We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

513 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 489: English reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

We had a great stay at the hotel. Good rooms and good location, close to the West Gate entrance. Especially Mary Lou who served breakfast created a nice and welcoming environment :) The eggs were great. We can definetly recommend this place!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kasia D
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and would recommend our hotel to family and friends. We're very proud of our staff and Mary Lou is a fine example of customer service. We hope you can visit again soon.

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Stayed here for two nights while visiting Yellowstone National Park. Location is very convenient to West Entrance of the Park. While situated away from the "hub-bub" of downtown, the distance is certainly walkable. We were greeted by Eldon who welcomed us with a smile and handled our check in with ease. Melissa was very friendly and offered an excellent restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank USA201620162016
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about your stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed our breakfast, location and staff. We hope you can visit again soon.

Vermilion, Ohio
Reviewed 13 August 2016

After reading reviews and seeing professional pics of King room , I booked it. Biggest mistake. Reserved a King Obstructed View on 1st floor, due to my handicap request. Got there and given a 3rd floor super small King room. All kings without sofa sleeper are tiny. Jan was super and very hospitable. I got King rm. on 1st floor,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichelleMM2014
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I'm sorry you reserved a King room with obstructed view and requested 1st floor, but we do not have any of those room types on first floor. None of our king rooms have sofa sleepers either, so I'm not sure what you were trying to reserve but these are...

Centerville, Utah
Reviewed 11 August 2016

The Room was large and clean. Within walking distance of a nice restaurant. We enjoyed it. A little off the beaten path where it was quite congested with tourists. My son works in a fly fishing shop up there. Bud Lilly's Trout Shop. I would stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kjohns_891241
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we're glad you like our location and large rooms. Best of all you would stay with again, that says it all. We look forward to your next visit.

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Made reservations at this hotel as part of a last-minute weekend getaway. It's was pricey, but we weren't too surprised considering the time of year. The room was spotless and comfortable. A standard hotel room, but very clean. Breakfast could have been good, but it was overwhelmed with other guests and you couldn't get to the food, let alone find...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SLCWeekend
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, it helps us improve. I'm glad you found the rooms to be clean and comfortable. Sorry, about breakfast, sometimes everyone comes down at once and it can get crowded. Breakfast is open from 6 am to 9 am. Our breakfast room seats 42 people and we have additional seating outside on the patio. Everyone is...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Dirty, unsanitary!! Sewer water actually backed up in our bathroom sink. Caters to hotel tours so it is also noisy and crowded. I was on a 27 day driving trip from California through national parks to Iowa and back. This was the most expensive hotel I stayed at and was by far the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. RUN...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dellas88
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Great stay hotel in great location for Yellowstone Park entry. Hotel was very clean. All the staff very friendly and couldn't do enought to help. Breakfast was great especially the lady that kept all the food topped up and the tables clean in the breakfast area, she was truly AMAZING xx

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue2686
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your remarks on Trip Advisor. We're so happy you would recommend us to others. We're glad you enjoyed breakfast, we'll pass along your comments to our breakfast person.

Arvada, Colorado, United States
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We spent two days at this hotel and it was great. Very close to the park entrance and although we didn't have time to explore the town it seemed to have enough restaurants and entertainment within walking distance. We spent our evenings in the pool and hot tub area. It is open until 11 which is great as long days...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nanp719
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we hope you return soon.

Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 5 August 2016

The hotels clean. The staff was friendly. The location is not very good. It is about a 10 minute walk to get to anything. Not far, But far for West Yellowstone. The room was the eqivalent of a large room at a comfort Inn. The breakfast was better than a lot of hotels at this level, It was like a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank billbS5371SB
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about our clean and friendly hotel. I'm sure you checked and found many hotels in our area at the same price range, but I'm glad you choose us. Our location in West Yellowstone gives guests the opportunity to go in and out of the park daily without having to travel miles each day to the...

Bloomington, Minnesota
Reviewed 5 August 2016

The hotel is very price for the kind of hotel it is. I've stayed at Hyatt/Marriot/Hilton hotels in Denver or Washington D.C. that were the same price or cheaper but way nicer. You might want to consider dropping your rates a bit to under $200 per night. $185 would be the most I would pay to stay in this area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 591irenel

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.9 km away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
677 reviews
0.9 km away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
649 reviews
1.1 km away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
646 reviews
1.0 km away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
936 reviews
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
#11 of 39 in West Yellowstone
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
NEWLY REMODELED IN 2011. 79 Rooms, large family rooms available, non-smoking facility, large indoor heated pool & spa, complimentary deluxe HOT breakfast daily, complimentary high-speed/Wi-Fi internet, guest laundry, business room, free parking, information about Yellowstone Park tours. Only 6 blocks from entrance gate into Yellowstone National Park. AAA and AARP approved. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Address: 638 Madison Ave., West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Price Range: RM924 - RM1,564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone West Gate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Yellowstone West Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel West Yellowstone
Comfort Inn West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Comfort Inn
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Yellowstone West Gate Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Peoria, Illinois
5 months ago
East Setauket, New York
over a year ago
over a year ago
Jerusalem, Israel
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Yellowstone West Gate Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It would be handy to have a night light by the bathroom sink.”
 of 5 bubbles daveg384, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the clean and spacious deluxe room. Great size for families up to 6.”
 of 5 bubbles W6435XHmichaell, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to not stay near the elevator or ice machine.”
 of 5 bubbles FrequentT1, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pet friendly motel. ”
 of 5 bubbles stanry2016, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There are NO views in this hotel. View options are a parking lot, a street and a brick building.”
 of 5 bubbles Cherstevens, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5