We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rye Motor Inn & Swim Shop

Save
Share
741 Ocean Blvd, Rye, NH 03870-2105
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotels.com
Booking.com
FindHotel
Priceline
Agoda.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room & Suite (25)
Pool & Beach (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 19/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 19/01/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 4 hotels in Rye
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
At Rye Motor Inn, we offer 12 modern studio apartments for the independent traveler. Housed in a newly-renovated historic 1950’s motel directly across from the ocean, we are just a ten minute drive to bustling downtown Portsmouth and Hampton. The property includes an oversized, seasonal heated swimming pool and BBQ area. Our micro-resort is open to guests aged 18 and older. Stay a night, week, or month!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Beach
Patio
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Adults only
BBQ facilities
Parking
Internet
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Dining area
Private balcony
Seating area
Separate dining area
Sofa
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Minibar
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
Compare More Popular Hotels
4Reviews0Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 3
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
Jeff C wrote a review Jun 2021
Hampton, New Hampshire131 contributions47 helpful votes
I had a friend of mine that we put up at this hotel and all he said was SIMPLY AWESOME PLACE TO STAY. The motel is retro 50's and 60's and the look and charm are different than any hotel that I have EVER seen. BOOK IT NOW!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Across the street from the Ocean. Very quiet.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Doug Palardy, Owner at Rye Motor Inn & Swim Shop
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the referral Jeff! We appreciate you spreading the good word :-)
Read more
Punchycorn wrote a review Jun 2021
Cambridge, Massachusetts10 contributions11 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed at the lovely Rye Motor Inn the week of Memorial Day, and it was the BEST experience. Doug has truly paid attention to every single detail with guest comfort as the highest priority. The decor is beachy and fun without being cluttered or kitschy, the apartment was spotless, and the views of the ocean across the street were so calming and lovely. Everything - down to the fabulous toiletries - is so thoughtful! Even the minibar items have been selected with great care and are incredibly reasonably priced. We haven't yet been when the lovely pool was open, but we'll come back to experience it, for sure! And while it was a disappointment, Abby from Seacoast Apart-Hotels called us before we arrived to let us know of that issue and to work with us. They were really proactive and thoughtful, and even without it, the area was just delightful for walks along the rocky beach. If you're bird nerds like we are, even casual birdwatching from the property is great! We saw red-winged blackbirds, a hummingbird, finches, and more, and the ocean nearby had some eiders, cormorants, and more. It was so nice to be away from it all and cared for and comfortable at every turn. This place is not to be missed! I'd also like to add that I was the guest who assisted the guest in the post below with connecting to the internet when she arrived...about 5 hours before check-in. I'm not quite sure what she was expecting for service when arriving so wildly early, but based on my own experience, I'd take her experience and review with a generous handful of salt.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Paul O wrote a review Jun 2021
3 contributions
Stayed there recently..60 year old female traveling solo. Was told I would receive an email for self check-in…never did. Upon arrival at 11AM there was no cell reception, no registration office, no employees on site. After 45 minutes trying to locate personnel ( to no avail) a guest was leaving and helped me connect to internet on my phone, providing access code. Without going into specifics as not to endanger other guests….I will just say the auto check in was NOT a safe process for a woman traveling alone. The weather was 90 degrees, I arrived on June 6..the pool had no water in it..apparently wouldn’t be operational until June 15. Yes, the “inn” is across from the ocean….HOWEVER, THERE ARE STEEP BOULDERS AND ROCKS WHICH MUST BE SCALED TO REACH THE SAND. The ocean at high tide does provide an area to dip toes…..but definetly not for swimming….all rocks. At low tide no water access. The room was lovely..though no landlines..no one on premise in case of emergency and sketchy cell reception. Apparently the owners business plan is to run the property basically remotely. So much for hospitality… If you are looking for beach access ..0, room aesthetics 8..security 0 Also, no hair dryer, I like to read in bed…lighting above bed not working
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Doug Palardy, Owner at Rye Motor Inn & Swim Shop
Responded 18 Jun 2021
