We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Takarakka Bush Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Takarakka Bush Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

278 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 276: English reviews
Start your review of Takarakka Bush Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Worth a visit. This place was very quite for the Christmas holidays. I was disappointed that the tractor bar was not operating over the hoilday ( only operates in peck time- winter i think). This park is set up well for bush camping. On the second day we had a group of people camping near us that disrupted the park....

1Thank borissmith1986
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

We booked a Takka Tent online from their website for 2 adults and 2 children for one night. Though we travel with a tent and gear, we wanted to get an early start in the am and avoid taking down our own tent. We planned to hike to Big Bend and overnight there the next day. We tried calling several...

3Thank moremanoi
Takabus, Manager at Takarakka Bush Resort, responded to this review

It is always a pity when guests are not prepared to take the advice of locals and have pre made plans that we do not see as safe or appropriate for the season. We always endevour to explain the best way to see the gorge in the time that our guests have to spare. It appears you have grossly misunderstood...

Ipswich, Australia
Reviewed 1 January 2017

very friendly and informative staff. facilities where clean and we thoroughly enjoyed a hot shower at the end of our hiking through the gorge. generous camp sites . there is a platypus pool if you are lucky you may just seem them. the beach/ creek was refreshingly cool although it wasn't very deep

Thank Wendy M
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

We had an enjoyable five night stay in the mostly renovated self contained cottage. It was fairly private and surrounded by trees and lawns where several pretty faced wallabies grazed and snoozed. Lovely! It had a small kitchen with basic equipment and good quality crockery and a full sized fridge. It was air conditioned and had several windows to enjoy...

Thank Batwoman2013
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 December 2016

OMG!!! What a place. You have to go visit if you have not. It was out first time traveling across Australia and this place blew out minds. It was exactly what we were after and the staff at Takarakka are amazing.

Thank Katmoser
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 December 2016

We had a wonderfull stay. The studio was just perfect. A bbq and carnarvon underground the stars and wallabis all around. There are plenty of tracks and the national park is nearby. In the shop, there is not much for food. So bring your own. Look forward to the net time!

Thank Alex W
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We have stayed here before in a Takka Tent and loved the place. This time around we booked a powered site for 3 nights and stayed in our own tent. On arrival we noticed a large colony of Flying Foxes had taken up residence along the creek, which immediately put my wife off. The noise and smell of them got...

Thank Tracey E
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

No fridges in camp kitchens, but kitchens were clean and well maintained. Needed more bins. Not much information given upon arrival by staff, i.e.: about bats,swimming hole and platypus watching times. Camp site good,limited grass campsites. Facilities were clean. Great base for the National park.

Thank Sillybuggers2
Redcliffe, Australia
Reviewed 11 November 2016

After hearing good stories about Carnanavon Gorge we boarded our motorhome and went. On the resort (?) grounds we found almost no powered/unpowered sites with grass. Just leafs and dirt. Management implemented water restriction - they issued a board notice blaming customers for use of 80 mcub of water per day and overloading wastewater treatment plant. At the evening time...

Thank kuba b
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

We had an overnight stay at Takarakka with friends to visit Carnarvon Gorge. One night is not long enough!! We stayed in an ensuited Takka Tent. The accommodation was fantastic, the tent was spacious enough for two people, very clean and tidy and the bed was very comfortable. It was worth paying the extra for our own ensuite aa the...

Thank Rosemarie K

184 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (158)
View from Room (2)
Room/Suite (11)
Bathroom (3)
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Dining (5)
Other (123)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (26)
Other (26)


  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Within the stunning Carnarvon Gorge National Park,Takarakka Bush Resort offers camping and accommodation open all year round. Spacious accommodation, powered and unpowered sites. Accessible, Exceptional and Unforgettable. Perfect for a private getaway or bring friends and family. Guided tours, meals, general store and excellent facilities available. Guests enjoy peace and tranquility and vibrancy of life as nature intended it. You’ll need an average of 4- 6 days to explore and relax. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Takarakka Bush Resort

Address: Obriens Road, Cania Gorge National Park, Queensland 4702, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cania Gorge National Park
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Takarakka Bush Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Takarakka Bush Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Takarakka Bush Resort staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Takarakka Bush Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Taken the studio!”
 of 5 bubbles AlexW535, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If possible, book a site away from the creek . The Zamia grove camping area looked good.”
 of 5 bubbles 263traceye, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not know I slept un my own bed.”
 of 5 bubbles 637kubab, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not a hotel.”
  • Sunset
 of 5 bubbles maggief836, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Tent & caravan sites are very close together”
 of 5 bubbles sharony188, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5