We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,367 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,355: English reviews
Nesconset, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I am from NY so its hard to compare any city to NY city. Took a drive to the plaza to see the Christmas lights. It was beautiful! We got there early so we can see it light up. It was absolutely breath taking to see the city light up with beautiful Christmas lights. I would recommend to go early... More 

Helpful?
Thank itscandices
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Loved everything about the Intercontinental (except for no free parking and no indoor pool). They upgraded my room at check-in and the room was huge, over-looked the Plaza....absolutely loved it! Kudos Intercontinental!

Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Dennis B, Thanks for staying with us and for your feedback. We're very glad you enjoyed everything, including the complimentary upgrade to a large room with a commanding view of the Country Club Plaza. As is the case with most every hotel in the Plaza area, Crown Center and Downtown, we do charge for parking in our covered garage.... More 

Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The entire staff, from valet and check in to housekeeping and wait staff, did a phenomenal job of taking care of our needs. One person of note was Craig Walter on the Concierges floor. We were a fairly large group with 3 rooms and several younger kids and he was engaged, accommodating, friendly, personable and an all around happy guy.... More 

Helpful?
Thank bisonfan2016
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear bisonfan2016, Thank you for choosing to stay at the InterContinental Kansas City. We're very happy to learn you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and we appreciate you sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We will relay your comments to Craig. Simply put, as you experienced first hand, Craig is the consummate hospitality professional. Through his very high level of... More 

New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our meeting was flawless because of the hotel team members that set up everything, checked in on me often and cheerfully served us! Simo Lamrani and his team - Rachid, Mehdi, Juan Carlos, Jesus, Mafatari. Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank gehring95
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear gehring95, Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Kansas City for your recent meeting, and for sharing your 5-star experience on TripAdvisor. We are extremely fortunate to have an outstanding team of associates in our banquet department who completely understand the concept that service is everything. Please know your comments will be shared with them along with our thanks for... More 

Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My most recent experience with this property was very disappointing. I was traveling through Kansas City and decided to spend the night at the Intercontinental. I contacted the hotel reservation systems, theyput me on hold for 20 minutes and then when they finally came back they made 3 reservations for me instead of 1. I was only looking for one... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brett C
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Brett C, Please accept my apologies for the difficulties you experience with IHG's central reservations department. Because the hotel's staff was not involved in the reservations process, I do not know what caused the confusion, but I am glad it was resolved to your satisfaction. As for the tape on the walls, this was done when the corner bead... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The only reason this review doesn't get a 5-star review is because the rooms could use a makeover, BUT I would still stay here again without question. Great views of The Plaza. Restaurants, shops, etc. right across the street. Beautiful park easily walkable. Nice staff. Very dog friendly. Really nice property.

Helpful?
Thank Donna S
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Donna S, Thank you for your kind words. We're very happy you enjoyed everything and plan on staying here again! The renovation of all guestrooms and corridors begins on January 4. The new look is beautiful and we'll look forward to you experiencing it during your next visit. Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager More 

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

We rented a movie that started to freeze up and called the front desk. Within minutes Sunny was up at our room doing a great job fixing the problem and had it working within minutes! It was a great trip

Helpful?
Thank ddzdavid
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear ddzdavid, Thank you for letting us know you had a great stay with us, and that Sunny was particularly helpful. Sunny does a great job and I know he will appreciate your shout-out. We look forward to welcoming you back! Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager More 

Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Sunny and Jesse were the consummate professionals. The heat in our room wouldn't shut off, so we called maintenance. Sunny and Jesse were in the case within minutes; they quickly diagnosed and fixed our AC unit and they did it with a smile!!! Thanks!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank ljdenney
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear ljdenney, Thank you for letting us know Sunny and Jesse were very helpful in resolving the heat issue in your room. They'll be excited to learn how much you appreciated their responsiveness. Please stay with us again the next time you are in the area! Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a great stay with an amazing view of the country club plaza. There were two concerns that we had, the heat in our room did not work and neither did the Wifi. Jesse came up right away to keep us from freezing and also helped with the wifi. He has even happy to pay for the wifi for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Maria F
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Maria F, Thank you for staying with us and for letting us know your stay was amazing. We'll be sure to let Jesse know how much you appreciated his service. We begin a renovation of all guestrooms and corridors on January 4. We'll be excited for you to experience the new product during your next stay with us! Sincerely,... More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Best hotel we've stayed at in KC! Not only is the location ideal, the hospitality was exceptional from the moment we walked thru the door. A special thank you to Kyle who went above and beyond to make our weekend memorable. Definitely stop by the lounge for a pre or post dinner drink and great live music.

Helpful?
Thank BJH1202
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear BJH1202, Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Kansas City and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We'll be sure to let Kyle know it's the service he extended you that earned the hotel a 5-star rating. The live music in the Oak Bar is featured nightly except Sundays and it is very popular with both hotel guests and the... More 

284 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (243)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
0.1 km away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#11 of 113 in Kansas City
2,044 reviews
5.2 km away
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
0.5 km away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, where you will find impeccable service and all the luxuries you have come to expect from an InterContinental Hotel. Our luxuriously appointed guest rooms and superb meeting facilities are all just steps away from the Country Club Plaza entertainment district. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Address: 401 Ward Parkway, Kansas City, MO 64112
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Price Range: RM737 - RM1,639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kansas City At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Intercontinental
Fairmont Hotel Kansas City
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
Wichita, Kansas
over a year ago
1 month ago
Columbia, Missouri
2 months ago

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for Plaza view”
 of 5 bubbles bisonfan2016, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a good view of the Plaza the higher floors are preferred.”
 of 5 bubbles 511brettc, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Plaza View, Higher Floor”
 of 5 bubbles 389sebastiant, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Great location within the vibrant Plaza district of Kansas City,MO Moments away from Kansas and downtown Kansas City.”
 of 5 bubbles stevek2082016, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If booking a room, look for fitted bottom sheets: with a suite, make sure there's a sofa”
 of 5 bubbles azjayhawks, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay