We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mark Twain Landing

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monroe City
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Mark Twain Landing
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 93: English reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

I was very disappointed with the life guards and the service we received while there. A life guard told a kid not mine that he was a liar. Also life guards were to busy flirting with girls to notice unexceptable behavior going on around him. Over all very disappointed

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Ashley D
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Mark Twain Landing, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review Ashley. We definitely want to make sure our lifeguards are providing the best possible service to our guests and paying attention at all times to the guests who are in the pool or on the slides. We have passed along your feedback to our management team who will address...

Fulton, United States
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Upon arrival last night, there was a sign warning guests that the facility is under a boil order (they don't tell you this when you make your reservation), when we asked staff about it they nonchalantly blew it off and stated they don't worry about it. Staff are very abrasive and brash. We checked into our bungalow to find hairballs...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Angela W
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Mark Twain Landing, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the area. During the boil alert, which has since been resolved, we did our best to reach as many guests as possible prior to their arrival. Please accept our apologies that we were not able to get ahold of...

Reviewed 30 July 2016

This place could be great but is in desperate need of upkeep and staff communication. We were not advised of a boil water warning which we felt was a serious health risk to us! We were hooked up to the contaminated water and are taking a tank home with us unfortunately. Thank goodness we found out by accident before drinking...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Judy B
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Mark Twain Landing, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review Judy, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the area. During the period we had a boil alert, we did our best to reach out to as many guests as possible prior to their arrival. Please accept our apologies that we were not able to get...

Fulton, Missouri
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We camped over the 4th of July weekend. While there was a lot of rain, our campsite held up well. We did not have a fire pit, but our friends did. Part of our group stayed in one of the cabins and had to call the front office due to ants invading the space. But, Mark Twain did come and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tbirdmom
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Mark Twain Landing, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us as a loyal guest for so many years. We definitely want to make sure we are improving the experience of our campers every year and greatly appreciate your feedback. We have passed along your comments to our management team and will do our best...

Bratt, Florida
Reviewed 7 July 2016

The online booking stinks and it is impossible to reach anyone by phone. The check in was very slow, mostly because there was a couple planning a future trip that didn't know when they wanted to travel or which spot they wanted to reserve and the woman waited on all their dithering before checking anyone else in. I was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kmaFL
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Mark Twain Landing, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the area. Please accept our apologies that you were not satisfied during your recent visit as we definitely want to make sure all of our guests are happy. We will pass along your comments to our management team so...

Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

I would recommend this camp ground. We took our three kids and everyone had a blast. The bungalow's were clean and we had plenty of room. The customer service was amasing. All the staff was very pleasant. The landing was great. The water was not green. Park was clean. It was busy but not supper packed. The campground was beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jess C
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Mark Twain Landing, responded to this review

It was our pleasure, Jess! We are so glad you enjoyed your bungalow, our grounds, and that our staff was friendly and helpful for you! Thank you for your great review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 6 July 2016

The reservation application stinks.Could not get a hold of reservations directly..Did not know about my reservations for 5 days.They said it was my credit card.It is paid off and has $8,000 credit limit.Reservation(book your site ) said it was the resorts fault and when I called 3 times did nit get back to me on the phone number I told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelew284
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Mark Twain Landing, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent visit to the area. Please accept our apologies for the difficulties you had during the reservations process as we definitely want this to go as smoothly as possible. We have passed along your feedback to our management team for review and...

Waverly, Iowa
Reviewed 5 July 2016

nice campground. we visited during the hottest days of June. the kids had a great time in the adjacent water park. there is an extra fee for the water park, but they offer a discount to campers. not much for a playground. they do have one newer structure that the kids can crawl around in. our site had a cement...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 232trvl
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Mark Twain Landing, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review! We are glad you and your family had a great time, and enjoyed your campsite, our facilities, and the water park. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

Your manager of the campgrounds is rude, unprofessional and very disrespectful. Upon arrival we found out that we weren't allowed to have a pet at the cabin we had originally booked and when we asked to have a pet friendly cabin she proceeded to started yelling at us and stating how we should of looked up the pet policy on...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank eanelson8
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Mark Twain Landing, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent trip to the area. Unfortunately not all of our cabins are pet-friendly, and if you are traveling with a pet, our website does state you must specifically request one. For a variety of reasons, including the allergies of other guests, we...

Marengo, Iowa
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

We arrived and had our puppy that does not weigh over 1 lb. we had not, unfortunately, booked a pet friendly cabin. However, when we tried to view the pet policy it would not come up on our mobile devices. Immediately our fault until it wouldn't come up on the managers device. She immediately started yelling at us and informing...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Mindy C
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Mark Twain Landing, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for staying with us during your recent trip to the area. Unfortunately not all of our cabins are pet-friendly, and if you are traveling with a pet, our website does state you must specifically request one. For a variety of reasons, including the allergies of other guests, we...

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monroe City
26.0 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 10 in Hannibal
269 reviews
26.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hannibal
25.9 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Hannibal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.1 km away
BEST WESTERN On The River
BEST WESTERN On The River
#2 of 10 in Hannibal
637 reviews
7.0 km away
Kennedys Red Barn Inn
Kennedys Red Barn Inn
#1 of 1 in Perry
2 reviews
1.3 km away
No photo provided
Harbor Inn
#1 of 3 in Monroe City
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Mark Twain Landing

Address: 42819 Landing Ln, Monroe City, MO 63456-2978
Region: United States > Missouri > Monroe City
Number of rooms: 29
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mark Twain Landing staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you get a cabin or bungalow, get one with street light so you aren't blinded by it at night. However, the WiFi has a very weak signal.”
 of 5 bubbles angelaw28, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We camped and did not have a room.”
 of 5 bubbles Tbirdmom, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“we were in the motel ,was late getting 4 rth of July reservations. Do not know about other lodging at resort.”
 of 5 bubbles michelew284, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“They blame campers for internet issues, but with only 2 other campers in park still less speed than old dialup.”
 of 5 bubbles 804bobs804, 29 Sep 2015 | Read review
“If you have a larger RV they do have a limited number of drive through sites at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles C7447ZZmarkc, 3 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5