We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Save
Traveller (36)
Room & Suite (62)
Dining (16)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good28%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Free Shuttle or Taxi Services
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
Offers from Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Special Offer: Double Points, Every Stay
Hotel deals
Offers from Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Special Offer: Double Points, Every Stay
Hotel deals
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (843)
Filter reviews
827 results
Traveller rating
429
236
89
45
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
429
236
89
45
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschristmas tree shopthe manager's receptionfree shuttleshuttle servicejacuzzi tubbeer and wineroom was cleanfree beercomplimentary breakfastshopping and restaurantsthe breakfast areaa wonderful staynew hampshirefront desk staffminute driveoatmealkittery outlets
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 827 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice hotel, nice rooms, good breakfast, the problem I encountered was with their shuttle service and one of their drivers was rude. We called for pick up from DT Portsmouth and they left is waiting for 1 1/2 when it's only a 10 minute drive...More

Thank Andrea M
Response from Belinda P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth CentralResponded 1 week ago

Andrea, I am very sorry that the level of service that you experienced from our shuttle drivers was less than satisfactory. I will speak to both our front desk agents as well as our shuttle drivers to ensure that they stay in contact with one...More

Hotel's Favourite
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were on a group bus tour from Nova Scotia to board a cruise ship vacation out of New York and our overnight stay going to and coming from NY was at the Hampton. Upon arrival at the hotel there was a complimentary drink and...More

Thank 797Bicks
Response from Belinda P, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth CentralResponded 3 weeks ago

I am happy to hear that your tour group chose to stay with us! I am also pleased that you found our location to be convenient and that you enjoyed our manager's reception and breakfast.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Having never been here, we prebooked a room, glad we did! GPS brought us right to the door. Friendly check-in, valet parking(an expensive option, but for one night’s stay, worth it for us). Great location, walked around the historic neighbourhood. Great choice after a great...More

Thank OldWill57
Response from Belinda P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth CentralResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for writing a review for our property! I am pleased to hear that you found our location to be convenient and that you are considering staying with us again in the future!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a very nice hotel. The staff is pleasant and place overall clean. Unfortunately I only realized when I checked in that the entire hotel and rooms are open for guests with pets. I would think only certain floors and rooms are allowed for...More

Thank saratogaspa71
Response from Belinda P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth CentralResponded 2 weeks ago

Saratogaspa71, Thank you for your review of our property. I apologize that you were unaware of our pet policy prior to arriving. We do try to keep pets on our lower floors; however, that is not always possible at times. I will speak to our...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was average only, The pillows where on the hard side. Bathroom linens and accessories where perfect. The AC from the neighboring room (308) was so loud , it felt like we where sleeping on an airport runway. The breakfast was below par. The...More

Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank landes2018
Response from Belinda P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth CentralResponded 3 weeks ago

Landes2018, I apologize that your experience at our hotel did not live up to your expectations. I will have our Chief Engineer check on the HVAC unit in 308 to ensure that it is working properly. Was there anything in particular that we could do...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Portsmouth
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Business Centre with Internet Access
Shuttle Bus Service
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Microwave
Things to do
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hot Tub
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Details
Price range
US$187 - US$290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$187 - US$290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (36)
Room & Suite (62)
Dining (16)
Pool & Beach (8)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (5)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
WaneoCat79
13 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from b w | Reviewed this property |
This is negotiable on how busy they are. You would have to swear time. Honestly we used it for restaurant areas especially not have to park then and can have wine
0
Votes
kkchief023
3 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from ginnyanddave | Reviewed this property |
Friday night. We have stayed there before and they had the reception both Friday and Saturday.
0
Votes
kathleentokos
22 October 2016|
Answer
Response from Venusbeachreturners | Reviewed this property |
Hi I think the answer to both your questions is no but best to email the hotel
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Give the parking cost serious thought."
Read review
"all rooms seem great ...we stayed on the fifth floor going over and stayed on the second floor coming back"
Read review
"Request a room on the top floor and in the back of the hotel"
Read review
"All rooms seem very good."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing