We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Olde Mill Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Olde Mill Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 254: English reviews
Start your review of The Olde Mill Inn
 Click to rate
Los Angeles
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel was fine - a bit dated. I had trouble adjusting the heat and ended up leaving the door to the balcony open a crack to keep the room from being too hot. (The alternative was turn off of the heat a freeze.) The continental breakfast was not great. The coffee was pretty bad - and I am usually...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LAluxurytraveler
Apex, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I spent a week here on a recent business trip. From TA reviews, I was hopeful for a good experience and was sorely disappointed. I had a courtyard room with a door the had a major gap letting air in. Unfortunately, this was during a blizzard and I could feel the breeze cross the room throughout the entire storm. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FoutsNC
oldemillinn, General Manager at The Olde Mill Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. I would like to post a picture of the room you stayed in so future guests can see what the room really does look like, however I cannot seem to post one here. The reason I say that is because the room has brand new carpet, pictures, bedding,...

Sparta
Reviewed 1 week ago

Have an annual dinner for 35 at the Grain House every year – always amazed by the setup, food, service. The staff is very attentive, can put together a room and keep 35 people happy – amazing. The food is outstanding, from the appetizers to the main course. We continue to book, and have no desire to move the dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnFSparta
oldemillinn, Manager at The Olde Mill Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words, I know the staff will be so happy to read such a nice review. Look forward to seeing you and your party again soon.

Cranford, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms and hotel was very clean but a little outdated. They could definitely use some modern upgrades. Food was also so so, could use some improvements. I liked the fact that you can park your car right outside your hotel room. It makes it so convenient to load and unload your suitcase and belongings. The hotel is conveniently located...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dgasior
oldemillinn, General Manager at The Olde Mill Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. The hotel is more like an "Inn" so the style is more of a boutique look. Please let us know what modern upgrades you would like to see. All our guest rooms have Keurig coffee makers, safes, refrigerators, Wi-Fi, lamps have USB plugs and outlets, HD channels including HBO. I believe your meeting was in...

Middletown,nj
Reviewed 14 February 2017

There were 18 of us and we had a wonderful time. The hotel was very gracious and made us feel very welcome. There was a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in all of our rooms as promised. The hotel lobby was beautifully decorated and they had cookies and warm cider available to all the guests. I would recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseph N
oldemillinn, General Manager at The Olde Mill Inn, responded to this review

I remember seeing all of you over the weekend having such a great time together. Thank you very much for such a nice review, and we hope to have ALL of you back again soon.

Lebanon, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 February 2017

This was our first time hosting our company's annual meeting at the Olde Mill Inn & Grain House and wow! This facility is so unique and different from all the other "big box" hotels in Jersey and the charm of this place will knock your socks off. Our meeting was held over a 2-day period on a Saturday & Sunday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DestinationAthlete
oldemillinn, General Manager at The Olde Mill Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a great review. The words you used (unique and different form the other "big box" hotels) are exactly the way we describe ourselves. All our larger meeting rooms are really unlike any other meeting spaces in the area. As an independent hotel, we know we must work harder than the chain brand hotels. I...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

Historic Inn near Basking Ridge NJ. Lots of charm but also not all the modern amenities you expect from newer lodging options. There is a sister restaurant on the property you can walk to. The rooms are modest and there is a decent breakfast as part of the nightly fee.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
oldemillinn, Manager at The Olde Mill Inn, responded to this review

Very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We make every effort to ensure our guests have everything they need during their stay with us. Our property does offer free Wifi, Keurig coffee makers in each room, Laundry Service, Iron & Ironing boards, safes, HD Channels including HBO and all the top channels. Most of our rooms and soon...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 13 January 2017

The personalized service offered by this hotel is seldom seen: shuttle service to local businesses, a full breakfast buffet, accommodating staff to your every need. In-room coffee service is not the general skimpy selection and amount, but six pods of caffeinated varieties. There is just nothing negative to report

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tableforone50
oldemillinn, Manager at The Olde Mill Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We make every effort to go above and beyond for our guests. We hope to have you back soon.

Reviewed 28 December 2016

Wonderful family mini gathering, totally enjoyed our 3 night stay. Close to our son and daughter-in-law in Chester, NJ. The holiday decorations where excellent, the staff was very friendly & welcoming. Planning to meet here again in 2017.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
Pennsylvania
Reviewed 27 December 2016

We spent a night here while attending a formal function, we were given an early checkin in a room on the lower level facing a courtyard, it was one of their "pur" rooms. No carpet, but some kind of a wood vinyl floor. Very comfortable bed, clean room. I can see why it would be loud in summer due to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zalovestravel

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basking Ridge
0.8 km away
Dolce Basking Ridge
Dolce Basking Ridge
#1 of 4 in Basking Ridge
727 reviews
9.7 km away
Courtyard Basking Ridge
Courtyard Basking Ridge
#3 of 4 in Basking Ridge
290 reviews
3.0 km away
Bernards Inn
Bernards Inn
#1 of 1 in Bernardsville
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
767 reviews
9.4 km away
Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge
Hotel Indigo Basking Ridge
#4 of 4 in Basking Ridge
243 reviews
8.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Morristown Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Olde Mill Inn, a picturesque American Country Inn, welcomes a new generation of guests with its heritage of warmth and hospitality dating back to the Revolutionary War. Nestled in the rolling landscape of New Jersey's Somerset Hills, The Olde Mill Inn provides Inn Style elegance in weddings, meetings, dining, and overnight accommodations. At the Grain House Restaurant, experience the historic ambiance while savoring the tastes of today. Open for Lunch & Dinner Daily, Saturday à la Carte Brunch and Sunday Brunch Buffet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Olde Mill Inn

Address: 225 US Highway 202, Basking Ridge, NJ 07920-1646
Region: United States > New Jersey > Basking Ridge
Price Range: RM799 - RM945 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Olde Mill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Olde Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Mill Hotel Basking Ridge
Olde Mill Hotel And Grain
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Olde Mill Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Olde Mill Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms on the south side seem quieter”
 of 5 bubbles josephn914, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Second floor rooms, away from the highway side.”
 of 5 bubbles zalovestrips, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from reception area and courtyard if you like to sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles cmrich821, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you smoke, or are handicapped ask for a room that has an entrance directly to the parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles moirat723, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Take a room away from above the ballroom as partying can be heard as long as the party lasts”
 of 5 bubbles CoffeeGuyz, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5