We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Historian Inn

Booking.comUS$105*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$123*
US$105*
Great Deal
US$123*
US$123*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Historian Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 79: English reviews
Start your review of Historian Inn
 Click to rate
Rocklin, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

They have done a great job updating the rooms and Lobby. They have a little more to do. One of the best things is it's across the street from the best restaurant in town (JT Basque) The night/ morning Clark was not the friendless. The continental breakfast was something to avoid. Oatmeal or fruit parfait and fresh coffee

 Report
Helpful?
Thank airtanker1820
Malin, Oregon
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I booked a room for a business trip and had a good stay. I had a room with two queens and non-smoking. It was clean and well appointed. I needed a clothes iron and the iron with a board was brought to the room in a timely manner. It had the usual amenities plus had good desk service 24/7. I'd...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank H W
South Lake Tahoe, California, United States
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Unassuming from the front, but once you walk into the lobby you notice what a nice job updating they did. The rooms are very pleasant, clean, comfortable beds with a modern rustic feel. Great location - you can walk to many tasty restaurants. Complimentary light breakfast of oatmeal and yogurt/fruit parfaits. Pet friendly. Very nice for a little town.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TahoClimbr
Henderson, Nevada
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Very nice room upstairs our first night but my 11 year old Rottwieller had trouble climbing the steps. We asked to change and the staff went out of their way to help us. Both rooms were extremely comfortable and the beds were great. I am very happy with that stay and recommend this place to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank comcabsteve
Long beach
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We wanted to go to the famous "Candy Dance" but we're having difficulty finding a dog friendly hotel. We were pleasantly surprised to find the Historian. We have stayed at dog friendly hotels and were very disappointed. Alas here is one that takes pride in cleanliness. Thank goodness , we will be able to come back here with our dog...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LongbeachRock
Reviewed 21 October 2016

I don't know about other rooms but our room, #214 was very nice. It was a large 2 Queen beds, nice comfy chair, table with 2 chairs, micro-wave and small fridge. Nicely decorated. Large bathroom area. Nice flat screen TV and other little touches. The staff at check-in was very pleasant and helpful when we needed him. We did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elenita D
Carson City, Nevada
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This is my second time I have stayed here there was a thick layer of dust on the microwave in may room. I was supposed to stay for 4 days but an emergence with my dog, so I had to leave a day early, but still charge for the room. I will not stay here again the because of dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hex1478
Management response:

A clean room is paramount in our industry. I am so sorry for the dust on the microwave. I have re-trained because of your review. Thank you for the feedback. Regarding your stay, we have several GREAT RATES which are HIGHLY DISCOUNTED and therefore, non-refundable at the time of purchase. This is the case with your booking, as outlined on...

Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 28 September 2016

After reading the reviews we were very hesitant to stay here. Upon arrival the staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Our room was very clean and we appreciated the upgraded floors. Saturday morning breakfast was a disappointment, but we were told that this was the first time they did a serve yourself. Sunday morning breakfast was literally a direct result of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sparkles57x
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay! We are working to train all staff! It is a constant endeavor, and your review is a reminder of that which we appreciate! Our breakfast is as we advertise: "Light and Healthy". Currently a choice of oatmeal or yogurt parfait. You are correct...

New England
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Been over a year since I had the opportunity to revisit The Historian. The upgrades to the rooms are just great. Although a lot of new staff, the excellent service and support to make this stay as outstanding as the past ones. Of great improvement was the WiFI which was lacking at times in the pastThe local area still stacked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gryphonskymaster
Management response:

THANK YOU for taking the time to share your great experience. We appreciate the kind words and look forward to hosting you again!

Monterey, California
Reviewed 11 August 2016

The cost of the Motel was high, over $169.00 per night and the rooms were awful. We did not notice the Shower being broken until the morning after since we arrived late and when we went to complain they told us there was nothing they could do.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Eli G

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardnerville
2.4 km away
Carson Valley Inn
Carson Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Minden
231 reviews
3.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden
32.0 km away
Best Western Topaz Lake Inn
Best Western Topaz Lake Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardnerville
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa
3.8 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Minden
68 reviews
32.4 km away
Super 8 Gardnerville Topaz Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly renovated rooms and great service in the heart of the Carson Valley! Pillow top beds, luxurious linens, flat screen tvs, movies on demand, complimentary wireless and pet friendly.Just steps to shopping, dining (JTs is just across the street!), world class recreation. Call for Pet Availability Corporate and group rates available, ask about packages and discounts! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Historian Inn

Address: 1427 US Highway 395 N, Gardnerville, NV 89410-5228
Region: United States > Nevada > Gardnerville
Price Range: RM410 - RM782 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Historian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Historian Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The king sized beds are great”
comcabsteve, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Away from highway”
LongbeachRock, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“#214 is quiet”
186elenitad, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“First floor. Stay away from room 219!”
sparkles57x, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“On the major weekend evenings, it can be noisy til mid-night.”
gryphonskymaster, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$105* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$123
Orbitz.comUS$123
Hotels.comUS$123
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates