We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kootenai River Outfitters

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Troy
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Kootenai River Outfitters
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 56: English reviews
Colorado
Reviewed 11 October 2016

The setting can't be beat, we loved being right on the water. The cabins are secluded and you really feel like you have gotten away. The accommodations were absolutely wonderful, with attention to every details. Everything in our cabin was new or updated. Can't wait to go back! I'm sure we will be visiting again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j2powell
Reviewed 30 September 2016

My wife and I had booked this trip three years ago and as life would have it we couldn't make it happen. Robert and Jeanie just said make it when you can. normally when you cancel a reservation that is nonrefundable. That's it. Not here they kept our deposit but applied it to our new reservations. These are truly wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
Richland, WA
Reviewed 21 September 2016

An easy 6 hour drive from the Tri-Cities, WA, which included stopping to eat in CDA and a brief stop at a grocery store in Sandpoint to pick up a few perishables before continuing on to the cabin. Shortly after our arrival at cabin #1 we were greeted with a little rain, thunder and lightening! We sat on the covered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HucksMomRichland_WA
Jeanie W, Owner at Kootenai River Outfitters, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review. Those moose are elusive, so please do come back again - we would love to see you again!

Cookson, Oklahoma
Reviewed 19 September 2016

My husband and I took off on a vacation with no destination in mind and happened to come across this wonderful place. Robert and Jeanie had cabin #2 available for 3 nights so we booked. Due to unavoidable circumstances, the people in cabin #1 had to cancel and we took their place for 5 wonderful days. WOW! WOW and WOW!!!...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank moorejk1995
Jeanie W, Owner at Kootenai River Outfitters, responded to this review

Judy and Ken - thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review. We are so delighted when people understand the amazing place that we have - and your words will help others to understand - you have to experience it. We are glad that you liked the jam - remind me to be sure...

Reviewed 31 August 2016

As a vacation destination for our nature-loving family, this place was captivating! We enjoyed hiking, canoeing & paddle boarding to Bull Lake, s'mores by the fire, star gazing and critter watching, all accompanied by amazing mountain views. Upon our arrival, we were greeted with a spacious, immaculate cabin, containing every amenity and heavenly homemade jam to boot! The pristine surroundings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gina M
Jeanie W, Owner at Kootenai River Outfitters, responded to this review

Gina - Thank you so much for the glowing review - it was our pleasure to host your family and we hope that your travels will bring you our way in the future. Thanks again - we appreciate your business!

Beaverton, Oregon
Reviewed 28 August 2016

The pictures truly describe this one. There are 3 cabins total-spread out over acres of land. They sit on a creek at the top of Bull Lake. Luxury is a good description. One is a true log cabin and the other two are more modern log cabins with logs and drywall. w stayed in #3 and WOW - we loved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
Jeanie W, Owner at Kootenai River Outfitters, responded to this review

Kathy - thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We are delighted that you are happy and I appreciate that the steps were helpful to you in getting down to the fire pit and stream. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!

Cherryvale, Kansas
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Our vacation to Montana was amazing! Our cabin was comfortable, quiet, and the view was awesome! We saw many critters during our stay, and loved fishing in the crystal clear water! Robert and Jeanie let us use their canoe and had kayaks available. I would love to return to this beautiful Montana getaway! Melanie Hammer Kansas

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mhammer2016
Jeanie W, Owner at Kootenai River Outfitters, responded to this review

Thank you Melanie - we were delighted to have you with us and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Vacaville, California
Reviewed 23 July 2016

KRO provided outstanding service, equipment, transportation, and an awesome drone video of the beginning of our river expedition that we will treasure forever. The boats they outfitted us with were top of the line. At the launch point, they ensured we got off safely. With 19 of us made up of dads and kids, we truly appreciated the support. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank clanhayes6
Jeanie W, Owner at Kootenai River Outfitters, responded to this review

It was an honor to have you choose Kootenai River Outfitters for your annual rafting trip - each person was nicer than the next and you reminded us why we started this business - to help bring families together in nature. We hope you will consider a repeat trip - we would love to have you again.

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Kootenai River Outfitters (KRO) was our choice to host our annual rafting/canoe trip. This year, that meant 18 people! Jeanie and Rob (the owners) and the staff of KRO exceeded our expectations in every way - and then went above and beyond that! We rented four rafts and a drift boat, they also provided miscellaneous gear and shuttles to and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vance S
Jeanie W, Owner at Kootenai River Outfitters, responded to this review

Thank you Vance for such a lovely review - we appreciate you taking the time to write it and share your experience with others. It was our honor to host your very special group - we enjoyed meeting you and working with you very much. We hope you will break tradition and return to float the Kootenai again - or...

Reviewed 3 June 2016

We have stayed here (cabin 3) twice now and will continue to return. When we arrived we were greeted with a hand written note welcome us, some home made jam, and a jar of pickles from the owners garden. Its a pretty special place. The cabins are beautiful, clean, new, and fully furnished. Just bring your food and settle in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JP P
Jeanie W, Owner at Kootenai River Outfitters, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review - we enjoy having you with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thanks again!

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Guests will stay in one of 3 hand hewn log and cedar modern guest houses. All are spacious and privately situated on the water with gorgeous views of the high peaks and the creek. Full size covered decks on each provide comfortable relaxation in a stunningly beautiful environment. All have fully equipped kitchens, full bath, wood and /or propane stoves, propane heaters, power, wi-fi, phone, gas grills etc...in short everything that you will need for your stay with us. Just bring food and personal items. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kootenai River Outfitters

Address: PO Box 775, Troy, MT 59935-0775
Region: United States > Montana > Troy
Price Range: RM889 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kootenai River Outfitters staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Fort Worth, Texas
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Kootenai River Outfitters staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in a cabin with no curtains on the big dining room/living room slider windows that faced west. May ask for different one next time.”
 of 5 bubbles j2powell, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“You can't go wrong with any of the KRO cabins.”
 of 5 bubbles HucksMomRichland_WA, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Wonderful luxury cabin creekside at Bull Lake, Troy MT”
 of 5 bubbles 494kathyd, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Let management know what you need.”
 of 5 bubbles paulstai, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“This is a cabin, not a hotel room.”
 of 5 bubbles beans55, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5