We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Seven Gables Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Seven Gables Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

378 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Seven Gables Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 378: English reviews
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This Inn is on the National Register of Historical Places and is a great place to stay. My daughter and I loved the breakfast and it was wonderful to get away in the totally enclosed courtyard. We were welcomed into the Inn and Carl registered us, helped us with luggage and parked our car too. I would definitely stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SouthernScorpio
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post a review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The team here takes such pride in their jobs and going above and beyond to help our guests to ensure you feel as if you are at your home away from home. We are thrilled to here you...

Arvada, Colorado
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We were visiting Susan's parents in Clayton, who happen to live within a block of the Seven Gables, to we decided to give it a try. When we arrived, we were immediately given terrific free parking across the street, very convenient. Our bags were whisked off while we checked in. Chocolate chip cookies, too. The lady who checked us in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BritCowboy
Management response:

Thank you for taking time to post your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. The courtyard is a great spot to sit and relax and enjoy our complimentary wine and cheese reception or to take your complimentary breakfast. The courtyard has such a warm and inviting feel that you don't even realize you are in the heart of...

Reviewed 23 June 2012

I did not want to stay downtown St. Louis because we were going to a concert at the nearby Pagaent. I felt like I was staying at a Bavarian village. A great setting, cool rooms, and away from the hustle of downtown.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dovernj
Management response:

Thank you for taking time to post your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Seven Gables Inn is very unique in the St. Louis market. We have kept the old world charm of the hotel and added the modern amenities that our guest deserve to have. The nice thing about Seven Gables Inn is you are centrally located...

Rogers, Arkansas
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This is one of our favorite places to stay. The Seven Gables is beautiful, has a wonderful, quiet courtyard and the room was perfect for the romance my wife and I were looking for. All the staff was so nice and location of the hotel is perfect. This area of Clayton has great restaurants and night life. I strongly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scott m
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that it was the perfect romantic getaway. Seven Gables Inn is such an intimate place with a staff that is here to please our guests. We all take such pride in providing the best customer service and to make you feel as if you are at your home away from home....

Vallejo, California
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I've stayed at the Seven Gables Inn several times because I enjoy the charm, architecture, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable beds, and great location within easy walking distance to many restaurants and sites. There are a few drawbacks - the breakfast fare needs healthier options with fresh, better-quality food, the daily parking fee is high, and there is no elevator....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julianne M
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post your review. Clayton does have very limited parking but the advantage with our hotel is you pay a daily rate and can come and go as much as you would like and you always have the option of utilizing our valet at no additional cost. With your guest room rate the hotel offers...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I travel frequently for business and was getting tired of characterless hotel chains. So, I decided to book the Seven Gables due to charm and proximity to where I had to be. Worst sleep and hotel stay I've had in years. THE GOOD: • It's located in a really quaint, upscale area with lots of nice restaurants, shops and park...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LindsayB10
GablesManager, Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post your review. We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay. We take every guests feedback very serious and look into all concerns. Unfortunately due to the limited space in Clayton parking is very limited but the nice thing regarding our parking here at Seven Gables is the guests can come and go...

iloveshoes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

7 Gables is located in a great suburb of St. Louis, very quant theme & decor. Not really designed for children. The service was above average (staff very nice). HOWEVER, hotel has 3 floors but does NOT have an elevator (we were located on the 3rd fl, getting luggage up & down wasnt fun nor travelling the stairs several times...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rosalyn T
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post your review. The Seven Gables Inn is listed on the National Historic Registry and the goal of the hotel was to keep the charm and history of the building while offering our guests modern amenities. The hotel does have valet/bellman staff on site that is here to assist our guests with parking cars...

Columbia, Missouri
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I was made aware of this lovely inn by way of a groupon, and unable to find a reason to use it, I made sure to make a mental note of this historic inn. So last weekend, when my husband and I booked tickets to The Lumineers concert at the Duck Room, I made sure to book a night at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sam2233
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post your review. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed the hotel. It's always nice to hear from our guests that thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and their visit with us. We are excited that Seven Gables Inn will be your choice of hotel when you are in the area. Its always so nice to...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We booked a room for ourselves, and a block of rooms for our guests, for our wedding last weekend, and we could not be more pleased with our choice. Stacey, Gale, Carl and Kyle were so helpful and accommodating through the booking process, and the wedding weekend. The rooms are historic--but also updated and impeccably clean. The rates were very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank StlTeraGram
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are extremely pleased that everything went so smoothly for you. This is a great hotel with it sizes and layout for group events. Weddings, Reunions, Rtreats, Corporate blocks are all such great groups to host at the hotel. There is just such an intimate feel and setting for events such as yours and you...

atlanta
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I have traveled every week for 14 years. I tend to have to stay in "company negotiated chain" hotels but this week I was able to stay here due to a meeting. All I have to say is UNBELIEVABLE!!! It was just like I was in my own house. The staff (especially Carl, Melvin, sharon, and Andre) were amazing and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rebecca L
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review

Hello Rebecca and thank you for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay, the staff went above and beyond and that you will be back. We all take such pride in our jobs and ensuring the guests are made to feel welcome! Its only with our clients reviews that we can continue to grow and succeed in providing...

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
The Cheshire
#33 of 120 in Saint Louis
867 reviews
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
887 reviews
Grand Center / Midtown
Hotel Ignacio
Hotel Ignacio
#38 of 120 in Saint Louis
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Chase Park Plaza
#31 of 120 in Saint Louis
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 26 North Meramec Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Price Range: RM615 - RM945 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Clayton
Seven Gables Saint Louis
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Seven Gables Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Hastings, Minnesota
4 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Seven Gables Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a third floor room for noise reduction.”
 of 5 bubbles taburfield, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room #111”
 of 5 bubbles Grammy321, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Third floor”
 of 5 bubbles FromAway67, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room far away from the courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles kdp43, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“This is a Historic building and does not have elevators. Request a 1st floor room if stairs are an issue.”
 of 5 bubbles 736ToddP, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5