We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dude Rancher Lodge

Expedia.comUS$96*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Dude Rancher Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

274 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Dude Rancher Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 270: English reviews
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

So I decided on this place after reading multiple reviews. The lady wasn't in the office when I came in, but another guest who had been staying informed me that she would be back in a moment. In as nice a way as I could expect from a homegrown New Yorker.😉 Very quick, easy check in and smooth sailing. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
Todd G, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for staying with us and giving us a great review in spite of the woman who was not having a great time as a guest. We understand what you are saying and did manage to rectify the problem. We hope you come back again and have coffee with us, and enjoy a peaceful night...

Williston
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for a night over the Holiday weekend. We came into town for a family emergency, and decided to catch some sleep here. The A/C units weren't working, and we were given this tiny fan at the front desk. We finally had to move rooms to get something cooler on the ground floor. We ended up staying up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
Todd G, General Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, First I would like to thank you for staying with us. We do apologize for the discomfort you experienced. The weather was extremely unseasonably warm, the a/c did not keep up with the onset of the heat Billings was having. We found the problem and it has been taken care of. We do hope you stay again and feel...

Pacific Northwest
Reviewed 10 July 2016

We were visiting friends who recommended this motel since they'd stayed there several times years ago. Well, not a single thing in our room has changed since circa 1970 and I don't mean that in a good way. The bath and bed linens were clean. That is the single positive thing I can say. The towels were worn threadbare and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank k8b51
Todd G, General Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your review. We will work to take steps in rectifying your comments. Hope the rest of your trip was good.

Cary, North Carolina
Reviewed 26 June 2016

I wanted to like it, but it's too worn to do so. The old motel smell hits you as you enter your room. Other than the lobby, nothing appealing about it. At $110 a night; its not worth it. Outside, nothing but asphalt.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
Todd G, General Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Hello first thank you for initially making your reservations with us. We apologize your stay was not pleasant for you. Unfortunately, it is a courtyard parking, but I understand what you are saying, and we are looking into making a more pleasant view. I do hope the rest of your trip went well.

Pinson
Reviewed 23 June 2016

I decide on my road trip to Glacier National to stop and stay in old motel from the past - this motel was vintage 60`s style -old western style decor in downtown - It was very nice, clean rooms with recent re-models and amenities touch on the upscale side as in soaps etc.-- nice bed and quiet - also in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ExecChef
Todd G, General Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us here at the Dude Rancher Lodge. What a great review, we truly appreciate. Very happy you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed your breakfast in our Stirrup Cafe. I will make sure to tell the staff of your pleasant time with us. Glacier National Park, what a beautiful wonderful place to be your...

Birmingham, AL
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Nice place to stay. Spacious quiet room. Park in the court yard for more security. Discount breakfast is a nice touch. We did not stay for breakfast. Not to far to wonderful brew pubs (couple of blocks) for great food and drinks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Buggett55
Todd G, General Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and writing a very pleasant review. We always do our best to make the stay for our guests a positive time. We are in a prime location for those who like to visit great brew pubs. We would love to have you stay with us again. Again, thank you!

Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately for us we fell victim to misleading reviews and pictures. Carpets are stained and dirty, decor what decor, bathrooms here just look from the hippie era, no elevator, concrete walls(in our room 107) inefficient ventilation, homeless roaming the street nearby, no near restaurants, no queen beds, I guess I'm use to a hotel giving you a feeling of relaxation....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darren L
Todd G, Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for writing because we want to know of any concerns and be able to improve the guests experience at our property. Hope the rest of your trip went well.

Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

Less than one star. POOR and TERRIBLE all the way around. They booked us a room originally with two queen beds and a kitchenette. Then they said they gave to a person who was staying an extended stay because they wanted to stay longer. How RUDE!! I am furious! Big deal they gave us free meals for me and my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah L
Todd G, Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for writing. Unfortunately the extended stay guests were extended for another few weeks. We did try to call to let you know ahead of time, unfortunately the phone number provided did not work. Sorry you didn't like Billings, however, Billings, MT has been voted the number 1 city to visit in all of the U.S. cities. For some...

Altoona, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

I stayed here one night as a location between my destinations. I arrived a little later in the evening and the staff was SO nice. The woman at the front desk was very personable and talked with me for a couple of minutes. The cook of their restaurant actually helped me figure out where I was going because I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiersten O
duderancher, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for the review. I am so happy that you had a good stay with us. Yes, we do have wonderful staff and they love to help with our guests. We look forward to you returning for a visit with us.

San Diego, California
Reviewed 1 June 2016

The motel was unexpectedly clean for an older establishment. The location was great for any business downtown Billings. It was quiet and the front staff were very friendly and helpful. Very glad they accept pets, without any hassles and for a nominal charge. Will definitely stay here again when in Billings on business.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
Todd G, Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words, and we will be looking forward to seeing you again!

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Billings hotels
0.4 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Billings
0.4 km away
Riversage Billings Inn
Riversage Billings Inn
#20 of 51 in Billings
205 reviews
0.5 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Billings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#8 of 51 in Billings
383 reviews
1.0 km away
Hilltop Inn by Riversage
Hilltop Inn by Riversage
#27 of 51 in Billings
118 reviews
3.9 km away
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
#6 of 51 in Billings
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Dude Rancher Lodge is an historic downtown Billings hotel. We are proud to be listed in the National Register of Historic Places, which is America’s official list of important properties that provide a valuable link to the past and have been deemed worthy of preservation. Built in 1949, our hotel near downtown Billings is a rustic ranch that features weeping brick mortar and full-length porches. Our interior is designed with knotty pine paneling, custom-built western-style furnishings, decorative lampshades and carpeting that is adorned with the brands of local ranchers who originally invested in the property. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dude Rancher Lodge

Address: 415 N 29th St, Billings, MT 59101-1245
Region: United States > Montana > Billings
Price Range: RM376 - RM467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dude Rancher Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Dude Rancher Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dude Rancher Hotel Billings
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dude Rancher Lodge staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Dude Rancher Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“great place to spend night if your on bikes( enclosed court yard.) or was then.”
rainer93, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“the ground floor rooms with outside access are a godsend”
douglasj785, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor, if stairs are a challenge.”
r0bertfb, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try for a room near the front desk, the ones near the back are like a maze to find the restaurant.”
PHD85, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 226 is haunted so if you're into that sort of thing...”
971jaclynp, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$96* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$96
PricelineUS$99
Booking.comUS$99
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates