We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 204: English reviews
Wausau, Wisconsin
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We made use of the Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown for a recent show at the Mayo Civic Center. First, the good news: the hotel is conveniently connected by skywalk to the civic center, so you won't have to worry about rain, sleet, snow or even gloom of night. The hotel itself is dated and that is something that you will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Standby4321
Sherri S, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Dear standby4321, On behalf of the Holiday Inn Downtown Rochester we would like to thank you for your stay, time, and review. We are proud to be so conveniently located near the mayo civic center and the mayo building, for your convenience and other guest as well. We are currently working towards improving our hotel to the Holiday Inn standards...

Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Great staff. I lost a hearing aid and didn't realize it was gone until after I left. Housekeeping very carefully cleaned the room, found it and called me. The common areas are in need of an update, but this place meets my needs as a business traveller.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve W
Lake Villa, Illinois
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We have stayed in this hotel a couple of times and each time we had the same opinion. Nice location, accessible to the bridges and tunnels over to the Mayo Clinic, but seems a little dated and in need of some love. The staff is always pleasant and helpful and the rooms are clean, but better sheets, cleaner furniture and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank klsherman
Sherri S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Dear klsherman, Thank you for your feed back. I'm glad that we you enjoyed your stay with us and the staff were pleasant and helpful with you. We are continuously looking ways to improve our hotel and we will take your request into consideration. We look forward for your next stay with us. Don

Olean
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Here for a family wedding. Location is right downtown in walking distance of restaurants, shops and bars. Also, conveniently located if you are here for Mayo Clinic. Hotel has an indoor pool. There is a bar and restaurant on site. Bartenders very friendly. Room was spacious and clean. Would stay here again if in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
Sherri S, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, On behalf of the Holiday Inn Downtown we would like to thank you for your stay, time, and review. We are proud to be conveniently located downtown for all of our guest needs. We are also glad to hear that you had a good experience with the bartender. We hope that next time you are in Rochester...

Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

I am currently staying at this hotel. Although the public areas are very beat up my room is actually clean and somewhat updated. The biggest issue is the lack of sufficient WiFi at this hotel. If you are traveling for business you will NOT be able to work if you require a connection. This is such a problem that I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
Sherri S, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, We would like to thank you for your stay, time, and review. We would like to apologize for the WiFi issues you have faced during your stay. We hope that the next time you will be able to have a better experience here with us. Thank you, Guest Services

Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Upon walking into the hotel lobby, and judging the book by the cover, it looked like it would be a great place to stay. As I turned the first page of the book, and opened the hotel room door, it turned out to be one disappointment after another. The room was dated, there were no windows, and there were coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roed0049
Sherri S, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Roed0049, On behalf of the Holiday Inn Downtown we would like to take a moment to apologize for the difficulty and inconveniences that you face during your stay here with us. We apologize about the room placement that you were given was unsatisfying. Also the wifi issue is an issue that should have been taken care of by our...

Reviewed 3 September 2016

Room was noisy: windows were not closing tight (not enough pressure applied) and could hear noise from cars. Friends with room facing the back of hotet were complaining too about the noise. Pool was nice but it was awkward that a lot of rooms had doors at pool and any noise cand disturb people stayng there. Breakfast menu had 11...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CrisAndrei
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Dear CrisAndrei , Thank you for writing a review on our hotel. Our goal is to deliver exceptional service and comfortable accommodations, and we appreciate your business with us. I am glad to know that you found the pool facility nice and the hotel location good. However, we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience the noise challenges may have caused you...

Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

I wouldn't be surprised if IHG pulls the Holiday Inn Brand from this location in the foreseeable future. Many issues were encountered during our four day stay: room keys didn't work four different times, room didn't get cleaned one of the four days, air conditioning didn't work, printer in business center didn't work and reservation for a double bed handicap...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DougA04
Sherri S, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Dear DougA04, We would like to thank you for your stay, time, and review. On behalf of the Holiday Inn we apologize for the issues you faced during your stay with us. At our location we do only offer king or single queen handicap rooms and apologize for any miscommunication that was given to you. We are proud that Ashley...

Coupeville, Washington
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Room was cleaned well everyday (we stayed one week). We had a room by the pool - unless you like lots of noise until 10:00-10:30 every night don't stay in one of those rooms. The bathroom was ridiculously small.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynnstiern
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Dear lynnstiern, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are pleased to know you liked the housekeeping services you received. On the other hand, we are sorry you were not satisfied with the size of your bathroom and the inconvenience you had from the outside noise affected your stay negatively. We take our guest comments very...

Sleepy Eye, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Today's question is: What gives a hotel three stars? If three stars means the lobby looks spacious, ritzy, and like a bellhop is about to come around the corner to help you with luggage... If it means the rooms are a bit bigger, with nicer bedding, furniture and gold- or silver-painted frames around abstract wall hangings... If it means the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
Sherri S, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Dear guest, We thank you for your stay, time, and review. We apologize for the inconveniences that you faced during your stay here with us. You should have not had any of these issues. We do offer many different rate codes that can accommodate to the certain needs you may have and or desire. We hope that next time you...

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
0.6 km away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#17 of 53 in Rochester
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#36 of 53 in Rochester
1,094 reviews
0.2 km away
Broadway Plaza
Broadway Plaza
#37 of 53 in Rochester
7 reviews
0.6 km away
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A convenient address among Rochester, Minnesota hotels. Experience the community named the 'Best Small City in America' by Money Magazine, where cosmopolitan atmosphere meets Midwestern hospitality. Located in the heart of this bustling locale, the Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown offers a memorable destination for your next vacation or business trip. Look to our downtown Mayo Clinic area hotel for direct climate-controlled subway/skyway access to the city's attractions, including the world-famous Mayo Clinic, St. Mary's Hospital and Methodist Hospital. Explore the Shops at University Square just one block by the pedestrian skyway. Enjoy classic family fun at Silver Lake Park or Graham Arena-both just one mile away. You'll find our deluxe Rochester, Minnesota hotel provides spacious accommodations and convenient services in a comfortable setting. Well-appointed spacious rooms are just the beginning at our downtown Holiday Inn hotel. Be sure to enjoy our Thyme Restaurant and Lounge featuring creative entrees, cocktails and featuring live music every Friday night. Parking is available in city owned parking ramp adjacent to hotel at $13.50 Plus tax per night. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown

Address: 220 S Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904-6514 (Formerly Rochester City Centre Hotel)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Price Range: RM441 - RM628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Rochester
Holiday Inn Mayo Clinic
Rochester Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pool upper floors are more peaceful”
 of 5 bubbles knightteri, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't get a room near the pool as it makes hallways smell.”
 of 5 bubbles jeanpaz425, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Lower floor rooms are more lively”
 of 5 bubbles aidenw171, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are noisy so, at least, get one facing front (South Broadway) to enjoy the Down town view”
  • Room with front view
 of 5 bubbles CrisAndrei, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“away from pool if you want a good nights sleep”
 of 5 bubbles lynnstiern, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay