We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,361 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,344: English reviews
Auburn
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We just spent 2 nights here for our place to stay while we visited Maine. Why stay in New Hampshire & not Maine? Because everywhere we tried in Maine this time of year required 4 night minimum. But the drive wasn't bad, no more than 30 min to Kennebunckport, & we got the extra bonus of seeing New Castle &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bkdj96
Nashua,N.H.
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a first class hotel with a first class restaurant- ( the Salt). A lot of history made in this hotel since the 1800's. This is the second time we have stayed overnight here and from the luxurious bedding to the marble bathroom we have felt like it was a very special place. The only disappointment this time was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Priscilla_56_12
ny
Reviewed 18 July 2014

we have stayed at the main hotel and in the marina suites over three stays and we loved both accomodation. when traveling with children, the marina house is a great pick, you have a kitchen, washer dryer and your own pool. when traveling as a couple staying in the main hotel is great. the rooms don't have a lot of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dodiloo
Vineland, New Jersey
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I spent a week at The Wentworth on a New England vacation. Every aspect of this classy hotel, in my opinion, is absolute perfection. From the warm, friendly greeting upon arrival to the way the entire staff treats you like you are special, the Wentworth gets it done. Immaculate rooms and a terrific view of the harbor....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob46890
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 16 July 2014

It's not inexpensive, but you get a great hotel and service for your money. Food at the Salt Restaurant is excellent. Wines are reasonably priced. Service is very friendly and prompt. The rooms are great - ours had full his/hers bathrooms at either end of the suite. Bedroom separate from the living room. Hotel offers shuttle service to Portsmouth -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John662
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is our first stay in the Wentworth by the Sea, though we enjoyed their "Latitude" restaurant on many occasions in the past. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and clean, but we were surprised and really disappointed to get the back "Water" view (305 & 307) although we booked and paid for "Harbor View" rooms. Frankly, the rooms description seems...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Yousif99
WentworthByTheSea, Front Office Manager at Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hello Yousif99: Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay at the Wentworth by the Sea: A Marriott Hotel & Spa. My sincerest apologies that you did not enjoy the view from your rooms. Should you ever decide to return to the Wentworth, please feel free to contact me directly. I will be happy assist you...

Merriamck NH
Reviewed 13 July 2014

It is a beautiful hotel and the rooms are very clean. However, the spa was double of any resort in the area, and tip was mandatory at 18%. If you are unhappy you are out of luck. Breakfast is not included, and should be given the price of the hotel. There is no coffee maker in the room or complimentary...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
WentworthByTheSea, General Manager at Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Michael B. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at Wentworth by the Sea. We will certainly follow up regarding each of your points mentioned above. It is our goal to provide the best possible product and service to all of our guests, and I apologize that we did not meet your expectations during this visit. We do hope...

Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful views from 2 of my rooms. The rooms were very clean and I loved the fact that the windows opened. Very fast and responsive staff I will without a doubt stay here again. The only problem I had was on the weekend nights when guests got a little loud outside from drinking too much. But with that being said...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fidelius C
Bennington
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Where to start... I come here once per year for a golfing event. Last year, we got this tiny room at the end with hardly a view to even look out, however, as. A Marriott member, I got a deal that was basically 50% less than the normal rate, so I did not complain. This year I paid over $400...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank DLLVT
WentworthByTheSea, Front Office Manager at Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear DLLVT: Our sincerest apologies that you did not care for your recent stay at the Wentworth by the Sea. By receiving valuable feedback such as your's, we are consistently able to improve the quality of our service. Should you wish to discuss your experience further, please feel free to call me directly at the number below. With Hospitality, James...

Bucks County, PA
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Wentworth is a classic, beautiful structure and has been pretty well-maintained. The Salt Kitchen restaurant is great and the subject of a separate review. The location on the harbor is nice although a bit underutilized - for example, extensive trees lining the property block much of the view. You need to be on at least the third floor, and really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Streamborne

665 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (616)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (141)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (110)
Viewed
View from Room (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (220)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
3.5 km away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
3.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
3.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
425 reviews
3.5 km away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
5.6 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Address: 588 Wentworth Rd, New Castle, NH 03854-3001
Region: United States > New Hampshire > New Castle
Price Range: RM1,098 - RM2,633 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel And Spa
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel New Castle
Wentworth Sea Nh
Marriott Hotel New Castle
Marriott New Castle
New Castle Marriott
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Westport, Connecticut
Fort Worth, Texas
Highland Heights, Ohio
over a year ago
conn
7 months ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room overlooking the harbor or if you can afford it get the Admirals Suite!”
 of 5 bubbles Jul123_12, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't pay extra for the harbor view.”
 of 5 bubbles rockladyNewHampshire, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“344 was a corner room ocean front. Looked to be recently renovated. My friends room next door was decidedly smaller.”
 of 5 bubbles dawns118, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the harbour”
 of 5 bubbles page69, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Harbor side rooms have the best views.”
  • The Harbor view after sunset.
 of 5 bubbles 509jennaf, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5