We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Traveler's Hotel

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
View Map
Add a photo
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 30: English reviews
Start your review of Traveler's Hotel
 Click to rate
Henry, Illinois
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Yes prolly one of the oldest outdated hotels next to Mayo Clinic. Stayed here once a few years back, hotel was very ran down. I just got back in town last month (April 2017) and I see this hotel is closed. Looks to be they are gutting and remodeling the whole building. Long over due, but when it's done it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EYE1234
Campo Bom, RS, Brasil
Reviewed 13 November 2015 via mobile

This was the worst hotel since I arrive in US... Very old installation, old bed linen, old bathroom... The breakfast is too much poor!! Also the old guy in reception was not friendly... I do not recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank schneider80
Chippewa Falls
Reviewed 11 November 2015

Old Guest house type hotel about 2 blocks from the Mayo Clinic. There are no frills with this hotel and it has drawbacks, but location is not one of them,. We had a great comfortable king bed room that turned out to be more of a suite. Had a microwave, a refrigerator, and an ample, however, old, bathroom. No grab...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melsley
Waukesha
Reviewed 4 May 2015

Hotel was older than shown on pictures, but VERY convenient to Mayo Clinic. Staff was helpful with questions about Mayo. Free shuttle to Mayo if needed (only 2 1/2 blocks away). An easy walk on a nice spring day. Gave us a late checkout due to doctor's apptmt. Also FREE parking ($12-$15 per day at the clinic and other motels.)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda & Michael S
Hazen, North Dakota
Reviewed 1 April 2015

this is not a 5 star motel. if that is what you want and expect, do not stay here. i have stayed here many times. i am satisfied. the price and location, to Mayo, is why i stay here. average $55 per night, for short stays. it is 2 blocks to the mayo clinic. the parking is free, while staying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gene W
Huntington, West Virginia
Reviewed 27 November 2014

This is an older hotel. The place was clean and comfortable--even if it's "scruffy". Reminds me of student housing in college- without the loud music and parties. Good for the price. The breakfast is juice, coffee, toast and muffins. Get there early before everything's gone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank horsefarmfox
Gardner
Reviewed 30 October 2014

You get what you pay for. Good price. Comfortable, large room, clean enough, easy access to Mayo. They have a free shuttle to Walmart. Really nice deck-porch with deck furniture. Lobby computer wasn't working, regardless of what front desk staff said, but wifi worked ok. Was an "older" property, but not falling apart. Some of the cosmetic things could use...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mary S
Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewed 11 October 2014

DO NOT GO HERE!!! Made reservation, got here after a 8 hour drive . . they said wouldn't honor our reservation because our billing address on credit card was a Rochester address - and they don't let anyone within 40 miles stay there. WHAT???????? After seeing the lobby, glad they didn't honor our reservation. Centerstone up the street had no...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Gwen G
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 14 September 2014

Words cannot express the disgusting conditions of this disgusting hotel. No working lock on the door, bed bugs (see pictures), serious nasty staining on carpet all over, extension cords, holes in wall, holes in window screens, wires hanging out of wall socket, dirty disgusting filthy place should not even be open for business.

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank TMareeH
HotelManager426, Manager at Traveler's Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were not happy with you stay at Travelers Hotel. We are inspected monthly for all pest and when there is a report of bed bugs they are here within 24 hrs. of report; we have never had bed bugs. Carpets are cleaned by professionals quarterly and when additional is needed. The lock was readjusted the...

South Dakota
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Worst experience ever. Did not get the room we had reserved, instead was stuck in a very unclean room. Had reserved for a month due to donating a kidney and a kidney transplant. I had to clean and sanitize the room before our surgeries. (peeling paint, no air conditioning, bad beds, leaking shower, toilet lid loose, etc...) Did not have...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sue H
HotelManager426, General Manager at Traveler's Hotel, responded to this review

We do not guarantee a specific room number to any guest, as many are here for medical appointments and don't know how long they stay. We adjust our incoming reservations to accommodate the in-house guest; we offer this to all of our guest. If a guest is ending a monthly contract early we must charge sales tax if the stay...

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.3 km away
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
0.6 km away
Broadway Plaza
Broadway Plaza
#34 of 52 in Rochester
11 reviews
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
0.4 km away
Brentwood Inn and Suites
Brentwood Inn and Suites
#26 of 52 in Rochester
128 reviews
0.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Traveler's Hotel

Address: 426 2nd St. SW, Rochester, MN 55902-3137 (Formerly Rochester Downtown Travelodge)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Traveler's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Traveler's Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a view of the ocean. :)”
A5706EQmarys, 30 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Couldn't use it...see above”
gracielaa616, 21 Jul 2014 | Read review
“The rooms with balcony's are bigger.”
toddh251, 6 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Don't choose any RUN!”
356theresak, 15 Jul 2013 | Read review
“go somewhere else or check your room for cleanliness and electricity before you stay and pay.”
bethaaronharris, 20 Jun 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Hotwire.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates