We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Black Bear Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
09/05/2017 10/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
Panoramas (25)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 245: English reviews
Start your review of Black Bear Lodge
 Click to rate
Hudson, New Hampshire
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Waterville valley is a great place for a family, with lots to do. Rented a condo (rm 315) for a couple nights to get away off season. It's what we expected... certainly nothing fancy, adequate for a family to spend some time. Sleeps 6 people in the 2 rooms: qn bed with cheap mattress, twin trundle bed in same room,...

Thank Lauralanglois
Keene, New Hampshire
Reviewed 14 March 2017

My family and I went to Waterville Valley to volunteer for the Special Olympic 2017 Winter games. We book the last available room that I could find within a five mile radios the mountain. My Husband and I were going to be split into two teams to volunteer...and I know they were short on help which is why we just...

3Thank 581Julie
Kim B, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review

Followed up with personal letter and special offer to this guest.

Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

DO NOT STAY HERE: 1. Your room is never ready 2. The rooms are so outdated 3. They yell at your kids for having fun at 10:00 ON THE WEEKEND 4. And some of the TV's are as old as time 5. The Pool is dirty 6. At the pool they don't have fresh towels. DO NOT STAY HERE

1Thank Gavin H
Kim B, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review

Greetings: First off, let me say how sorry I am that your stay was obviously not up to par. I wish I could turn the clock back and correct the short falls or at least have the opportunity to address the issues and make an attempt at making up for the items you have listed. Our standard check in time...

Reviewed 22 February 2017

we just returned from a long weekend of youth hockey and plenty of snow at Waterville Valley and The Black Bear Lodge. As others have said, it is really pretty dated. The lobby is charming, warm. The front desk was very friendly. So, each room is furnished differently by their individual owners. Most are seriously dated but clean. I swear...

1Thank Tracey O
Kim B, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tracey O: It was nice to hear that your family was comfortable and happy during their stay and yes, the full kitchens are a very popular feature here. We try to stock them with everything you might need to make a basic meal and by in large, it works out quite well. You are 100% correct as each unit...

Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

We have stayed at the Black bear for Columbus weekend and then came back again in December when we had tickets to the polar express in Lincoln. The lodge is perfect for families. The layout of the room includes everything you will need to have a convenient stay with your family. We have a 2 and 4 year old so...

Thank mfoleary
Kim B, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Black Bear Lodge Guests: Thanks much for taking the time to give us your kind feed back. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your unit. Sounds like you had the opportunity to make some fantastic memories and I'm very pleased that the Black Bear Lodge could be a part of that experience. We look forward to...

Cleburne, Texas
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for a family friendly, affordable place to stay, this may be the one. Though somewhat dated, this facility is well maintained. Like all time share condominiums, each unit is updated a little more or less. We happen to be an unit that was recently updated. It had newer cabinets, stainless appliances, Etc., so probably one of...

Thank Johnson22
Kim B, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Black Bear Lodge Guest: Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your comments and feed back! You are correct...we are not a 5-Star resort but we do provide an immaculately clean Lodge and 5-Star Guest Service. The "rude" young lady in the afternoon is certainly A-typical and has been addressed with the front office staff....

Waltham, MA
Reviewed 1 November 2016

I had a hard time deciding whether to give this lodge a three or a four. I think for some people, it could be a really fun place to stay -- families, young people up for a ski weekend, etc. We were looking for a somewhat romantic place to spend an anniversary weekend, and it just wasn't quite right for...

1Thank FLRD
Kim B, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review

Good Morning: It was very nice of you to take all the time and effort to write us! We do so appreciate our guests feed back and your write up was "spot on"! All of our units (107) are owned by individuals and decorated/appointed according to their tastes/likes. So, basically we have a very wide variety of rooms with different...

Pembroke, Massachusetts
Reviewed 27 October 2016

I was a little nervous after booking this weekend trip from group on because I found a few bad reviews as to the cleanliness of the facility and the friendliness of the staff. These claims are utterly false!!! We were treated wonderfully by the staff every time we interacted with them. And our suited was very clean. There are shops...

Thank Katie R
Kim B, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you so much for your wonderful feed back! We do our very best each and every day to make our guests happy and offer a great product. This is wonderful and I feel that your response has "made our day"! Warm Regards,

Catonsville, Maryland
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The lodge is filled with individual units that are separately owned, so each one is a little different. Comes with a kitchen, bedroom that could sleep 3, full bath. The location was superb. It's part of a ski resort and your passes for the lodge also grant you a "freedom pass" which allows you to rent bikes and boats, as...

Thank katbruce1989
Kim B, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review

Greetings: Just a few quick words to say how thankful we are that you took the time to give us some feed back about your stay. Our location is perfect for most all day trips to many of the local attractions. All of our units are owned and appointed according to the tastes of the owners. Thanks again for your...

Reviewed 30 September 2016

It was very nice clean spacious 1 bedroom condo with full kitchen. We have stayed in 3rd floor .Nice community where you can do many activities with freedom passes included in the stay.It is 10 miles away from I-93 exit but the drive was beautiful

1Thank Mousumi M
Kim B, General Manager at Black Bear Lodge, responded to this review

Good Morning: Thank you for taking the time to give us your feed back regarding your recent stay. The staff and I are fortunate to work at such a nice Lodge and we are pleased you think the room was attractive & functional. The Freedom Pass is very popular and we are glad you enjoyed using it. Hope to see...

291 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (47)
Bathroom (7)
Room/Suite (21)
View from Room (1)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Family/Play Areas (2)
Other (8)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (230)
Amenities (28)
Deluxe Sleep 6 (38)
Loft Sleep 8 (54)
Pool (20)
Superior Sleep 6 (41)
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (14)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Room/Suite (6)
Bathroom (2)
Dining (1)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (2)
09/05/2017 10/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville Valley
0.4 km away
The Valley Inn
The Valley Inn
#4 of 5 in Waterville Valley
195 reviews
0.3 km away
Snowy Owl Inn
Snowy Owl Inn
#5 of 5 in Waterville Valley
233 reviews
16.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 km away
Village Of Loon Mountain
Village Of Loon Mountain
#10 of 20 in Lincoln
187 reviews
32.5 km away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
19.7 km away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#11 of 20 in Lincoln
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the heart of the White Mountains in picturesque Waterville Valley Resort, the Black Bear Lodge is a family friendly, well appointed all suite hotel with one bedroom condominiums. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Bear Lodge

Address: 23 Black Bear Road, Box 357, Waterville Valley, NH 03215
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Waterville Valley
Price Range: RM595 - RM985 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Black Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Waterville Valley
Black Bear Waterville Valley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Black Bear Lodge staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Black Bear Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a renovated room and ask if there is a hockey tournament.”
  • Dust bunnies on the ceiling
  • Dinning chair #2
  • Dinning chair #3
  • Make up on the door
  • Living room chair
581Julie, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Definitely the upper floor loft condos seem to have the most space.”
FLRD, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid 1st floor ,as you will see parking directly.you can do many activities with freedom passes included in the stay.”
Mousumi111, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Request an updated/renovated room on a high floor, not facing the parking lot”
sadieash, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great, choose depending on the size of the party!”
gmuise, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
* /night
View Deal
View all 8 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates