We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel

Show Prices
#1 of 22 Hotels in Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

803 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 790: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

I am torn between whether I should write a bad or good review, so I will do both. Good Points: Very clean, upscale property with attached restaurant and walking distance to downtown and Carroll College. Bad Points: Two staff members were exceptionally rude and one was not knowledgeable about the property and location of certain amenities. I am not normally... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Marti B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning - You did express that you were feeling better about the situation after our conversation. The reviews on this page are genuine - we so rarely receive complaints regarding our staff. I did apologize as we just seemed to trip over ourselves during your stay. You have my contact information and we would hope you would consider giving... More 

1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2016

The location of the Best Western Great Northern Hotel is perfect. It is within walking distance of the movie theater, the Carousel, the Brewhouse (a great burger/beer restaurant), and is also near Carroll College and many local shops. The rooms are very nice and the beds are very comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Pamela N
Marti B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pamela - thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is our pleasure to be located in the heart of Helena! We take great pride in our staff and our property. We look forward to seeing you again! More 

1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed using our Airmiles points. In the past we have always stayed in hotels just of the exits but this was worth the few minutes into town. Location is awesome with shops, movie theatre. Hotel breakfast very nice with lots of options. Nice staff helpful with allowing us to do an Easter Egg hunt in the hotel for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marc G
Marti B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marc G - thank you so very much for sharing your great experience with the readers. We are delighted that you can into the downtown area - there is much to see and do in this area of Helena. Pleased to hear the kids enjoyed the hunt - we feel our lobby welcomes our guests to a relaxing atmosphere!... More 

Columbus, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2016

This is one of the most comfortable places to stay in the USA. Wonderful staff and a great restaurant. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. If you need to be in Helena Montana this is THE PLACE to stay!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
Marti B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Stephen - We appreciated your being a loyal guest of the Great Northern Hotel. Todays travelers rely on these genuine comments - we will see you again! More 

Kalispell, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Great hotel right downtown Helena. Good amenities and great walking location to food, shops & theater. Alarm clock radios only fit old iPhones and the wifi set up is a pain, but other than those minor things, great place.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jerusha J
Marti B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Jerusha J - Helena has much to offer our visitors! The Great Northern is an excellent center to be able to explore all areas. We appreciate your comments on the need to re log in on the wifi every 24 hours. Thank you for the time to write this review! More 

Stevensville, Montana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2016

We've learned not to trust the Best Western brand because the hotels have been inconsistent in quality. But this one is a great one. The location was perfect for what we needed--a hotel near downtown Helena within walking distance to everything we wanted to do, plus a park on the other side of an underpass, the movie theater, and lots... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sherry R
Marti B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much from your wonderful review! Not sure if you went far enough beyond the underpass to find that there is a actual "dog park" at Centennial Park. Very walkable area for to many great things. We appreciate you sharing your experience with everyone! More 

Corvallis, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2016

The hotel is grand and plush without a hint of the snobbish. The staff is kind and efficient without making you feel like it is just a business. I fully recommend the Great Northern for a sophisticated get-away.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Skye D
Marti B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Skye D, We could not ask for a better description of this property. We certainly aim for the best - we are fortunate to have great guest here like yourself. We look forward to your return here to the Great Northern Hotel. More 

england
Level Contributor
122 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2016

The hotel is a cut above the run of the mill BW norm. The lounge area is large, comfortable and inviting. Reception staff were excellent and welcoming. The room was large and comfortable, but had the business traveller in mind. Lighting for reading was not good. Breakfast was in a bright room and had better and healthier choices than is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank clarksdale
Marti B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Clarksdale - Your review of our hotel was great - thank you! We certainly appreciate our guests sharing their experience on Trip Advisor. I am disappointed that Helena did not appear attractive to you. We are rich in history but the winter days may have not offered the colorfulness to give you that warm feeling. I do hope you... More 

Kalispell, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2016

We had a great stay at the Great Northern Hotel. The bed was comfortable, breakfast was good, the staff was helpful when something unexpected came up. My wife liked the coffee that was available at any time in the lobby. The hotel was quite quiet in the hallway, so you could get a good night's sleep.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
Marti B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michelle M - thank you for your time to leave a great review. Your described the perfect stay - which is our goal! We do hope to see you again here at the Great Northern Hotel! More 

Florence, Montana
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

Always perfect for business or pleasure. Highly recommend. Staff very accommodating, rooms lovely and well-equipped, breakfast hits the spot. Adjoining restaurant/bar also highly recommended. Good location near interesting shops, college, businesses.

Helpful?
Thank JBFlorence
Marti B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JBFlorence - thank you for your time in writing a great review after your recent stay. We are very pleased to be a part of the Helena community! We hope to see you again. More 

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helena hotels
4.0 km away
Hampton Inn Helena
Hampton Inn Helena
#2 of 22 in Helena
397 reviews
2.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helena
3.4 km away
Comfort Suites Helena
Comfort Suites Helena
#3 of 22 in Helena
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Residence Inn Helena
Residence Inn Helena
#6 of 22 in Helena
242 reviews
3.1 km away
Radisson Colonial Hotel Helena
2.3 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Helena Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located in the Great Northern Town Center area of the historic downtown Helena. Near restaurants, retail shops, Great Northern Carousel & Ice Cream Company, movie theater Exploration Works Museum. Full service convention center for your important business and social events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel

Address: 835 Great Northern Blvd, Helena, MT 59601-3315
Region: United States > Montana > Helena
Price Range: RM591 - RM822 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Helena
Helena Best Western
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Helena
#1 Romantic Hotel in Helena
#2 Family Hotel in Helena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
spokane, wa
7 months ago
Everett, Washington
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We prefer the king mini-sites at the end of the floors.”
 of 5 bubbles mjhullah, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles HarryS964, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Great beds and pillows for a good nights sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles W812QBjoannes, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I would stay on a higher floor to get away from the possible noise from the conference areas.”
 of 5 bubbles AdventureHermit, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a pool side room (there are only about six of them)”
 of 5 bubbles steveP7008CL, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay