We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

St. James Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
St. James Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for St. James Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 285: English reviews
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 22 January 2016

My first time in Red Wing and this was the hotel that was booked for our band by the Sheldon Theatre (which was two blocks away.) We arrived early and the Front Desk Clerk (Katie) went out of her way to help us get into our rooms in a short amount of time as well as provide great recommendations and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank austinfabio
Marilyne B, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the St. James Hotel! Thanks for your comments, and thank you for bring entertainment to the beautiful Sheldon Theatre! Hope to see you back soon.

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 20 January 2016

My family and i had a wonderful weekend at the St. James for my niece's reception and dance. We had several rooms booked, and everyone at the front desk was extremely helpful, and a "special shout out" to Katie! The rooms were all unique and nicely furnished, and the hotel was beautiful. THANKS so much for everything, we hope to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol1953_12
Marilyne B, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, responded to this review

We would love to host you again! Thanks so much for the kind comments. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the St. James Hotel.

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 19 January 2016

It may be record cold in MN, but had the lovely long weekend wedding event at the St. James. 150 wedding guests....not one complaint. Venue lends itself to the attitude of wait needed for wedding events. There are enough spaces to spread out and explore. Rooms vary not only in name, wallpaper and design.....but all share excellent quality sheets, towels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda S
Marilyne B, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, responded to this review

Rhonda, thank you for your kind comments! We were thrilled to be the host venue for your daughter's wedding. It seems you got to truly experience all the best offerings in the St. James. We hope you can make it back in the future. Cheers!

Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewed 18 January 2016

Stayed here last Friday night as part of a work retreat. There is a great deal of history in the building and in Red Wing, so if you are in Red Wing to shop antiques and want to stay in an antique hotel, this is just the place. For me, I'd prefer a modern hotel. I'm not impressed with lumpy,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rosco643676
Ely, Minnesota
Reviewed 18 January 2016

A wonderful older property wirh multiple restaurants and room service. River views from many of the rooms. Very nice staff and several shops in the hotel. Attached ramp parking too. Stay here as it is the best in town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blacklake
Marilyne B, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the St. James Hotel. Hope to see you back in Red Wing soon!

Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

I was so so SO impressed by the SJH. It's historic, but shows some wear (some worn carpeting here and there, some bathroom wallpaper was peeling at the corners), but it was built over 100 years ago. Cut it some slack, Jack. I had a certificate for a free Queen deluxe, they upgraded me to a king deluxe (free upgrade!)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James r
Marilyne B, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for spending the New Year holiday with us at the St. James Hotel! We are very pleased to read your comments. Hope you and your Queen have an exciting 2016, and we hope to you see back in Red Wing soon!

La Crosse, Wisconsin
Reviewed 22 December 2015 via mobile

We were in town for Thanksgiving and so spent the night here - didn't have to twist my arm. We usually stay in the summer, so it was a nice change. We had a beautiful room overlooking the river, as always decorated to fit the era of the hotel. Each room is named after a steamboat, which is an interesting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christine102262
Marilyne B, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, responded to this review

We very much appreciate your comments, thank you for taking the time to write a review! The hotel takes on a different feel between the seasons. We are glad you got to experience a winter stay with us. We hope to see you back in Red Wing soon!

Verona, WI
Reviewed 28 November 2015

This is not a review of the hotel as a place to stay - haven't stayed there. It is, however, a response to those reviews that generally comment favorably on the restaurants and staff in the hotel. We've been to the Thanksgiving buffet about five times, most recently this year. While prices have gone up modestly during this time the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DepVar
Marilyne B, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, responded to this review

We are deeply sorry to hear about your experience with our annual Thanksgiving Harvest Buffet. Every year, we listen to suggestions that are made to us, and consistently work on improving our holiday buffet offerings for a better experience. Over the years, guests have requested a full “make-yourself” salad bar instead of pre-mixed salad. We listened to your comments, made...

Burnsville, Minnesota
Reviewed 21 November 2015

Stayed at this hotel many times over the years and we were very disappointed in the current state of repair. Stayed 11/13/2015. Carpets in the hallways and old lobby were old, worn and had puckers in them. The Jacuzzi in our room was old, 1980's vintage and the bottom was flaking and there was mold where it contacted the wall....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Thomas G
Marilyne B, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience with us regarding your recent stay. Your visit must have been very upsetting for you. At the St. James Hotel, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, and valued. Our engineering team is consistently working on renovating our historical building. They are putting the last...

Mw
Reviewed 19 November 2015

Historic Hotel...Enjoy the charm of the past as you are surrounded by the beautiful decor. The Sunday brunch contains a nice variety of foods! All staff members were friendly and helpful. Only concern when we tried to order room service for breakfast..somehow our room number was missed on the order so the meal never came up...my husband went down to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marianne C
Marilyne B, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you so much for your feedback, and we're very pleased to hear that your stay with us was overall positive. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused to you with room service; however, we're happy to know that our team was able to help. We do pride ourselves on providing outstanding service, so it is very nice when...

175 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (13)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Wing
6.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Red Wing
1.5 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Red Wing
2.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Rivertown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Super 8 Red Wing
Super 8 Red Wing
#6 of 9 in Red Wing
299 reviews
1.5 km away
Nichols Inn Red Wing
Nichols Inn Red Wing
#4 of 9 in Red Wing
92 reviews
23.5 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Port
The Port
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
There are few places as gratifying as the St. James Hotel in Red Wing. From eagle watching to skiing, there’s plenty to do outside. Or if you prefer, there’s really no need to leave the building once you arrive. Fabulous restaurants, an intimate lounge, luxurious rooms and a pampering spa all await you. Book today and let us create a memorable experience for you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about St. James Hotel

Address: 406 Main Street, Red Wing, MN 55066
Region: United States > Minnesota > Red Wing
Price Range: RM468 - RM869 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. James Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your St. James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from St. James Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from St. James Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They have a picture book of all the rooms at the desk.”
 of 5 bubbles SAL611, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“aparently the 3rd floor is where all of the ghost activity occurs”
 of 5 bubbles Z952QCryand, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay on a Monday”
 of 5 bubbles savytraverlor43323, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The St. James has two sections: the 1875 historic section and the newer building. Ask for a room with a view of the Mississippi River.”
 of 5 bubbles Ikebanasuki, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Be sure to be aware of the types of beds, I've not seen a full size bed in years.”
 of 5 bubbles carries484, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5