We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,446 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,433: English reviews
Start your review of InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
 Click to rate
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at this IC, because we had the 2 for 1 Ambassador coupon that we had to use. So the rates here and our time off worked. Our arrival was easy and we were in our room 10 minutes after arrival. I couldn't tell if we had a renovated room. Our room was on the "club floor", so we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank notme2017
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had one night here while on business. The hotel is in final stages of a renovation and I got a renovated room. It's not a complete overhaul, with some bathroom fixtures and electrical outlets still looking conspicuously dated, and the layer of fresh paint applied liberally over the old paint is clear to see, but overall it's a huge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Adam C, Thank you for sharing that you noticed a huge improvement as a result of the renovation. Guest feedback about the things you mentioned have been very positive, including all the charging docks to take care of even the most device dependent traveler. The Country Club Plaza is Kansas City's crown jewel and most desired location. It's a...

Topeka, Kansas
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was clean, and visually appealing. We had an amazing view of the Plaza from our room. The staff was extremely pleasant and very helpful. The room was peaceful and I never heard the neighbors.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hslusser2017
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear hslusser2017, Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. A clean, appealing and quiet room which provides an excellent view, along with a pleasant and helpful staff, is a great recipe for a pleasant stay. Of course, peace and quiet is important also! Please stay with us again the...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

Probably the worst IHG property I have ever stayed at. Was in Kansas City for a short business trip and a wedding. Four reasons: 1) In-room phone does not work (two days in a row after two notifications to staff) 2) Wifi spotty (staff blamed it on construction and re-wiring efforts, which brings me to:) 3) Ongoing daytime construction noise...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank BeNYC8
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear BeNYCB, Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the issues encountered during your recent stay. The challenges with the phone and WiFi were renovation related, and both have been resolved. The smell of fresh paint and new carpet have completely dissipated and the drilling noise is over. Based on guest comments, we are very excited...

Eden Prairie, MN
Reviewed 1 week ago

I loved this hotel. Staff was very accommodating. I loved my room, it was super cozy and comfortable. Everything was fantastic until I got ready to leave and bent down and saw toenail clippings, that weren't mine! If only I hadn't seen that I would have given them a five. I'd suggest some better vacuuming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarynLilly
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear KarynLilly, Thank you for letting us know you loved the hotel, and found our staff to be very accommodating. Our goal is to ensure every guest has a fantastic stay in all regards! Please do accept my apologies for the toenail clipping you found as you were leaving. Obviously, each room is vacuumed daily and every effort is made...

Springfield, Missouri
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel offers exceptional service and amenities! Our granddaughter Sophia loves to stay with us at this hotel. Sophia's first hotel experience was here as an infant and she continues to look forward to each stay. The staff treat us like family, always going the extra mile. Craig, Reuben and Don provide outstanding service! Don arranged for a special celebration...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crizzo13
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear crizzo13, It's very fortunate you are able to enjoy time away from home with your granddaughter, and I'm sure Sophia will forever remember the wonderful memories you are creating! Craig, Reuben and Donyel each play very important roles as part of our dedicated team of concierges. Every effort is made to ensure this unique service in the Kansas City...

Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well, what can I say but ... this was so SAD to see this happening with the new generation taking over (we are in our mid 50's). This USED to be a pretty nice hotel. In fact, I was the poolside cocktail waitress here in the early 80's. It was a Ritz Carlton at one time (after it was The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael6396
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. It is understood that decor is a personal preference and we regret you do not like the new look as enthusiastically as an extremely large majority of our guests. In my eight years at the hotel, this is the first comment ever received about an associate hinting that a gratuity was expected, or...

Independence, Missouri
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a pleasant time at the Intercontinental to celebrate our fifth wedding anniversary. However, several things were affected by renovations. Despite this we will probably return for our 10 year anniversary.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Steve W, Happy belated anniversary and thank you for spending this very special occasion at the hotel. The renovation is at the final stages with all guestrooms & corridors completed, as well as the lobby also. Finishing touches are being made in the new restaurant and bar. Guest feedback on the new look continues to be very favorable, with...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I took a trip to KC this past weekend to have our first short trip away without our new born. We've stayed at the IC at the Plaza on a few different occasions, and one of our favorite aspects was the "classic charm" and feel the hotel had. Though, with our recent stay we'll not be staying...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ClintCad
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear ClintCad, Thank you for you comprehensive review and feedback. We appreciate you letting us know you really enjoyed the service from Sunny and our valet team. Service is everything and guests tell us daily that our staff in all departments are very friendly and professional. Please do accept my apologies for the issues you experienced as a result of...

El Dorado
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Intercontinental Hotel on the Plaza is a great location for a fun girl's weekend in Kansas City. We stayed on the Concierge floors (10 & 11). The renovations in the hotel are almost completed except for some new furniture and art work (that's what we were told). Craig in the Concierge lounge was VERY HELPFUL with reservations, special coupons...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wdouglass
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear wdouglass, Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Kansas City and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It is always rewarding to receive a 5-star rating. Our dedicated team of professional concierges go to great lengths every day to ensure the InterContinental Concierge Experience is memorable as a result of many valued adds and a high level of personalized...

303 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (262)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 km away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
5.0 km away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#10 of 108 in Kansas City
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#20 of 108 in Kansas City
582 reviews
0.5 km away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
1.2 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Oak Room
The Oak Room
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, where you will find impeccable service and all the luxuries you have come to expect from an InterContinental Hotel. Our luxuriously appointed guest rooms and superb meeting facilities are all just steps away from the Country Club Plaza entertainment district. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Address: 401 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2102
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Price Range: RM889 - RM1,417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kansas City At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Intercontinental
Fairmont Hotel Kansas City
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with Plaza view.”
notme2017, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“1 bedroom suite was great”
KarynLilly, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Area used to be nice but now a bit ghetto-ish”
michael6396, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Concierge floor facing the Plaza”
wdouglass, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ask for the north view, into the plaza mall”
vbroto, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5