We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bug-Bee Hive Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paynesville
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Bug-Bee Hive Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 23: English reviews
Hell, Michigan
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Stayed here for a work retreat and the setting was good for teamwork. We had a bonfire and had a cornhole tournament. The one thing that did annoy me was the well water had a strong mineral smell and taste. I can see why this is popular for family reunions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trbeer
Paul B, Owner at Bug-Bee Hive Resort, responded to this review

We're so happy to hear we had the chance to make your visit to Paynesville a memorable one! We're a little disappointed, however, to hear you were bothered by the smell of the water. Hoping you'll be back again soon -- we'd love another shot at showing you that 5-star experience you deserve! All sorts of humble thanks, Paul, Owner

Sioux City, Iowa
Reviewed 9 September 2016

My family stayed at Bug-Bee for the on-site wedding of my nephew. My group arrived the day before the ceremony and stayed is Bee-Suite. I was in love with the facility the moment the grounds were in view. The grounds are gorgeous and covered with mature trees, plants, and flowers. The groundskeepers do their jobs well! Bee-Suite is split into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IowaLakeGirl78
Granite Falls, Minnesota
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Our family has been gathering together at Bugbee Hive Resort for several years now. It started with 11 of us and we can now gather the upper 20's to lower 30s of us together! Bugbee has been fantastic and every year, it just keeps getting better. Paul, the owner is incredible. He is always friendly, over the top helpful, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle V
Paul B, Owner at Bug-Bee Hive Resort, responded to this review

Michelle, thank you so much for the wonderfully detailed review! I loved hearing exactly what you love, and what could use a bit of improvement. Feedback like this is invaluable, and I can't wait to share it with the team. See you next time! Paul, Owner

Valparaiso, Indiana
Reviewed 19 July 2015

60+ members of my extended family met here for a week long reunion. It was an excellent spot with something for everyone. The kids loved the beach, pool, trampoline, diving platform, playground, and large green space between cabins. Parents loved the kids entertaining themselves and relaxing with each other. We also utilized a pontoon boat and the banquet hall in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephanie S
Paul B, owner at Bug-Bee Hive Resort, responded to this review

It's great to hear from you, Stephanie! I can't thank you enough for taking the time to leave us a thoughtful review. Your feedback about the fire pits and WiFi is especially helpful, and I'll be sure to look into this. Hopefully the next time you're looking for a vacation, you can join us again! Best wishes, Paul, Owner

Reviewed 22 June 2015

This is the only operating resort on Lake Koronis. We originally had a reservation for Stone Gate but the cabins and grounds including pool were very neglected so the group I was with was fortunately moved to the Bug-Bee resort who also owns Stone Gate. Stone Gate Lodge Resort is apparently on it's last leg and the cabins are being...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BigMinnie
Paul B, owner at Bug-Bee Hive Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your experience here! It sounds like you had a great stay once you were moved to Bug-Bee, which is good to hear. Your feedback is much appreciated! The next time you're looking for a getaway at the lake, we hope you'll join us again. Take care, Paul, Owner

Pkymouth
Reviewed 20 June 2015 via mobile

30+ people in 5 families are nearing the end of our stay here - it was great. The good: Get colony a, b, and c if you've got a ton of people coming. Big enough common spaces for dinner/etc, but enough rooms/etc so people can get away. Really cool setup. The lake is awesome, no milfoil?, and the beach here...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joshua S
Paul B, owner at Bug-Bee Hive Resort, responded to this review

It's great to hear you all had a fun vacation, Joshua! There's nothing better than spending time out at the lake with family and friends. We can't thank you enough for the kind words, and hopefully we can welcome you all back again soon! Take care, Paul, Owner

minneapolis, mn
Reviewed 26 February 2015

My husband and I planned a last minute fall get-away in September. As the temperatures now are below zero in MN, I it's the perfect time to review our exceptional stay at Bug Bee. First - the grounds are not just inviting and groomed - they manage to balance the gorgeous pine trees and forest -with the paths to meticulously...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank amyMinneapolis
Paul B, owner at Bug-Bee Hive Resort, responded to this review

I'm thrilled you both loved your spontaneous fall getaway, Amy! September is a great time to visit. My staff will be very pleased to hear about all your kinds words, and we are definitely looking forward to having you back again in the summer! 'Til then, Paul, Owner

Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewed 18 February 2015

I used to go with a crafting group to Bug-Bee in late winter every year. The facilities are beautiful, and the cabin is lovely. The issue is with the current management. I have noticed that the experience has been going downhill each year and our group has decided to no longer use Bug-Bee for our retreat for this reason. Some...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Sheri B
Paul B, owner at Bug-Bee Hive Resort, responded to this review

Sheri, I am sorry that the attention to detail you are used to having from has been apparently lacking the past couple visits. We are always looking to maintain excellent conditions at our resort so that our guests can fully enjoy their stays no matter what time of year they come. Feedback like this definitely helps identify areas of improvement,...

Big Lake, Minnesota, United States
Reviewed 8 October 2014

The place is beautiful and very clean. We were there for a family wedding and the main lodge and the grounds are really beautiful. We did not get to enjoy the lake, but did walk around the grounds. The only complaint I have is when we booked we did not realize the main lodge was not set up like a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elaine L
Natalie L, owner at Bug-Bee Hive Resort, responded to this review

We hope you enjoyed the wedding, Elaine! It was a pleasure to have you all stay with us. I'm very sorry you weren't informed of our amenities ahead of time. We do not generally provide complimentary towels; however, we do have towels, wash cloths, and soap available for $6.00 per set. I really appreciate your review, and I hope you'll...

Sainte Genevieve, Missouri
Reviewed 26 September 2014

We were there for our near-daughter's wedding in September. Being in the off season probably meant we had greater contact with staff -- I don't know. However, everyone who worked there, including the owner, was fantastic. The resort is nice -- the newer cabins have a lot over the older cabins, thanks to some good design and work by the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ed T
Paul B, owner at Bug-Bee Hive Resort, responded to this review

We're ecstatic you enjoyed your stay with us, Ed! The new cabins are a wonderful addition to our resort, and it's great to hear some feedback about them. Speaking of, I'm really sorry your water was a bit off. It has definitely passed all inspections, but this is just the kind of water we get out here. The mosquitoes are...

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paynesville
3.4 km away
Paynesville Inn & Suites
Paynesville Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Paynesville
97 reviews
14.7 km away
Eden Valley Motel
Eden Valley Motel
#1 of 1 in Eden Valley
4 reviews
17.2 km away
Spicer Castle Inn
Spicer Castle Inn
#1 of 1 in Spicer
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BugBee Hive Resort is Minnesota's premier vacation destination nestled on the shore of Lake Koronis. For the perfect getaway, visit BugBee Hive Resort! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bug-Bee Hive Resort

Address: 29659 Queen Bee Ln, Paynesville, MN 56362-9334
Region: United States > Minnesota > Paynesville
Number of rooms: 30
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bug-Bee Hive Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Depends on the size you want and location/view you want.”
 of 5 bubbles 974michellev, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one of the new cabins.”
 of 5 bubbles edt791, 25 Sep 2014 | Read review
“If going as a family ask how busy the conference center is going to be.”
 of 5 bubbles Jayne-Annie, 4 Jul 2014 | Read review
3 of 3