We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Colosseum Luxury Hotel

Agoda.comUS$84*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$132*
US$84*
Great Deal
US$124*
US$123*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Colosseum Luxury Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 330: English reviews
Start your review of Colosseum Luxury Hotel
 Click to rate
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Colosseum is a great hotel especially for business travel if the location suits you, service very friendly in a quiet area within walking distance from the century city shopping mall . The small kitchenette is great if you don't feel like going out for dinner

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank LIEZLPRUTTON
Kyle D, Marketing Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Liezl Many thanks for taking the time to review. We are elated you had a great stay and we sincerely do appreciate the feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Cape Town. Keep well and travel safe,

Cape Town, Century City
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good service but a bit far from city activities. Hotel cab costs a lot to use. Used uber service mostly. Paid hotel cab driver cash for a drive to city waterfront and even though it was mentioned in the hotel log book and reported to the manager, the manager failed to take any action even though she sighted my receipt.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 300manil
Kyle D, Marketing Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mani Many thanks for taking the time to review. We really do appreciate the feedback and we thank you for the 4* rating. Next time we hope we can make it 5*. That being said, could you please elaborate on the interaction you had with the cab driver and what action was not reported? Was he/she the hotel's private...

Cape Town, Century City
Reviewed 1 week ago

Really great hotel with good location between the airport and waterfront. Comfortable beds and spacious rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. If you hire a car secure parking is complimentary and WIFI is uncapped! Almost next door to the Canal Walk shopping mall with restaurants and lots of shopping.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank D8348OGjenniferm
Kyle D, Marketing Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jennifer Many thanks for taking the time to review. We are elated you had a great stay and we sincerely do appreciate the feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Cape Town. Keep well and travel safe,

Clayton, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

3 Nights and 4 days with no air condition is our luxury experience at this hotel. The air condition in our room never worked. We told the porter when we checked in. We told the reception desk 3 or 4 times, told house keeping. No response. We had to get ugly and ask for a supervisor before she finally tried...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaybO8889OT
Kyle D, Marketing Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jay Many thanks for providing us with feedback. All reviews, both positive and negative are discussed in management meetings to better our service and product offering. The fact that your request for aircon was not resolved sooner is unacceptable and will be investigated further. Please can you send your contact details to kyle@singergroup.co.za so we can be in touch...

George, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very service oriented. The Disney on Ice crew were staying at the hotel and the noise was really loud and rowdy. We were bumped up to the Penthouse and had peace and quiet. Rooms very well laid out and luxurious. Breakfast was very good with a great selection from cereals, to hot and cold options. Very close to Canal Walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine A
Kyle D, Marketing Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Elaine Many thanks for taking the time to review. We are glad we could remedy your initial experience and we are very thankful for the 5* review. We sincerely do appreciate the feedback and look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Cape Town. Keep well and travel safe,

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Perfect location of this wonderful hotel. Really impressed by the friendly staff that ensured I had a truly memorable stay! Beautiful spacious rooms that include a lounge area as well as a kitchenette!! Absolutely perfect!! Definitely recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 786wr
Kyle D, Marketing Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this review

Wow, many thanks for the fantastic feedback - the staff really thrive on receiving 5* reviews and we will be sure to commend the team. Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back. Keep well and travel safe,

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Big and spacious rooms, great views of the table mountain, excellent service. It's a bit far from downtown/ waterfront but it's worth staying. Close to canal walk mall. Quiet neighborhood. Highly recommended to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rahul S
Kyle D, Marketing Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Rahul Many thanks for the great feedback and the recommendation! We are elated you had a 5* stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Keep well and travel safe.

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very good hotel Our room was in a style of studio with shower and bath Very quality sheets and bad, fine breakfast Complimentary safe parking Our clothes got wet and they did not charge for drying them Free but slow wifi

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oferta10
Kyle D, Marketing Manager at Colosseum Luxury Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Many thanks for taking the time to review. We are elated you had a great stay at the Colosseum Luxury Hotel. We always try go above and beyond when it comes to guest satisfaction, and we are glad this was no exception. We did monitor the slow Wi-Fi that you experienced as it came as quite a surprise...

Cape Town, Century City
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It is a great accommodation. Very clean and very user friendly. The good is great and tasty. Rooms are clean. The location is very close to everything. The only challenge was the wardrobe, there is not enough space to fit bags or hang clothes. We had to leave our clothes in the bags and could not hang our jacket because...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Retha M
New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

One of the best hotels I have stayed at. I would go back in a heart beat. The suites are pure luxury and great choice of restaurants and Woolworths just outside. Great place to stay with family or on business

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CeeT25

123 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Century City
0.2 km away
Cape Town Marriott Hotel Crystal Towers
6.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
2.2 km away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Island Club Hotel & Apartments
0.2 km away
Century City Hotel
Century City Hotel
#3 of 4 in Century City
54 reviews
8.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Colosseum Luxury Hotel, Cape Town's finest urban luxury hotel, occupies a prime position in Century City, just ten minutes from the city center, the world famous V&A Waterfront and 15km from the airport.Accommodation comprising of 68 spacious suites, with a choice of Deluxe, Executive Suites and Presidential Penthouses. All suites are fully air-conditioned, with two flat screen satellite LCD TVs, lounge and kitchenette with high quality appliances. Complimentary high-speed wireless internet connectivity is available throughout. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Colosseum Luxury Hotel

Address: Corner of Century Way and Century Boulevard, Century City 7441, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Colosseum)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Century City
Price Range: RM469 - RM843 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colosseum Luxury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colosseum Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Colosseum Luxury Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Colosseum Luxury Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are good. It depends on personal preference (like noise)”
ElaineP961, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“our room was fine”
oferta10, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“South side rooms have an awesome views”
theodoreln, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The suites are WORTH IT.”
isafabregas, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Some units doesn't have a tub, be sure to specify that if you like me like to soak in your own dirt.”
scarletmat, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$84* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$124
Booking.comUS$123
TripAdvisorUS$84
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates