We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Burkehaven Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Burkehaven Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Burkehaven Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 78: English reviews
Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Sadly this was not a good experience from the outset. We arrived tired after a 10 hour drive and the owner very reluctantly gave us a cup of milk for us to make a cup of tea. Customer service was non existent, no welcome, just a demand for payment. There was no air conditioning so the rooms were very hot...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ASfromUK
Reviewed 8 August 2016

I would look for other accommodations in the area. We rented a room the first week in August, my wife and I (we are mid-late 50's) & used the room for overflow from our house on Lake Sunapee. On the second to last day a friend visited us for the day and parked in the parking lot. While we were...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank JB B
travelover183, Manager at Burkehaven Lodge, responded to this review

Your mother graciously paid for your accommodations. She is a very nice woman who I have known for years. We were happy to help her because she was very excited to have her estranged family finally visit. On the day you are referring to, you parked four cars in front of someone else's room. I called your mother and she...

MA
Reviewed 6 April 2016

A great spot for our visit to see the beautiful fall foliage & visit friends in the area. We've stayed here several times & enjoy it immensely. It is very clean & comfortable, & extremely quiet & peaceful. The owners are extremely nice, & helpful. Not sure where these negative reviews are coming from, maybe people looking for more of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KAREN S
travelover183, Manager at Burkehaven Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this review. Our aim is exactly what you have explained and come to expect. We are in a quiet peaceful residential area next door to a lovely church.We ask for quiet time after 10pm out of respect for our guests and neighbors. Breakfast is a nice time for guests to get together and compare notes...

East Freetown, Massachusetts
Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

Great place very comfortable second floor condo plenty of room for the three couples and two children. This was the coldest weekend in years minus 34 degrees at Mt Sunapee. Because of this Mt vehicle would not start Rick the owner tried his jumpers then pulled out his charger to finally get me going. Rick was very pleasant and accommodating...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Blake64
travelover183, Manager at Burkehaven Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you! Winter will be here before you know it. THINK SNOW!!!!

Fairfield, Connecticut
Reviewed 16 January 2016

This lodge (basically motel) is clean and well kept, BUT the owner is the worst person in the hospitality business, hands down. We are a very large ski group, booking out 90% of the rooms, was ridiculed during every interaction with this man. Despite being a ski lodge, he would not allow us to bring our skis into the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank ksheeeep
travelover183, Manager at Burkehaven Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the compliment on the rooms being clean and well kept. However, the only way we can achieve this in the winter is not to allow skis in the rooms. They get the rugs dirty and wet and scratch the walls. Most people leave them on their racks or prop them up outside their doors. We asked politely...

Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 25 September 2015

I was prepared to think the owner must have just had a bad day when he irrationally yelled at our adult group for congregating in the "game room" without asking and for having too many cars in his empty parking lot. He also ran off a friend of ours who had pulled into the parking lot to visit ....saying "guests...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Trip123481
travelover183, Manager at Burkehaven Lodge, responded to this review

I know you were here to attend a funeral service. We were sympathetic to your loss. However, you had already checked out in the morning and invited everyone who attended the service back to our lobby for food and drinks. There were 12 extra people in our lobby and more attempting to come. We are a small facility and cannot...

Guiyang, China
Reviewed 11 September 2015

Having stayed at hundreds of hotels the world over, I was expecting something resembling good service upon return to Sunapee. Having known the hotel previously from the 1980s I assumed the same service and hospitality quality but that was a seriously flawed assumption. Two things to take away from the Burkehaven-1. The place is being juiced for cash..not much effort...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JaseQ
Palmetto, Florida
Reviewed 9 September 2015

What a little gem of a very New England motel the Burkehaven Lodge is. The room was very well laid out, the bed was comfy and we enjoyed our time on the patio overlooking the mountains. Off the beaten path, this motel is very quiet and peaceful. Wish we could have stayed longer.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mommajoy2015
Chatham
Reviewed 9 September 2015

This place reminds me of going back in time. It has a friendly vibe. It's clean and easy to go in and out of from your car. Sit outside your room and have a pretty view of the mountains and beauty of the lush trees and foliage. The rooms are fine, and beds are comfortable. Only one king bed room,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Heather M
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Burkehaven Lodge is a great place Rick and Doris the owners are the nicest people . This place is extremely clean and the breakfasts are great. We especially loved the warm bueberry and banana cake. My grandchildren loved the pool and I definitely would return.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Maria C

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunapee
4.2 km away
Sunapee Lake Lodge
Sunapee Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mount Sunapee
136 reviews
34.2 km away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
343 reviews
4.4 km away
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee
2.4 km away
Dexter's Inn
Dexter's Inn
#1 of 2 in Sunapee
58 reviews
10.6 km away
Follansbee Inn
Follansbee Inn
#1 of 3 in Sutton
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly remodeled rooms. Continental breakfast served daily. Each room has calbe TV/VCR, microwave, refrigerator, coffee and toaster. Swim or relax poolside with Mount Sunapee in view. Have a cookout at the pool on the gas grills. Spectacular views of Mount Sunapee. Short walk to Sunapee Harbor excitement. The Burkehaven enjoys the advantage of the Town Beach, a two-minute drive. Swimming and fishing is 300 feet away at the Burkehaven Cove. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Burkehaven Lodge

Address: 179 Burkehaven Hill Road, Sunapee, NH 03782
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Sunapee
Price Range: RM564 - RM722 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Burkehaven Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Burkehaven Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burkehaven Hotel Sunapee
Burkehaven Motel Sunapee
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Burkehaven Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the senior rate advertised on the hotel's website.”
Finny1969, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try the rooms on the end since the ones near the office will be noisier in the morning because of breakfast.”
Bostongirl88, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are good, all face the mountain.”
buddymav, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't be sure a printed confirmation means anything.”
CG375, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Parking right in front of your room........single level.”
mommajoy2015, 9 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5