We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Castaways Moreton Island

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bulwer
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Castaways Moreton Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 131: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stopped by to have lunch with my friends and the food was amazing! It was very tasty, the portions are huge and it wasn't expensive as we expected. I had the chicken salad and it was delicious. Staff very friendly and the environment is very welcoming. Worth a visit!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabipavesi
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Castaways is a great restaurant/cafe/shop at Bulwer on Moreton Island. The food is well priced and very well prepared and presented. After having the regular menu for the evening meal (which was delicious) we decided to have the family fish and chip platter for lunch the next day. There was more than 4 adults with a decent appetite could eat...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gefton
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Glamping tents perfect for whats needed, and required, hot shower, and great community kitchen. Staff incredibly helpfull and happy, shop supplies and food second to none. And the scones are magnificent....actually every bit of food made there was just superb. Ive already made plans to return, thanks everyone..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wayne R
Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved our 3 nights glamping at Castaways. We found all staff very friendly and also gave good directions for Island sightseeing. The glamping is away from it all . Great place for ship spotting and observing dolphins at play. The tents are very comfortable and camp kitchen was well equipped and clean . We highly recommend a stay at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After Southern Ocean Lodge last month this was always going to be a challenge but we had a new Jeep to test and always knew how Moreton Island was extra special, especially away from the crowded part. Well if you want a low effort break, this is it with boardies & thongs the go & frequent cold showers between beach...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
Wishart
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Glamping on Moreton Island is a unique experience. We loved the "Glamp" kitchen which includes modern equipment and anything you need. A good way to see the real Moreton Island for the first time. A must do fory any adventurer.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrvdyk
Moreton Island ... M, Guest Relations Manager at Castaways Moreton Island, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your positive review - we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The glamping tents are way too expensive. After all, even if it is more comfortable than a normal camping tent, it is still camping for the price of a good hotel... The tents and facilities are clean. The tap water is bore water, and smells like sewage.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marinep887
Moreton Island ... M, Guest Relations Manager at Castaways Moreton Island, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay Marinep887. As you stayed during the high peak period I can understand why you feel they were more expensive but become more reasonable after the 30th Jan (The Australia Day Weekend). We often do specials for the tents combined with ferry transfers (up to 40% off) in the off peak...

Lismore, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Awesome location with spectacular beaches and snorkelling smong the wrecks. The glamping tents were great and the camp kitchen was very adequate. The staff were super friendly and helpful, and go out of their way for you. Resident dog was gorgeous. Beds were super comfy. Tents could do with a table inside and a broom but overall a wonderful experience

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hughesfamily2017
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not only is Moreton Island beautiful with endless beach tracks, lookouts, swimming holes and camping options, it offers great choices of accommodation. We choose to try the Glamping at Castaways and loved it. The food here also was just fantastic. Staff were excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
Moreton Island ... M, Guest Relations Manager at Castaways Moreton Island, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your positive review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

North Lakes, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Gent and bedlinen was very dirty, Dogs running loose begging food,to expensive compared to what you get Found soap and old facecloth in bathroom from former renter, old bloodstain on bed cover ,campere kitchen not kept clean

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank slm2017
Moreton Island ... M, Guest Relations Manager at Castaways Moreton Island, responded to this review

Hi slm2017, thank you first for your response. I'm very disapointed to hear that you had a sub-par experience while staying with us. We take your comments very seriously and I was wondering if you could possibly shoot us an email and elaborate on the major issues that you have highlighted here so we can address them with on on-island...

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (87)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (53)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bulwer
30.9 km away
LaVida on Anzac
LaVida on Anzac
#1 of 4 in Redcliffe
82 reviews
11.8 km away
Tangalooma Island Resort
Tangalooma Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Tangalooma
1,376 reviews
30.6 km away
Oaks Mon Komo
Oaks Mon Komo
#1 of 4 in Redcliffe
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.2 km away
Beach House Bed & Breakfast
30.3 km away
Proximity Waterfront Apartments
21.1 km away
Bribie Waterways Motel
Bribie Waterways Motel
#1 of 2 in Bribie Island
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you love the idea of getting out into the great outdoors but can't stand the creepy crawlies, sandy bed or thought of needing a shovel to go to the toilet, glamping's probably the answer! We've got 9 beautifully furnished tents, complete with a queen size bed, private ensuite and veranda overlooking the giant Moreton Melaleuca trees. When you're glamping, there's no tent to pitch, no sleeping bag to unroll, no fire to build! Glamping is a way to experience the great outdoors without sacrificing luxury. The beach is just a short stroll from your front door (well, tent flap), you can grab a meal at the on-site cafe, cook on the communal barbie in the camp kitchen or just put your feet up and enjoy a glass of wine knowing you're not facing another night of sleeping on a half inflated blow-up! We have a mixture of 2 person and 4 person tents nestled amongst the giant Melaleuca trees of Moreton Island, with pristine beaches 100 metres from your door. A Glamp kitchen is also available for our guests to use, including tea & coffee making facilities & Barbeques. If you are bringing your own 4WD vehicle, Bulwer is a short drive to the Cape Moreton Lighthouse (see the whales in season)Champagne Rock Pools and Honeymoon Bay, which are some of the most spectacular sights on the Island. No 4wd? No problem, we can arrange on Island tours that include snorkelling amongst amazing amounts of beautiful fish at the wrecks and sandboarding down massive sand dunes. Castaways has an on-site restaurant so you'll never go hungry as well as a convenience store for all your holiday essentials. Moreton Island is a secret holiday paradise! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castaways Moreton Island

Address: 100 Moreton St, Bulwer, Moreton Island, Queensland 4025, Australia (Formerly Moreton Island Eco Lodge)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Moreton Island > Bulwer
Price Range: RM444 - RM614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Castaways Moreton Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Handy to have repellant/ candle/coils on hand for the sand flies. Once inside the tent with full screens less of an issue. Beds were comfortable. Some small patches of mould up on the ceiling and around the edge of the shower from water leaks. Overall accomodation and facilities was good. Will return.”
 of 5 bubbles M3759KTandreas, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“as it is glamping it is tent accommadation with ensuite. We had tent 3 which we found to be in a good spot.”
 of 5 bubbles kerryn56, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Tent #1 is near the trampoline, so if you want to be close to the kids this is a good option.”
 of 5 bubbles don11Brisbane, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring own water, food and games/ball for the kids”
 of 5 bubbles frenchiet2014, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Tent 6 was probably the most private. We were in Tent 5 and it was fine. Probably avoid the tent facing the firepit.”
 of 5 bubbles 164kena, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5