We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

InterContinentalUS$172*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,471 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,458: English reviews
Albany, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a wonderful time, the rooms were perfect, quite, clean spacious and the service was great. The concierge floor was well worth the extra price and Craig Walter, the concierge went out of his way to be accomodating and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank placova
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear placova, Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Kansas City and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We always value and appreciate a 5-star rating. Craig and our team of concierges go out of their way to provide a level of personalized service that makes it very easy to see value in the rather nominal fee to upgrade to the...

Bismarck, North Dakota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just wrapping up the day when I accidentally dropped a bottle of nail polish shattering on the beautiful new tile flooring in my room. Called the front desk immediately (let's get this stuff up while its still wet, right?). I was transferred where I told my story a second time. 20 minutes later, a man was at my door holding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mandananne
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear mandananne, Thank you for letting us know Larika was of such help during your visit. She does a great job and we'll share your comments with her. We have the necessary supplies to remove most every spill, and the polish was completely removed as soon as you checked out. Our housekeeping staff was reluctant to use the polish cleaner...

Redwood City, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I would have given them five stars, but the hotel was under rennovation and there were a few problems which I assume will be fixed when they have completed their work. Food was good but not great (the main restaurant is under rennovation). Great view from their rooftop bar. WiFi was a bit spotty, but again we were in basement...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paneb
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear paneb, Thank you for your feedback. Your comments about our staff being very welcoming, polite and helpful will be shared with the entire team. It's great that you liked your spacious guestroom. The fact that all rooms were recently updated makes the in-room environment very comfortable and relaxing. The renovation of the restaurant will be completed in the next...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The new renovations looked awesome! We had an amazing view of the Plaza from the room. The room was very spacious and clean. The bed was super comfy and there was plenty of room for two people. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taylor M
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Taylor M, Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Kansas City during your recent visit to the area. We appreciate you letting everyone know how much you like the new decor, and we invite you to stay with us again the next time your travels return you to our great city! Sincerely, Don Breckenridge General Manager

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our check-in started off really well at the Intercontinental in Kansas City at the Plaza, but quickly went downhill with services. The bellman couldn't been more helpful and our room upgrade ushered us in to a wonderful one bedroom suite. The hotel is currently going through renovations and our room was recently renovated with a perfectly comfortable bed. The TV...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amoptbddwn
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear amoptbddwn, Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you letting everyone know your expectations were met with the check-in process, the service from the bell staff, the wonderful one bedroom suite and the comfort of the bed. So you know, the remote batteries are not the rechargeable type, so our staff is trained to change out...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We stayed at this IC, because we had the 2 for 1 Ambassador coupon that we had to use. So the rates here and our time off worked. Our arrival was easy and we were in our room 10 minutes after arrival. I couldn't tell if we had a renovated room. Our room was on the "club floor", so we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank notme2017
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear notme2017, Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you letting us know how much you enjoyed the easy check-in process, the clean room, the quality of food and service in the Concierge's Lounge, and the hotel's premier location in the heart of Kansas City's crown jewel, the Country Club Plaza. Your comments about children in the the Concierge's Lounge...

Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

I had one night here while on business. The hotel is in final stages of a renovation and I got a renovated room. It's not a complete overhaul, with some bathroom fixtures and electrical outlets still looking conspicuously dated, and the layer of fresh paint applied liberally over the old paint is clear to see, but overall it's a huge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Adam C, Thank you for sharing that you noticed a huge improvement as a result of the renovation. Guest feedback about the things you mentioned have been very positive, including all the charging docks to take care of even the most device dependent traveler. The Country Club Plaza is Kansas City's crown jewel and most desired location. It's a...

Topeka, Kansas
Reviewed 15 April 2017

The room was clean, and visually appealing. We had an amazing view of the Plaza from our room. The staff was extremely pleasant and very helpful. The room was peaceful and I never heard the neighbors.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hslusser2017
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear hslusser2017, Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. A clean, appealing and quiet room which provides an excellent view, along with a pleasant and helpful staff, is a great recipe for a pleasant stay. Of course, peace and quiet is important also! Please stay with us again the...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Probably the worst IHG property I have ever stayed at. Was in Kansas City for a short business trip and a wedding. Four reasons: 1) In-room phone does not work (two days in a row after two notifications to staff) 2) Wifi spotty (staff blamed it on construction and re-wiring efforts, which brings me to:) 3) Ongoing daytime construction noise...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank BeNYC8
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear BeNYCB, Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the issues encountered during your recent stay. The challenges with the phone and WiFi were renovation related, and both have been resolved. The smell of fresh paint and new carpet have completely dissipated and the drilling noise is over. Based on guest comments, we are very excited...

Eden Prairie, MN
Reviewed 12 April 2017

I loved this hotel. Staff was very accommodating. I loved my room, it was super cozy and comfortable. Everything was fantastic until I got ready to leave and bent down and saw toenail clippings, that weren't mine! If only I hadn't seen that I would have given them a five. I'd suggest some better vacuuming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarynLilly
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this review

Dear KarynLilly, Thank you for letting us know you loved the hotel, and found our staff to be very accommodating. Our goal is to ensure every guest has a fantastic stay in all regards! Please do accept my apologies for the toenail clipping you found as you were leaving. Obviously, each room is vacuumed daily and every effort is made...

334 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (292)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (43)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (100)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 km away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.5 km away
The Fontaine
The Fontaine
#3 of 109 in Kansas City
1,114 reviews
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
The Westin Crown Center
The Westin Crown Center
#11 of 109 in Kansas City
2,133 reviews
1.3 km away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#23 of 109 in Kansas City
593 reviews
0.5 km away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Oak Room
The Oak Room
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, where you will find impeccable service and all the luxuries you have come to expect from an InterContinental Hotel. Our luxuriously appointed guest rooms and superb meeting facilities are all just steps away from the Country Club Plaza entertainment district. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza

Address: 401 Ward Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112-2102
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Price Range: RM757 - RM1,410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kansas City At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Intercontinental
Fairmont Hotel Kansas City
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a view of the Plaza.”
Txguy7527, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Spring for concierge floor room with balcony”
ozarksash, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Plaza view is the best.”
76jayhawk, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on Plaza side have good view. Try to stay at 11th floor with concierge services.”
ShubhKush, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 735 had a lot of noise from some kind of mechanical device”
59AnnaP59, 5 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
InterContinental
US$172* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$340
Expedia.comUS$172
Hotels.comUS$172
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates