We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

St Mary Lodge & Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
St Mary Lodge & Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

562 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for St Mary Lodge & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 544: English reviews
Bodegraven
Reviewed 28 September 2015

We choose this lodge because of the central location in Glacier Park. Prices per room are high so we choose the cheapest room and ended op in the basement. The room was small, so was the bathroom, but both were clean. There was one small window near the ceiling of the room which made it even with the parking lot...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Blok
California
Reviewed 27 September 2015

We stayed in one of the motel rooms across from the main lodge. It was a perfect location to visit two medicine and drive GTTSR. Lodge had a restaurant and coffee shop. Was told wifi worked in lobby, but was able to access from room. A bit spotty even from lobby. Room was clean but small with no ac. Television...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CaliforniaBliss
Rockford, Illinois
Reviewed 25 September 2015

We stayed at the West Motel across the road from the main lodge. $253 to stay a single night in an outdated room that puts other National Park accommodations to shame - it didn't even have a place to hang a coat. Much in need of a thorough overall. Of course, it will be pricey - part of the National...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 2NATIONALPARKFANS
Glacier Park I, Manager at St Mary Lodge & Resort, responded to this review

Greetings 2NATIONALPARKFANS, thank you for taking a few moments to provide feedback about your St. Mary Lodge visit. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the staff and that our maintenance man went above and beyond to help. It is unfortunate to hear you were dissatisfied with your accommodation. Thank you for bringing the details you mention...

Reviewed 23 September 2015 via mobile

5 Stars for location. Overall just 2 stars. Let me explain. It's located within a stones throw from the East entrance of Glacier National Park = 5 stars. Every other aspect deserves only 2 stars. Very expensive, room VERY small, no frills, no extras. Remember it's all about location !!!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JHPOZZI
Minneapolis
Reviewed 22 September 2015

My husband and I spent 3 nights at St. Mary's Lodge in early September 2015. Initially we were disappointed to not have gotten into Many Glaciers Lodge, with its history and wonderful location on Swift Current Lake. However we ended up being very happy at the much smaller and quieter St. Mary's Lodge. (We had a great lunch at Many...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SandstoneSprings
Shpookinon
Reviewed 22 September 2015

We paid about $236 for a tiny motel room, with a tiny bed and small pillows, no WIFI, TV that one cannot choose channels, detached from the mail building. No room in the room for luggage ( better leave it in your car ). When we inquired for the high price the answer was " but it has a coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shpookinon
Glacier Park I, Manager at St Mary Lodge & Resort, responded to this review

Hi Shpookinon, thank you for taking time to detail your stay at St. Mary Lodge and Resort. We’re sorry your stay was less than satisfactory. We’re sorry you were dissatisfied with the size of your room and that you did not have a good response from our staff upon inquiry. This is inconsistent with our service standards and will be...

Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewed 18 September 2015

Did not stay at the lodge, but need to comment on the restaurant. It is wonderful! Clean with lots of mountain décor. Food was simply delicious. We had beef stew & corn chowder soup, along with an assortment platter of local Montana fare. trout spread, elk sausage, homemade pickles, apple mustard, cheese, etc. We enjoyed & ate every morsel. Service...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank uwbooster
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 17 September 2015

Rustic beauty! We stayed above the gift shop in the old lodge, as well as two nights in the cabins. No internet, no TV in the former made for a great throwback experience to simpler times when the outdoors was the focus. The cabins have TVs, but the park should be "distraction" enough. The place you stay should suffice for...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank William T
Boardman, Oregon
Reviewed 17 September 2015

We stayed in the older part of the Lodge underneath the gift shop. It was just as I expected, a small but adequate room. The bathroom sink, toilet, shower, and bathroom were very tiny so if you are a large person it might be a little tight in there. Everything was clean and the staff were very nice. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravelingSue21
Freehold, New Jersey
Reviewed 16 September 2015

We stayed one night at St. Marys. We had a basement room which was surprisingly welcoming, clean and very comfortable. Also, very affordable. We would stay there again in a heart beat. The staff was extremely helpful in giving us directions to our next adventure. I loved the relaxed, inviting common room. We sat on the large comfortable leather sofa...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eileen G

220 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (210)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
1:51
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Mary
36.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Browning
37.4 km away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
226 reviews
37.1 km away
Glacier Park Lodge
Glacier Park Lodge
#3 of 10 in East Glacier Park
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 km away
Swiftcurrent Motor Inn and Cabins
Swiftcurrent Motor Inn and Cabin...
#2 of 7 in Glacier National Park
371 reviews
11.2 km away
Montana's Duck Lake Lodge
8.7 km away
Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins
Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins
#4 of 10 in East Glacier Park
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated just outside Glacier National Park's east entrance on the historic Going-to-the-Sun Road, St Mary Lodge & Resort provides a combination of natural beauty with full-service modern comforts. With 115 guest rooms spread among seven facilities, every experience is unique. From rustic and relaxing to upscale accommodations, the Lodge has something to fit every taste level and budget. Highlights of St. Mary Lodge, Cabins and Motel include:• Located at the East Entrance of Glacier National Park • 115 Rooms Different Rooms to Choose from: Main Lodge, Great Bear Lodge, Cabins, and the West or East Motel • Snowgoose Grill • Curly Bear Cafe • Glacier Perk Espresso & Candy Shop • Mountain Lounge (Lobby Bar & Lounge) • St. Mary Grocery Store & Gas Station • St. Mary Gift Shop • Loose Moose T-Shirt Shop • Trail Creek Outfitters • Wireless Internet Available in the Lobby • All Rooms are Non-Smoking • Pets Welcome at the East Motel ... more   less 

Additional Information about St Mary Lodge & Resort

Address: 3147 US 89, Saint Mary, MT 59417 (Formerly The Resort at Glacier/St. Mary Lodge)
Region: United States > Montana > Saint Mary
Price Range: RM690 - RM1,900 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Mary Lodge & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your St Mary Lodge & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Mary Hotel Saint Mary
St Mary Lodge And Resort
St Mary Resort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from St Mary Lodge & Resort staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Richmond, Texas
2 months ago
Huntingdon, Tennessee
3 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from St Mary Lodge & Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on the upper floor facing the park rather than the highway, and that was the best spot to me for view and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles susancC3304NA, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request room in lodge not across street in strip motel.”
 of 5 bubbles 457gregu, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room with a view....”
 of 5 bubbles neilcS9579BL, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“cabin on the river”
  • our cabin
 of 5 bubbles Monpetit, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“not in the basement”
 of 5 bubbles Travelbug1155, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay