We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ashworth by the Sea

295 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3610
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (362)
Room & Suite (121)
Pool & Beach (46)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 15/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Ashworth by the Sea
Updated 15/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#6 of 42 hotels in Hampton
Travellers' Choice
Open year round, Ashworth by the Sea offers friendly New England hospitality in an elegant, boutique setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We've maintained the historical aspects of the hotel, which has been a Hampton Beach Landmark for the past 100 years, and our recent renovation has updated the hotel with all the modern conveniences and amenities today's traveler expects. Ashworth by the Sea offers captivating views overlooking award-winning beaches, as well as creative dining, superior service, well-appointed rooms, and a superb location on Hampton Beach, New Hampshire. We look forward to welcoming you to our beach hotel. With New Hampshire's only sandy beach just outside your front door, the hotel has been designed to provide a tranquil seaside retreat. Stay with us, and you'll enjoy elegantly furnished guestrooms, three restaurants offering some of the finest dining on Hampton Beach, and effortless access to the area's prime attractions, including Odiorne Point, Rye Harbor and the Kittery Outlets. A wide variety of family amusements including a water park, zoo, museums, the Casino Ballroom concert arena, and tax-free shopping, are all within minutes of our doors. Relax and enjoy the ocean views from your private balcony, or take a dip in our refreshing heated pool before strolling off to discover one of the many fine shops or historical sites nearby. With over 6,000 square feet of event space and five dynamic function rooms, Ashworth by the Sea is a top destination for weddings, social gathering and corporate meetings on Hampton Beach and the Seacoast. Ashworth by the Sea is the perfect destination for romantic getaways, family vacations, girlfriends' shopping weekends, or corporate retreats. While many Hampton Beach hotels close once the summer rush is over, Ashworth by the Sea welcomes guests throughout the year, making us ideal for travelers who prefer to enjoy the quieter, off-season side of the New England coast in the cooler months.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Great View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
1,206Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 523
  • 334
  • 183
  • 91
  • 75
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Bryant A wrote a review Mar 2021
Keene, New Hampshire333 contributions117 helpful votes
Met some friends here for dinner before a concert at the Casino Ballroom. Didn't want the typical fast food of the boardwalk, so we picked the Ashworth for a step up.... Prices are reasonable, staff friendly and ready to please... Clean and not packed in ghese covid 19 days... On site restaurant make it a one stop location to be at...
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
JW wrote a review Mar 2021
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Planned a Valentine's getaway. Got there a little early we were told the room wasn't cleaned yet. Went to lunch after 2 hours we were called saying our room was ready. When we walked into the room the bed looked like someone had slept on it. The slider wouldn't close all the way there was about an inch gap at the top. But then came the disgusting part. My girlfriend went to go to the bathroom opened the toilet lid and there was a turd in the toilet obviously the room had not been cleaned. They did move us to another room which didn't have towels but it was somewhat clean. I have written emails (no reply) and made phone calls I was told we would get a gift certificate after repeating my email and home address 3 time each I still haven't received anything
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Mark S wrote a review Mar 2021
Ballston Spa, New York33 contributions6 helpful votes
Off season, Saturday night stay. We had the Boardwalk to ourselves. Kinda surprised how many shops close down during the off season. No vending machines. There s a commercial cooler in the lobby for drinks and snacks. The bar was open with entertainment...
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
1 Helpful vote
Kimberly O wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I had to write to the Ashworth today because of our unsatisfactory stay last night. When we checked in and went to our room it became apparent that the room had not been properly cleaned which is quite disheartening especially in todays times. Our tub was dirty, the coffee maker still had prior old coffee grinds sitting in it, we had a half a roll of toilet paper and 1 facecloth. Additionally, the extra blanket was thrown haphazardly in the closet. I also understand the hotels smoking policy that nobody should be smoking in the rooms but the smell of marijuana was so strong it filled the entire hallway both last night and this morning. I appreciate that we venture into medical marijuana etc. so that's almost by the wayside but the cumulation of all this stuff just did it for me. Also, at 130AM the room next to us was still partying up a storm being loud and completely inconsiderate. I did call the front desk to complain and I believe someone did come up to speak to them. I just don't believe we were the only room affected by this. This morning while getting in my car in the front of the hotel I tripped off your sidewalk and split the area above my eye opened. As a healthcare worker it concerns me of the less than sanitary conditions we were in. It is unfortunate because I've /friends have always had a pleasant experience at your establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Response from Ashworth GM, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea
Responded 26 Jan 2021
Hi Kimberlyo704, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Ashworth by the Sea. I sincerely apologize and am disheartened to read that many elements of your stay were disappointing. We strive to keep our guests peace of mind as our top priority in todays times as you had mentioned. We strive to complete this with our clean-care program. This program focuses on the 11 high touch points of your guest-room, and is finished off with a sanitize from our electrostatic sprayer, as well as a door seal to guarantee your room has not been entered after this sanitizing process. I am sorry we fell short of your expectations and will share your feedback with our team. As you mentioned this stay was an outlier to your/friends past stays which have always been pleasant and I hope when you are in the area again you can give us a chance to redeem ourselves. Sincerely, Ryan Connors General Manager
Read more
JessieB112277 wrote a review Dec 2020
New Paltz, New York91 contributions77 helpful votes
The staff was very nice. We like to go to the beach during off season when there are less people. However that means most shops are closed. We ate at Breakers downstairs for dinner one night, and the Wharfside Cafe for breakfast one morning. Both were very good, food and service. The one complaint I would have is that we stayed in the older "newly renovated" wing. The renovations were ok, although still felt dated considering they were only done 4 years ago. We had room 301, which was an oceanview room with a balcony. The balcony was nice, and we could see the ocean, but there is a street lamp right in the middle of the view! We checked in on a Thursday, barely anyone was there, why would they give us that room, or at least not let us know beforehand? You're laying on the bed and there is a pole right in front of you. and the bottom slotted windows, which cannot be opened, also hamper the view. Overall a nice place, but some of the design seemed questionable.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Room Tip: Room 301 has a street lamp in the middle of the view
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Response from Ashworth GM, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea
Responded 15 Dec 2020
Hi JessieB112277, Thank you for this great 4 star review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the Ashworth by the Sea. I do apologize that one of the towns street lamps did hinder your view from your rooms balcony. We hope for your return to our property so we can locate you in another balcony room, which primarily all of the rooms at the property have. We truly appreciate the great feedback. Sincerely, Ryan Connors General Manager
Read more
US$113 - US$393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ashworth by the sea hotel hampton, ashworth by the sea hampton, ashworth sea, ashworth hotel hampton nh
United StatesNew HampshireHampton
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ashworth by the Sea
Which popular attractions are close to Ashworth by the Sea?
Nearby attractions include Casino Ballroom (0.5 km), Explore the Ocean World Oceanarium (0.3 km), and Blue Ocean Discovery Center (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ashworth by the Sea?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Ashworth by the Sea?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Ashworth by the Sea?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Ashworth by the Sea?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ashworth by the Sea?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ron's Landing At Rocky Bend, Jumpin' Jack's Java, and Blinks Fry Doe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ashworth by the Sea?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Ashworth by the Sea offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Ashworth by the Sea?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tuck Museum (3.1 km), James House (5.1 km), and New Hampshire Historic Marker #37 ~ George Washington's Visit (4.4 km).
Does Ashworth by the Sea have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Ashworth by the Sea accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.