Hello Sheila - I was expecting to see this review after you verbally accosted me at the inn on the day of your arrival. For the record and knowledge for future guests: you were sent arrival instructions, not once, but twice to your email. They may have gone into spam box, which we apologized when speaking to you. On our website, and on your confirmation email, it clearly states that our check-in time is at 4PM, not 11AM when you showed up expecting to get into your room. You arrived 5 hours prior to check-in when we were cleaning rooms at our other Seacoast locations, so we were not on site at that time. It is very common today that properties now use contactless check-in. We have using this procedure for five years, even prior to Covid, to much success and praise at our other locations. We clearly stated on our website and in the room description that our pool was not opening until after June 15th where you booked a brand-new, fully equipped apartment at a greatly reduced price of $149. Prior to your check-in when you hung up on our manager who told you check-in begins at 4PM, I called you and left a message on your voicemail stating if you were not happy with our location and check-in process I would gladly refund you 100% of your stay. Later you chose to verbally accost me in the parking lot after checking into your room, I again offered you the opportunity for me to refund you in full if you wanted to check-out and select a different hotel for your stay on the Seacoast. You continued to talk over me, called me names, and then gave me the middle finger as you walked away and went back to your room, where you chose to stay for the night. A hair-dryer was in one of the cabinets in the room. Had you called us to inquire we would have been happy to tell you where it was. I also checked the lighting in your room and it is working fine. Again, had you called and were having issues with turning them on, I would gladly have talked you through it. I am sorry you chose to stay with us after being so unhappy when virtually every other hotel in the area had rooms open that night you could selected after being refunded by us. Instead, you elected to stay, left the room trashed for our housekeepers to deep-clean, and now leave this review. How unfortunate.
Read more
wfadler wrote a review Jan 2021
Mountain View, California19 contributions14 helpful votes
We stayed at the Rye Motor Inn for 12 days over the holidays. We usually stay in Portsmouth, but we chose this Inn becaus it is blocks from our grandchildren's home. The Inn is an unprepossessing motel that has just been beautifully renovated in a charming 1950s sensibility. The pool area was being rebuilt during our stay and will be available for the Summer season. We stayed a couple of nights in a queen room and the remainder in a king room, which is very large. All rooms have a full kitchen with plenty of kitchenware and cooking pots, pans and utensils. The units have brand new large screen TVs offering a good selection if cable channels but no premium channels such as HBO. Rooms are stocked with drinks and snacks for sale at reasonable prices though the Inn is only 10-15 minutes from the stores serving Portsmouth and Hampton. Bathrooms (some with walk-in showers, others with tub showers) are small but very functional with ample shelving and towel racks and . Doug, the proprietor, was always available and very responsive. All in all, we couldn't have made a better choice for a long, off-season stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Doug Palardy, Owner at Rye Motor Inn & Swim Shop
Responded 27 Jan 2021
So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for being one of our very first guests. We look forward to having you back this summer! With Regards, Doug
Read more
Write your review
What was your hotel experience like?
Write a review
Share your best travel photo
Let the world see your hotel experience through your eyes.
Post a photo
Get quick answers
Ask fellow travellers and hotel staff your top questions.
Ask a question
PRICE RANGE
US$250 - US$418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pebble cove hotel rye
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Pebble Cove
LOCATION
United StatesNew HampshireRye
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Rye Motor Inn & Swim Shop
Which popular attractions are close to Rye Motor Inn & Swim Shop?
Nearby attractions include Odiorne Point State Park (0.9 km), USS Albacore Museum (6.4 km), and Market Square (5.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Rye Motor Inn & Swim Shop?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Rye Motor Inn & Swim Shop?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Rye Motor Inn & Swim Shop?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Rye Motor Inn & Swim Shop?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rye Motor Inn & Swim Shop?
Conveniently located restaurants include Green Elephant, Beach Pea Baking Co, and Ristorante Massimo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Rye Motor Inn & Swim Shop?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Rye Motor Inn & Swim Shop?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Rye Motor Inn & Swim Shop?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Strawbery Banke Museum (5.1 km), Moffatt-Ladd House & Garden (5.7 km), and John Paul Jones House, part of the Portsmouth Historical Society (5.4 km).
Does Rye Motor Inn & Swim Shop have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.