We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Save
Share
505 US Highway 1 Byp, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4175
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
eDreams
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$200
US$179
View deal
SAVE US$21
Free cancellation until 12/10/21
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
FindHotelUS$200
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (202)
Room & Suite (216)
Pool & Beach (29)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from The Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Updated 02/06/20

About

#3 of 18 hotels in Portsmouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Enjoy the numerous amenities offered at Port Inn Portsmouth, an Ascend Hotel Collection(R) member, in Portsmouth, New Hampshire. Conveniently located just off Rt. 95 and the Portsmouth Traffic Circle, this Portsmouth hotel offers: • Free high-speed wireless Internet access • Free hot breakfast • Free weekday newspaper • Free parking. Relax in a cozy lounge chair by our seasonal heated outdoor swimming pool with its expansive sun deck and barbeque area. The Port Inn Portsmouth has long been regarded as an accommodating, affordable and modern getaway spot for travelers. The spacious, non-smoking rooms at The Port Inn feature microwaves, refrigerators, Starbucks in room coffee, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and High Definition cable television. Our convenient location puts you just minutes from downtown Portsmouth and its wide array of culinary, cultural and shopping offerings. Market Square is the hub of activity in the area with numerous shops and restaurants. We also are minutes from: • Strawbery Banke Museum • John Paul Jones House • Old Port Area We are pet friendly- sorry, dogs only.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Telephone
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family
Languages Spoken
English
1176Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 755
  • 312
  • 81
  • 21
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jimssheridan wrote a review Feb 2021
Agawam14 contributions17 helpful votes
We were allowed to check in 2.5 hours early. Checkin and checkout were easy. The room was surprisingly large and very clean. They said there was a microwave in the room. Not only was there a microwave, but also a dorm size fridge, twin hot plates, a sink, plates, glasses, and silverware. This was perfect because it is winter and we have a German Shepherd, so most of our meals were eaten in the room. Plenty of area to walk the dog. The Roundabout diner is less than 1 mile away. Great room. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Port Inn, General Manager at The Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded 15 Mar 2021
Thank you so much for providing us with your feedback. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your time here in Portsmouth. We do hope to see you and your fur baby again soon!
Read more
Brenda wrote a review Feb 2021
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Don't go here! It is dark, dingy, smelly and overall rundown!!!!! Old carpet, marked walls and tented lamp shade. There are vehicles stored in the parking lot. There are people hanging around in the parking lot.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Port Inn, General Manager at The Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded 15 Mar 2021
We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback.
Read more
SDMVDW wrote a review Jan 2021
Seattle, Washington2 contributions
Negative reviews result in you being blamed and then kicked out for this shoddy motel's practices including trying to hold your packages hostage if your are late on payment even in these tough Covid times, no 24/7 service, unreliable manager's hours , filthy carpets, no premium cable channels even though they show on guide, spotty and inconsistent wifi, irregular cleaning, continuous trash issue, smoking where it is marked no smoking that was not addressed even on my last day there, mini fridge froze all my food and expensive medication. The “freezer" section of the mini fridge didn't freeze things. Mine didn't work and I was only offered an even smaller fridge. The kind maintenance person tried to help, but could only offer a smaller mini fridge. Manager never addressed this even though I reported it three times. Admittedly, I was guilty of leaving dog poop, but I but I did clean it up including on my day I had to leave. In answer to my complaints/observations, I was told that I had to leave because "I wasn't happy there". I had to leave my room in 3 hours and then come back the next day to move the rest of my belongings. I was also told that my opinions and observations on my review on Google were defamation. Per the definition, "Defamation is the oral or written communication of a false statement about another that unjustly harms their reputation and usually constitutes a tort or crime", I am not defaming any one or the place since all of my statements were true. I would truly appreciate a conversation with the owners and not the hotel management as the response to my review was posted by one of them, I'm assuming, and certainly defamed me.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Port Inn, General Manager at The Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded 15 Mar 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We will communicate your concerns.
Read more
christine1cranston wrote a review Oct 2020
Cranston, Rhode Island38 contributions17 helpful votes
Let me preface this review with saying that we have stayed at this hotel two other times before this and it was terrific... This particular time was beyond awful. First of all, we I checked in I couldn't believe how rude the front desk worker was. He was essentially rolling his eyes at me, giving me a terrible attitude and was incredibly unpleasant. I was shocked. I have never been treated that way by a front desk hotel worker in my life. Now, let's move on to the room. It smelled stuffy and slightly like mildew. Not the way you would like a room to smell in the midst of a pandemic. I have also attached pictures. The room was worn down and is in desperate need of new furniture, etc. The final straw was the people above us (we believe it was actually the office area) kept us up all night with pounding on the floor, running around all at 2am, 3am, etc. until we just decided to leave at 4:30am. It was crazy. We were so disappointed!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Ralph D wrote a review Oct 2020
Worcester, Massachusetts1 contribution
The property was in excellent condition. With Covid19 the staff and most all guests maintained social distancing and wore face covering. Despite all these additional tasks the staff still found the time to smile and offer a salutation. Nice job and thank you
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Port Inn, General Manager at The Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Responded 21 Oct 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete your review. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to having you back again.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$107 - US$274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the port hotel portsmouth, port hotel portsmouth
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Port Inn Portsmouth
LOCATION
United StatesNew HampshirePortsmouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
56
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Which popular attractions are close to The Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Nearby attractions include Portsmouth Escape Room (0.9 km), Rumble Tumble (0.7 km), and New Hampshire Theatre Project (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Roundabout Diner & Lounge, Street, and Botanica Restaurant and Gin Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Strawbery Banke Museum (2.2 km), Moffatt-Ladd House & Garden (2.0 km), and John Paul Jones House, part of the Portsmouth Historical Society (1.6 km).
Is The Port Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.