We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn

Booking.comUS$76*
View Deal
#9 of 15 Hotels in Butte
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 200: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We found the Finlen on route to Glacier from Yellowstone and opted for the Motor Inn due to the convenience; we could park right in front of the room and be in and out quick. The 14 hours we did stay in Butte were full of historical architecture, interesting joints to eat and drink, and a huge copper mine. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug1155
Frank T, Manager at Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! We are very fortunate to be located just about half way between Glacier and Yellowstone National Parks. We are glad that you found us and were able to explore Butte during your short visit! We hope to see you again, thank you for your business!

Spokane, Washington
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We enjoyed staying at this classic hotel. However, the bed left a lot to be desired. It was too soft, swayed with each movement of myself or my wife. The noisy street outside was a distraction at 2am with motorcycles and loud drinkers from the Acoma bar. Glad we stayed but would not do it again at $87.74.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scpousncb
Frank T, Manager at Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay. The street noise can certainly be a nuisance in the uptown area, it is something that we are actively addressing with our community leaders. We appreciate your review as it lets us know where we can be improving our guest's experiences...

Ogden, Utah
Reviewed 8 September 2016

This is a old historic hotel in excellent condition, service was great having coffee available each morning. Rooms are very inexpensive We had a dbl room with two bedroom & two bathrooms, great when 4 adults are traveling together . This was our 2nd trip this year, enjoyed the stay at the Finlen in May so we decided to return...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RogerK1939
Frank T, Manager at Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave us a review! Butte does have some fantastic local restaurants, the Park and Main Cafe in the basement of the Metals Bank building is a definite local favorite for breakfast. We are so glad that you were able to stay with us a couple of times this summer,...

Spokane, Washington
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

I'm so glad we spent a long weekend at this historic hotel. I look forward to my next stay. It was affordable, comfortable, centrally located and the staff made the Finlen feel like our home away from home. We were in Butte for a reunion. When I made the reservation I'd asked for a double room that was easily accessible...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 648ca
Frank T, Front Office Manager at Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your warm sentiments to Mary, Frank and Jim. I will let all of our staff know how much you enjoyed your stay! Please come stay with us again, we look forward to your return! Thank you, Sandra,...

Zephyr Cove, Nevada
Reviewed 25 August 2016

The Finlen Hotel is an excellent place to stay and a great value. Why stay at a chain motel down on the Interstate when you can stay in historic Uptown Butte in a historic hotel? and at a much better price?? Great location. Very well maintained. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brett T
Frank T, Front Office Manager at Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn, responded to this review

Brett, Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your business.

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Keep in mind that this is a historic property, and that when you stay at the Finlen you get that experience. The rooms are fine, and they have some type of portable air conditioning units that actually work pretty well. But the furnishings are plain, and the bathroom is only slightly updated. They offer complimentary tea and coffee in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alethea G
Frank T, Manager at Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, we truly appreciate your business and your feedback!

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights and I was so looking forward to visiting Butte, as part of an overall 3 week trip to Montana and Wyoming. However, the first person we met in Butte was a very poor ambassador for her town. The receptionist in this hotel was the rudest, sourest hotel receptionist that I have ever encountered. She...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JillLaois
Frank T, Manager at Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn, responded to this review

Jill, Again, we apologize for your unpleasant experience at the Finlen as we said in response to your Booking.com review we have went over our customer service with the whole team and your issues were brought up specifically. We are glad that you did enjoy your visit to Butte, we have wonderful local bars and restaurants just within walking distance...

Richmond, VA, USA
Reviewed 14 August 2016

We loved the downstairs of the old elegant hotel and enjoyed and evening playing cards in the lobby area. We had a suite with two separate rooms and two baths, but there was no door between the two rooms. The staff at the desk were very helpful and recommended the Uptown Cafe just down the street, which was a delight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank By_His_Grace
Frank T, Manager at Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay!

Reviewed 6 August 2016

We read up on the reviews and were happy with both the affordability and the experience of staying in the historic hotel. My kids were fascinated with the suite-the two rooms together, the water closet, the grandiose nature of the hotel and spacious accommodations in the suite. If you love retro styles and historical aspects combined with modern accommodations-our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
cincinnati
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Our son in nearby Deer Lodge suggested this historic hotel and we were pleased he did. Despite prior reviews on Tripadvisor, the beds are now comfortable. Prices are remarkably inexpensive. The foyer is magnificently restored. Coffee is all that is available in the hotel in the morning, but a short walk to the Park and Main Cafe or the BS...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CintiKidCincinnati
Frank T, Manager at Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and also enjoyed breakfast from some of our local restaurants. We hope to see you again soon!

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Butte hotels
4.1 km away
Best Western Plus Butte Plaza Inn
4.7 km away
Hampton Inn Butte
Hampton Inn Butte
#1 of 15 in Butte
502 reviews
3.8 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#13 of 15 in Butte
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Butte
0.2 km away
Motel 6 Butte - Historic City Center
3.7 km away
Comfort Inn of Butte
Comfort Inn of Butte
#4 of 15 in Butte
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Finlen is situated in the heart of uptown Butte near dozens of shopping and dining experiences, museums telling the tale of the city's rich and vibrant past, galleries expressing the local culture, and antique shops to own your piece of history. A truly unique and fun experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn

Address: 100 E Broadway St, Butte, MT 59701-9351
Region: United States > Montana > Butte
Price Range: RM345 - RM396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finlen Hotel And Motor Butte
Finlen Hotel Butte
Finlen Hotel And Motor Inn Butte, Montana
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Butte
#4 Family Hotel in Butte
#4 Romantic Hotel in Butte
#5 Business Hotel in Butte
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Phoenix, Arizona
3 months ago
Belgrade, Montana
Spokane, Washington
11 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Finlen Hotel and Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a suite :-)”
seaweed82414, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room away from the street.”
mlc2345119, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for old hotel back side to get full experience of this classic.”
T9563ASmikeh, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“motel rooms are very convenient for loading unloading and on ground level”
Travelbug1155, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing South”
scpousncb, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$76* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$76
PricelineUS$76
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates