We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village

Show Prices
#1 of 2 Hotels in Leigh
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

282 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village
See the most recent reviews
Showing 278: English reviews
North west
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Second stay at this quiet hotel. It is great value, clean and easy to find. Unfortunately we did encounter some small issues which I have outlined below: - 1) Room card didn't work, had to get it re-swiped at reception. (helpful maid let us in). 2) Phone line unplugged in room - no idea why! 3) No diet coke or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zorin21
Andrew C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, responded to this review

Zorin21 Thank you for your review and I am pleased to read you are a returning guest. Our room cards are programmed at check in for the individual guest. Being magnetic items such as static in clothing and proximity to mobile phones can sometimes clear the memory. It is frustrating for both the guests and team members. I can assure...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

Very reasonably priced, nice room, comfy bed and good choices at breakfast. Smart foyer. Lovely friendly staff. Quick check in. Good stay. Would recommend and stay again. Would have been nice to have biscuits on the tea tray

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cate p
Andrew C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, responded to this review

Cate p Thank you for your review. Unfortunately biscuits in hotel rooms have become something of a historical gesture. As a brand and not just a hotel, biscuits in rooms has not happened for many years. I really value your comments, I am pleased you found us to be reasonably priced and enjoyed your room. I am bias, but I...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

The hotel is in a poor location and as such not busy. The outcome of this is low staffing levels, I had to wait 5 mins at an empty check in desk for the the duty manager to book me in to them be told there was an issue with my booking? The food on the menu is terrible so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richhague
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, responded to this review

Dear richhague, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience, however, it appears we fell short of our goal on your visit. We would like to apologize for the less than satisfactory check-in experience you had and for not living up...

Newbury UK
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

Booked into a family room for the night as we were going to a birthday party down the road. Often stay the odd night in HI express hotels. This is new and one of the best. Clean , large rooms and an excellent complimentary breakfast . Comfortable bed . Does everything you need and does it well. Would definitely stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fizic
United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2016

Enjoyed our stay here. The room was nice and big enough. The bathroom was large and had a bath with a shower over it. We did have noisy Japanese people in nearby rooms who went in and out banging doors all the time and got up at the crack of dawn too but that wasn't the hotels fault. Would like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheils6
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend at this hotel and it's one of the best "express's" we have ever stayed in. It is just outside Leigh town centre but has ample free parking, rooms are huge and well thought out, cracking shower and huge bed. The hotel looked full over the weekend with Grand National race goers and kids football team but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MooreOnTour
Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

What a fabulous visit! The staff were outstanding, checked our room was ok for us as we are a family, we ordered food st 9pm! The food was great, staff were amazing, I phoned down my order and they called when it was ready! Excellent..... Breakfast great, super range and also made fresh poached eggs even though it was heaving...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeeandLu
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Stayed here overnight as part of a touring group from Glasgow who came down to see a show in Manchester. The hotel itself was lovely; modern, sleek and clean, and all the staff we encountered were really nice. Two negative points: the food wasn't great. For dinner, we had a hot food self-service of soup, pork, turkey, nut roast, vegetables,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian H
Andrew C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, responded to this review

Hi Gillian H Thank you for taking the time to review the experience of your stay with us here in Leigh. I sincerely appreciate your comments. We endeavor to extend a great service from a continuously developing product. We appreciate we may not always achieve our 100% goals, but never the less, this is our aspiration. I am very happy...

Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Stayed here with family group in February, desk staff were extremely accommodating they couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was to everyone's taste. Would stay here again with no hesitation and recommend to all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 806Catherine
Andrew C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, responded to this review

806Catherine Thank you for your kind words, when reading a review like this, it certainly makes all the effort that is put into our daily routine worth it- 100% Team Leigh will certainly love to welcome you back the next time you are in our area. With most sincere regards Andrew

Republic of Ireland
Reviewed 25 March 2016

I stayed here as part of a group that travelled to Manchester to take part in the St. Patrick's day celebrations in Manchester. The rooms are spacious. Breakfast is excellent. The hotel is spotless. However, on the third night of our stay, it emerged that the hotel had not prepared an evening meal for our group and were most unhelpful...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank macsby2
Andrew C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, responded to this review

Dear Macsby2 Thank you for your kind words in relation to the cleanliness of the hotel along with your comments about breakfast, these are sincerely appreciated. I am not sure if you was privy to the exact facts about the evening meal situation. We were informed that your particular group did not require any evening meals on the Sunday, since...

159 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (97)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leigh
2.1 km away
The Greyhound Hotel
The Greyhound Hotel
#2 of 2 in Leigh
412 reviews
4.5 km away
Premier Inn Haydock Hotel
Premier Inn Haydock Hotel
#3 of 21 in Warrington
238 reviews
7.2 km away
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
#1 of 2 in Newton-Le-Willows
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.6 km away
Travelodge Warrington Lowton Hotel
10.3 km away
The Brocket Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stylish Leigh hotel in Sports Village near Manchester and Liverpool. The Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village lies adjacent to state-of-the-art Leigh Sports Village, which offers public recreational facilities and an 10,000-seat sports stadium. Just a short drive from the cities of Manchester, Warrington and Liverpool, and close to Manchester Airport, the hotel is perfect for leisure and business travellers or visiting athletes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village

Address: Sale Way, Leigh WN7 4JY, England (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson Leigh)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Leigh
Price Range: RM283 - RM655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Leigh Hotel Leigh
Leigh Park Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It is fairly quiet so the rooms are all about the same.”
 of 5 bubbles Ambiflex, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“3rd Floor gives you a good view,ask for the stadium view”
 of 5 bubbles johno100, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are quiet”
 of 5 bubbles clivea51, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Take time to enjoy the breakfast before setting out for a long journey”
  • Toilet
  • Lockable safe under the desk area
  • Wash Basin and soap dispenser
  • Tea and Coffee making facilities
  • View from my room onto the hotel car park
  • Integral shower and bath
  • Clothes hanging area
  • Relax in the chair provided in the room
 of 5 bubbles O4659YOandrewm, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms have baths and some have walk-in showers. Choose wisely!”
  • It's not always this quiet
 of 5 bubbles ILP-JP, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5