We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chequers Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Chequers Inn
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

241 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Chequers Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 241: English reviews
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016

I remembered this pub from 30 years ago, when it was excellent. Well, it still is. Lovely decor, wooden floors and a cosy feel. Fine ales and the food is first class. Next time, I come to Peak District, gonna stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeteLucy434
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your great 5 star review..very much appreciated!

Nottingham
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

I love this place staying true to its roots, a wonderful pub next to the road in the way to where ever you may be going! Booked a night away for my birthday for me and my Wife. A basic and clean room which was insulated from the traffic noise, and a very good size. It still retains its character...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank All4the_craic
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

That was a great 5 star review..thank you! Really pleased you enjoyed your birthday stay.

nottingham UK
Reviewed 27 August 2016

This is a first. Called for early evening meal with grandchildren,very disappointed not with the food or the service but the cost ,to be charged full price for grandchildrens food was unfair.I appreciate they each had the burger but no trimmings and 1portion of chips to share,a slight deduction would have saved a bad review,fairness and principle should be considered,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank potter3875
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Apologies that you felt the need to post a poor review. We do not have a specific childrens menu, but we always accommodate where we can with smaller portions of some of the dishes from our menu. It is normal practice to charge accordingly for smaller portions, so are unsure as to why this was not the case with yourselves....

Bakewell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Went with dad for Sunday lunch yesterday, he had the roast beef dinner and had asked for the vegetables to be well done... this message was passed onto the chef but still they arrived on the table very hard (you couldn't get a fork into the brocolli or the carrots) sent it back and after a while the plate arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank quiltinggirls
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Apologies that you were not entirely happy on this occasion. I have discussed your comments at length with our kitchen team so these issues do not occur again. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Friendly, helpful staff. Good menu and selection of wine by the glass. Service excellent although the pub wasn't busy at the time we ate. Nicely cooked and presented food, although the 'twice cooked chips' were hard inside. Fish was good. Puddings also met with approval.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and apologies if you were not quite happy with your chips.

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

We came here as a big group as we were celebrating a family birthday. It was all booked in advance and we needed to pre select food there were so many of us. The food arrived timely, hot and delicious! Couldn't have asked for prettier or better presented dishes! As a restaurant the place looks very much like an old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawnc150
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. You are exactly right...we are a pub!!

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We had a lovely welcome, our host was friendly and helpful as were the rest of the staff. To be honest and I always am I had mixed thoughts about our stay. The room was spotless, towels were really soft, bed comfortable. For me what let it down was it was dated and in need of some TLC. The lighting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1949jackie
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Pleased you singled out our staff for a special mention. We are currently in the process of updating and refurbishing our bedrooms, with 4 now completed and 3 still to happen. I can only assume you had a room which has not yet been refurbished. Unfortunately there is little we...

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Having read the reviews we travelled 45 mins to get here and were greeted by a gentleman who was not at all welcoming and quite short with us. We ordered the charcuterie sharing platter which sounded lovely for £14.95. We were so disappointed in it, 3 pieces of Chorizo, 3 bits of smoked duck, 2 slices of parma ham and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stellina1007
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

We do recall actually recall your visit, as you arrived following a troublesome journey and couldnt find us! Our sharing platter is probably our biggest seller, and have not had a comment of this nature previously regarding quantity. It is intended to be a starter to be followed by a main course, but unfortunately you didnt order anything else. The...

St Helens, Australia
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Excellent Food and Service, very reasonably priced.Very pleasant atmosphere, staff very attentive. Highly recommended. Menu is a combination of Pub Classics as well as innovative dishes, something for everyone, all expertly prepared and presented

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BGT1006
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind comments..delighted you enjoyed your visit.

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Had a great stay overnight and an evening meal! Wonderful atmosphere, staff great and food was delicious, definitely go back. Rooms were very comfortable, spacious and well equipped. Loved our stay, parking easy, just a busy road.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank harryflashman01
ChequersFroggatt, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately, there is little we can do about our proximity to the road. Secondary glazing is installed in all road facing rooms to eliminate as much noise as possible.

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Froggatt
0.0 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
354 reviews
0.0 km away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
340 reviews
0.0 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
0.0 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
0.0 km away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about The Chequers Inn

Address: Froggatt Edge, Froggatt, Peak District National Park S32 3ZJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Froggatt
Price Range: RM381 - RM691 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chequers Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Chequers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chequers Hotel Hope Valley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Chequers Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Chequers Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms appear to face on to the main road should not be much between them”
 of 5 bubbles rasenite, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere, in regard to WiFi it is free but so slow that most downloads abort.”
 of 5 bubbles Robbiejo4866, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“didn't stay in the rooms, just went for lunch”
 of 5 bubbles quiltinggirls, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Insist on the one room that is not on the frontage.”
 of 5 bubbles AdTheLad, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Was fully booked when we went or I would have chosen a larger room”
 of 5 bubbles 774JanC, 31 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay