We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Te Mahia Bay Resort

TripAdvisorUS$103*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$103*
US$103*
US$103*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Te Mahia Bay Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Te Mahia Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 121: English reviews
Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Reviewed 14 March 2017

It takes a while to get there but it is worth it. Book the Seaview Apartment and enjoy a spacious and comfortable accomodation with a perfect view of the bay. You will even have a complete kitchen, a BBQ and your own washing machine and tumble dryer. The hosts are very friendly and provide you with detailed information regarding options...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Friedemann S
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review

We are so glad the scenic route led you to our magical spot at Te Mahia. We take pride in our beautiful apartments and their location so close to the waters edge and all the conveniences like a home away from home. Safe travels for the rest of your journey and we look forward to hosting you again some time...

Blenheim
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We had visited for a wedding and even though the weather was terrible Te Mahia is a beautiful bay for relaxing and getting away from the city. Since arriving on Friday we were welcome by Jann and Trevor the owners and shown to our room. What a view from the room! Our room is in need of a renovation however...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xlaurzx
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review

We are so pleased that your stay at Te Mahia was wonderful and yes the views are still amazing even with the inclement weather. They say rain on a wedding day is supposed to bring you good luck! We do hope you can come back and visit again soon.

Fayetteville, Arkansas
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We were delighted with the one bedroom cottage at Te Mahia. We had sea views from our bedroom and living area, and tropical forest views from the kitchen. The full kitchen was fully-equipped -- everything we needed for three wonderful nights of cooking in after hiking. The shower was large, the toiletries very nice, and we had a washer and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sophia818
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful stay at Te Mahia, we do hope that you will be able to visit us again at some stage in the future. We like to think that our well equipped kitchens make you feel as though it is a home away from home, so thank you for your lovely comments.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights, and absolutely cannot fault the surrounds, the facilities and the lovely room that we stayed in. We do however have one regret from our stay and to be honest following this, it really did put a dampener on our stay. We asked the woman owner to print off a document for us as I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ajaywar08
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review

This post has already been removed officially once by Trip Advisor because it was found to violate their guidelines. I wish to strongly clarify yet again, that the comments/advice that I offered was not from reading any private documents but from the casual generic conversation I had with her husband in reception. We conversed for a few minutes about her...

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Te Mahia was the 4th night of our Queen Charlotte Track walk. Such a gorgeous area and we were very happy with our rooms. Lovely little cafe to grab a coffee (and a gluten free slice!) complete with a gift shop. Yet another wonderful location that would be good to go back and spend some time at.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dannel
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dannel, Thank you very much for your lovely review and we are so pleased that you had a nice stay as part of your walking adventure on the Queen Charlotte Track. We do hope you can visit again soon and experience more of what Te Mahia has to offer Regards Jann

Switzerland
Reviewed 8 February 2017

The Lodge is right at the waterfront with Stunning Views as from a ship onto the bay and hills. Furniture a bit old and WiFi weak, but very clean with friendly and Helpful staff. Nice Graden. in the store only few Things to Buy. So bring your own, they make a reasonable good Pizza on request.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roland W
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Roland, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, yes we are so lucky to have riparian rights which allows us to build so close to the waters edge, as you have described it is like living on a boat right on the water.

Manukau, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 February 2017

My wife and I recently stayed at this resort for three nights in a sea view apartment. The whole place has a friendly and relaxed feel to it. The staff are terrific, many of the people staying have been there many times before and the view across Kenepuru Sound is outstanding. The apartments we stayed in have a view of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grant P
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Grant, We are thrilled that you had such an awesome stay in the Kenepuru Sounds with us and that you did enjoy our lovely apartments. The historic stately Phoenix palms which were planted in the 1930's always give the resort a real island feel to it and we often get comments on how majestic they are. We are fortunately...

Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Stunning scenery, cute and quirky accommodation. We had a six people sea view unit and it was well appointed with a truly amazing view. So reasonable too. We loved our short stay in paradise. Do take most food in with you though, including dinners. Hosts were wonderful, good coffee too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karla D
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Karla, We are so pleased that you had a lovely stay here at the resort with your family.Yes, having the option of self catering does suit a lot of people especially if you are travelling for a longer period. We are indeed very fortunate to live in a beautiful part of the sounds and we look forward to sharing...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

The outlook from our room was worth the price on its own! Really fabulous location and situation right on the water. The room was just what we needed too - a supremely comfortable double for us and a single each for the two kids - all laid out really nicely in an open space. Because the nearest supermarket is back...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ge0ffl62
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review, we are thrilled that you and the family thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We do hope that you can return soon and once again enjoy the hospitality and the magic of Te Mahia. Regards Jann & Trevor

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2017

1 night just was not enough! Just the most beautiful location. The unit we had was lovely and spacious and clean. The layout was quirky but perfect. Separate room for our son that he loved. Opening out onto the balcony right above the water it was peaceful and perfect - we even braved the water for a swim. Made use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chab186220
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay here with us, we are pleased that you enjoyed the views, your accommodation and of course the beautiful beach and waters of Te Mahia. We are so fortunate to be located right on the water's edge and to be able to share this experience with all our guests. We hope you...

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Mahia
5.8 km away
The Portage Resort Hotel
2.5 km away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
15.4 km away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
8.7 km away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
245 reviews
4.4 km away
Raetihi Lodge
Raetihi Lodge
#7 of 81 in Marlborough Region
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Te Mahia Bay Resort- …” The Place of a Special Happening”… Take the time to savour those special moments that only happen at Te Mahia. Naturally Beautiful…Te Mahia is nestled in the most picturesque secluded bay in the Marlborough Sounds. The perfect place for swimming and other water based activities which include boat launching and moorings as well as kayak hire for our guests.Jann & Trevor offer you a choice of Luxury Seaview Apartments, Spacious Waterfront Motels or Gracious Heritage Units. All of our accommodation styles are fully self catering, specializing in those added personal touches which make us truly unique.We have the pleasure of offering you: A small store for your grocery needs, an on-license for your beverage requirements, a selection of Delectable Frozen Gourmet Meals,Stone Grilled Pizzas,a selection of wonderful coffees and cakes and a delightful array of gift items.Easy access to the Queen Charlotte Track and other scenic bush walks, allow yourself the luxury of time to drift off to sleep with the lapping of the waves and then wake up to the magical call of our resident native birds. Traveling is a breeze… only one hours drive from Picton or 1 1/2 hours from Blenheim, or a convenient 15 mins by water taxi from Picton.Relax in the beautiful peaceful atmosphere at Te Mahia, where we have established beautiful gardens and quaint outdoor barbeque areas for your convenience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Te Mahia Bay Resort

Address: Marlborough Sounds | Kenepuru Sound, Te Mahia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Te Mahia
Price Range: RM491 - RM564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Te Mahia Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Mahia Bay Hotel Picton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Te Mahia Bay Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any, they are all fabulous!”
vomo2i, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask the Owners, as rooms were built at different times. Having a view was great!”
782DebbieW782, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“all rooms have equally fantastic views!”
ritajeff, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The Seaview Apartments are fantatastic”
FriedemannS_13, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Seaview apartments for really modern facilities and oceanfront rooms for bay views.”
GrantP869, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$103* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$103
PricelineUS$103
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates