We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel

Show Prices
#1 of 21 Hotels in Helena
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

810 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 797: English reviews
Evanston, Illinois
Reviewed 8 April 2016

Stayed a year ago and my review is on this site as one of the first reviews; high quality maintained and have no complaints. There is a bike rental nearby and you could use that to ride the adjacent Centential Park paved trail.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
Marti B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard K - thank you for the review! I am pleased to hear we have continued to provide great hospitality. Great share on the bike rentals - just 2 blocks away - and for more mountain rides, check out Bikehelena.com We will see you next time!

Moscow, United States
Reviewed 8 April 2016

We were more than satisfied with the great hotel staff, location, and amenities! The breakfast was top notch. I always shy away from fruit cups when they are offered in a complementary breakfast, however, the strawberries, grapes, pineapple, and melon were fresh and tasted great. We will return again and again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
Marti B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Patricia B - We appreciate your time to share your experience with our readers. We are proud to serve fresh fruit that we get from Van's Grocery, just a few blocks away. They cut the fruit for us - it is not a canned, off the truck product. Thank you for your continued patronage! The breakfast bar will be...

Billings, Montana
Reviewed 7 April 2016

Love the location! This was my second time staying at the Great Northern. I was bitterly disappointed this time due to the fact that my room had a terrible view, the cable t.v. reception was lousy, and the hotel pool was freezing. No one was able to swim. If I had known that the pool was going to be cold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terra K
Marti B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Terra K - We take great pride in the property. We have not had any known issues with the cable reception or with the pool being cold. We certainly would always want to make any adjustments to your comfort when you are here. I see you were here Thursday evening. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations...

Helena, Montana
Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

We spent the night here with my family, and my daughter's friends to celebrate her birthday. Staff was extremely courteous and pool was fun for the kids! Great location to shop, drink, eat! Would recommend to anyone that stays in Helena!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
Marti B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Joe D - thank you for your kind review. We certainly were glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing your great experience!

Reviewed 5 April 2016

Excellent staff and very clean and quiet hotel. Breakfast was great. Staff was amazing and room was comfortable. Very Large rooms! If you like trains, there are lots of really great pictures hanging around the hotel. Its a little away from the highway (5-10 minutes) but really worth while staying there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertlR8029RA
Marti B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear robertlR8029RA - Thank you for your wonderful review! We love those pictures in the hallways - no 2 are alike. Nestled in the downtown area - we enjoy the theme and elegance of the wonderful Great Northern Railway days. We take great pride in our staff and want every guest experience to be like yours. We do hope to...

Billings, Mt, United States
Reviewed 4 April 2016

We stayed at the Best Western Premier in Helena for a High School Lacrosse tournament and had a great experience. The location is perfect with lots of dining choices right there and the downtown shopping area close within walking distance. The boys enjoyed the pool and the lobby. The hot complimentary breakfast was the best I've ever had and included...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
Marti B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pam H - It was our pleasure to have you and your group with us over the weekend. You had some great weather for the Lacrosse tournament - which is so unpredictable this time of year! Your team was very polite and showed great manners - thank you for choosing to stay with us. We do hope to see...

Spokane
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Everything about this hotel is first class - great service, great amenities, beautiful hotel. The complimentary breakfast was a full selection of breakfast items. We also ate at The Silver Spur and they have a good menu selection and great food.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 450dawn
Marti B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 450dawn - Your review is excellent and we are appreciative for your time. Each guest has different experience, and we are proud that our staff provides great service. We do hope to see you return for another stay!

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

I am torn between whether I should write a bad or good review, so I will do both. Good Points: Very clean, upscale property with attached restaurant and walking distance to downtown and Carroll College. Bad Points: Two staff members were exceptionally rude and one was not knowledgeable about the property and location of certain amenities. I am not normally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Marti B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning - You did express that you were feeling better about the situation after our conversation. The reviews on this page are genuine - we so rarely receive complaints regarding our staff. I did apologize as we just seemed to trip over ourselves during your stay. You have my contact information and we would hope you would consider giving...

Reviewed 31 March 2016

The location of the Best Western Great Northern Hotel is perfect. It is within walking distance of the movie theater, the Carousel, the Brewhouse (a great burger/beer restaurant), and is also near Carroll College and many local shops. The rooms are very nice and the beds are very comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela N
Marti B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pamela - thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is our pleasure to be located in the heart of Helena! We take great pride in our staff and our property. We look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed using our Airmiles points. In the past we have always stayed in hotels just of the exits but this was worth the few minutes into town. Location is awesome with shops, movie theatre. Hotel breakfast very nice with lots of options. Nice staff helpful with allowing us to do an Easter Egg hunt in the hotel for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc G
Marti B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marc G - thank you so very much for sharing your great experience with the readers. We are delighted that you can into the downtown area - there is much to see and do in this area of Helena. Pleased to hear the kids enjoyed the hunt - we feel our lobby welcomes our guests to a relaxing atmosphere!...

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helena hotels
3.9 km away
Hampton Inn Helena
Hampton Inn Helena
#3 of 21 in Helena
402 reviews
2.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helena
3.9 km away
Residence Inn Helena
Residence Inn Helena
#6 of 21 in Helena
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Comfort Suites Helena
Comfort Suites Helena
#2 of 21 in Helena
334 reviews
2.3 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Helena Airport
3.1 km away
Radisson Colonial Hotel Helena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located in the Great Northern Town Center area of the historic downtown Helena. Near restaurants, retail shops, Great Northern Carousel & Ice Cream Company, movie theater Exploration Works Museum. Full service convention center for your important business and social events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel

Address: 835 Great Northern Blvd, Helena, MT 59601-3315
Region: United States > Montana > Helena
Price Range: RM607 - RM857 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Helena
Helena Best Western
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Helena
#1 Business Hotel in Helena
#2 Family Hotel in Helena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
spokane, wa
8 months ago
Everett, Washington
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PREMIER Helena Great Northern Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Overlooking the Great Northern Square”
 of 5 bubbles suewD520PC, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We prefer the king mini-sites at the end of the floors.”
 of 5 bubbles mjhullah, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles HarryS964, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Great beds and pillows for a good nights sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles W812QBjoannes, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I would stay on a higher floor to get away from the possible noise from the conference areas.”
 of 5 bubbles AdventureHermit, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay