We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,368 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,351: English reviews
Start your review of Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

Where do I start? The hotel is beautiful with old world charm, the food at The Salt Restaurant is to die for, and the spa services were top notch. The indoor salt water pool and hot tub are a nice treat on a weekend where temperatures stayed in the single digits, and using the outdoor hot tub was amazing as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurie C
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Five of my closest friends and I spoiled ourselves with a weekend away. It just happened to be one of the coldest weekends in New England so it was perfect! We pampered ourselves with spa treatments and massages, took a dip in the indoor swimming pool and relaxed in the hot tub. The food was to die for and we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenn W
Epping, New Hampshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've often visited the Wentworth by the Sea Hotel as a great place to get away while not traveling a great distance form our home. This beautifully appointed Marriott property is true luxury, just a step from downtown Portsmouth, NH. The rooms are tastefully decorated with every comfort while not overdone. The renovated Salt restaurant has excellent food and drink...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keng381
laconia, nh
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent two mid-week nights in this wonderful hotel, what a grand property. Had it been summer, I am positive we would rate it 5-stars, and want to return in the summer in the future. The staff is excellent in all respects, we were made to feel special from everyone we came into contact with. The room was very comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jwredlabel
Stratham, New Hampshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am a local and a foodie (never ask a thin person about food !). A special event had me search for a new place - most of my old favorites no longer do brunch - and I found out why - THE WENTWORTH HOTEL - they knock all the others off the map. Yes pricey but very very well...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tina-Belgians
Dean P, Director of Food & Beverage at Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hello Tina-Belgians, We are always delighted to receive feedback form "foodies". I am happy to hear that you had such a wonderful experience at our Sunday brunch and we look forward to serving you again when your travels bring you back to New Castle. Best Regards, Dean Pratt

Burlington, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I enjoyed a wonderful weekend at the Portsmouth, NH - Wentworth by the Sea resort. Attended for a girls weekend away. The 4th floor room had cathedral ceilings, and a nice sea water view. The room was extremely clean and high quality furniture. Plenty of lighting at night. The bed was similar to the Westin, famous 'Heavenly Bed', very plush....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank keldracher0
Exeter, NH
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family and I went to Sunday Brunch at Wentworth By The Sea today and I must say I was quite disappointed. The food was adequate to mediocre (for example the waffles were soggy and cold and the pastry s were dry and bland). When the bill arrived, I was completely surprised to see that the bill was SUBSTANTIALLY more...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NHVaca1
Dean P, Director of Food & Beverage at Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hello NHVaca1, Thank you for your recent visit to the Wentworth by the Sea. Our regular brunch price is $39.95 per person plus tax and gratuity. Our brunch price throughout our Winter Wine Festival is $49.95 per person plus tax and gratuity due to the upgraded champagne/sparkling wine that is included in your brunch price. All of our brunches include...

Boston
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went to Wentworth when it was worth it (ie during the half priced winter season). Would give it 5 stars for everything (except maybe value). The room was excellent and the views SPECTACULAR. Very comfortable bed, quiet room, digital climate control, great/friendly service, great food (great local seafood, and great lower priced flatbread), nice pool and fitness center. Fun to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BostonEngineer
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband just got back from a weekend away at the Wentworth. This was our second time staying here. The hotel is beautiful and is an incredible location. Most of the resort over looks the Harbor and even our "non view" room had a pretty good room. Room - The rooms are small but perfect for a couple. The bathrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jul123_12
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My friends and I stayed here for a wedding earlier this month. Our room was a good size & the bathroom was really nice & updated with a heated floor! We had a decent amount of closet space but we visited another room and those guests barely had any room in their suite to hang clothes. The fridge was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LeaMotts

670 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (616)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (141)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (110)
Viewed
View from Room (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (220)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
3.5 km away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
3.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
3.2 km away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
3.5 km away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
5.6 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Address: 588 Wentworth Rd, New Castle, NH 03854-3001
Region: United States > New Hampshire > New Castle
Price Range: RM1,120 - RM2,777 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel And Spa
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel New Castle
Wentworth Sea Nh
Marriott Hotel New Castle
Marriott New Castle
New Castle Marriott
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Westport, Connecticut
Fort Worth, Texas
Highland Heights, Ohio
over a year ago
conn
8 months ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I recommend opting for ocean-view.”
 of 5 bubbles jwredlabel, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“4th floor is the top floor with good views. Cathedral ceilings.”
 of 5 bubbles keldracher0, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the harbor or if you can afford it get the Admirals Suite!”
 of 5 bubbles Jul123_12, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't pay extra for the harbor view.”
 of 5 bubbles rockladyNewHampshire, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“344 was a corner room ocean front. Looked to be recently renovated. My friends room next door was decidedly smaller.”
 of 5 bubbles dawns118, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5