over minor things. I would come back to this hotel when in Sri Aman.

Saha & Yam
Stayed in July 2019
Reporting 28.07.2019
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul C wrote a tip Feb 2023
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"It does have elevators, the rest of the smaller hotels or inn do not."
Read full review
CBN wrote a tip Feb 2020
Kuching, Malaysia11 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do request for windows"
Read full review
Jed wrote a tip Feb 2019
Dumaguete City, Philippines102 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Keep driving to Kuching"
Read full review
amangdayung wrote a tip Nov 2017
Kota Samarahan, Malaysia173 contributions11 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room facing Sri Aman town and higher floors."
Read full review
Lismarie79 wrote a tip May 2016
Malaysia63 contributions45 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Higher floors have a nicer view of the surrounding hills"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sri Aman area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 123 - RM 193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MalaysiaSarawakSri Aman
NUMBER OF ROOMS
158
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SERI SIMANGGANG HOTEL (R̶M̶ ̶2̶2̶6̶) RM 174: See 41 Reviews, Price Comparison and 59 Photos (Sri Aman)

Frequently Asked Questions about Seri Simanggang Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at Seri Simanggang Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness centre.
What food & drink options are available at Seri Simanggang Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Seri Simanggang Hotel?
Yes, free parking and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Seri Simanggang Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Benak Sensation, Ming Mei Shi Seafood Restaurant, and Street Lounge Dine.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Seri Simanggang Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Seri Simanggang Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Seri Simanggang Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Malay.