We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Anchorage Inns & Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Anchorage Inns & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

355 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 339: English reviews
Boston
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was really stressed trying to find a really nice Inn that had smoking rooms and in a good part of town, to celebrate my husbands birthday. I came across Anchorage Inns & Suites in Portsmouth, best thing I could have done. I called and spoke with Margie Curtis the front desk manager and explained what I had planned. She...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Watermelon1525
boston
Reviewed 12 December 2016

We stayed at the Anchorage for the first weekend of the Christmas Prelude in Kennebunkport. Rooms are very clean and view of the ocean does not disappoint. Breakfast was good and the lounge upstairs offers stellar ocean views and beautiful sunsets!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mergek
Margie C, Manager at Anchorage Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review but unfortunately it is not for this hotel. We are in Portsmouth,NH

Reviewed 12 December 2016

I booked this hotel through Expedia because the rate and location (convenient-- just off I-95) were what I needed to attend a nearby wedding. . However, I was more than pleased. The staff were friendly and helpful, even changing my room to an upper floor when I checked in an agreeable manner.. The pool and hot tub were pleasant surprises,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane J
Margie C, Manager at Anchorage Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again,

Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We felt welcomed by outstanding staff, especially Cameron the young man who was the Manager.In addition, the place is looking pretty spiff. Downtown is close and great! Great walking town or Uber for 6 bucks. Great dining, pubs and shops. Kittery Mall also. It was far better than I expected. They appear to be about 80% done their remodeling and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pattyanne2008
Joseph P, Manager at Anchorage Inns & Suites, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. and Thank you so much for the kind words about the staff and the manager Cameron. Yes we have been very busy remodeling the hotel and it is coming along wonderful . You will have to come back and visit us soon. We look forward to your next...

Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

I recently stayed with one of my young sons for one night while visiting friends locally. My friends recommended it as an inexpensive, convenient to highway place to stay near their home. We stayed on the 3rd floor and it was very clean with updated bathroom, new carpet and new sheets/bedding. My son loved the indoor pool and spent 1...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Penny H
Joseph P, Manager at Anchorage Inns & Suites, responded to this review

We'd like to Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and staff. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope you will come and visit us again.

Poultney, Vermont
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Well, we just returned from a weekend in Portsmouth, staying at the Anchorage Inn because of the reasonable room rate and reviews that did not include anything TOO scary, you know the reviews I'm talking about. The air conditioner/fan unit in our room did not work, I spoke with the front desk twice and the said they would get right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eckpfd
Joseph P, Manager at Anchorage Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again

Toledo, Ohio
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We stayed at the Anchorage because it was dog friendly. They charged us $20 for a dog-friendly room--it's apparent they did not use their extra $20 to clean the room, since it stunk like dog urine and there was both dog hair and dog food on the floor. When I mentioned this at checkout, I was told "Oh,we're replacing the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 236fred55
Joseph P, Manager at Anchorage Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel and staff. We do charge a $20.00 fee per animal per night it is a PET fee not an extra person fee. I am sorry you were told the wrong information. We have remodeled our pet- friendly room were there is no more rugs. We do hope...

Reviewed 17 October 2016

My reason for choosing this hotel was for its close proximity to downtown Portsmouth and it had a swimming pool which I need. My husband and I stayed 2 nights and the pool was never open at 8am when it was supposed to be. The first morning, the employee didn't know which key opened the pool. On the second day,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane F
Joseph P, Manager at Anchorage Inns & Suites, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. The pool is now open at 8 am every morning and the keys are here all the time. We would love for you to come see us again and enjoy your stay here at the Anchorage Inns and Suites.

Charlestown, Rhode Island
Reviewed 10 October 2016

I was visiting New Hampshire to see my son at UNH, and was pleasantly surprised at how close to campus and easily accessible the hotel was. I checked in late at night, and even though the front desk manager, Cameron, was not on his scheduled shift at the time, he jumped right in to help the clerk who became overwhelmed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boys1592001
Joseph P, Manager at Anchorage Inns & Suites, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us . We look forward to you coming to visit us again.

Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Had a great stay. Great clean rooms and service. We will stay every time we come to this area. Cameron the front desk clerk is funny and fun and knows his job well. Thank you Cameron for a great experience. Also Justin who knows where the great restaurants are and how to give directions. Great job both of you. Great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shmwhitehead
Joseph P, Manager at Anchorage Inns & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of the hotel and staff. We look forward to see you again on your next visit.

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.9 km away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.6 km away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#15 of 17 in Portsmouth
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modern, brick and wood - On I-95. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Anchorage Inns & Suites

Address: 417 Woodbury Ave, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3247
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: RM375 - RM767 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anchorage Inns & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Anchorage Inns & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Inns Hotel Portsmouth
Anchorage Inns And Suites
Anchorage Hotel Portsmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Anchorage Inns & Suites staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Nashua, New Hampshire
21 days ago
Putney, Vermont

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Anchorage Inns & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors are definitely quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 164dianej, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Request a room at the back of the hotel, 3rd floor. Very quiet and view of less used parking lot and woods and cannot hear the highway!”
 of 5 bubbles pattyanne2008, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you want a non-smoking room, make sure you call the hotel directly--ditto if you want a dog-friendly room”
 of 5 bubbles 236fred55, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Can't recommend staying here, in all good conscience.”
 of 5 bubbles JillsaQT, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Anchorage Inn...Stop stealing valuables that don't belong to you!”
 of 5 bubbles jbruin1958, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay