We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 107: English reviews
Schroon Lake, New York
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Our suite was on the first floor with it's own entrance. It did not have a view of the beach; we didn't care since we weren't in the room long enough during the day to enjoy a view. I'm not sure of the views on the 2nd and 3rd floor rooms. Very comfortable bedrooms, although the wicker furniture in sitting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 202KANT
leithhall, Owner at Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this great review! We enjoy chatting with our guests - and you were fun to talk to. We hope to see you again soon.

Hamden, Connecticut
Reviewed 16 September 2015

I cannot recommend this place enough. We have now been back 7 times because our experience is always stellar. The hosts are fascinating and accommodating, the rooms are atmospheric, and the food was wonderful. We parked on premise, and were able to walk anywhere we needed to go, as they are located right in the middle of everything. Can't wait...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susanpD7021CE
leithhall, Owner at Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you sooo much for this wonderful review! We're already looking forward to your next visit.

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 16 September 2015

I enjoyed my stay at Leith Hall tremendously. It is about a half block from the beach, and I could see the ocean from my window. Large porch accommodates guests, and breakfast was delicious every day. (Can you say: frittata? Wow!) Lovely library filled with books and several DVDs. Most importantly, I could walk everywhere: to the beach, to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trixie R
leithhall, Owner at Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this great review! We try to make our guests happy and when we do, it is a wonderful feeling. Thank you!

Reviewed 2 September 2015 via mobile

The location is great - close to the beach in one direction and the pedestrian zone full of shops in the other. I also liked being on a block that was essentially residential so you didn't have people lining up for a restaurant as I saw on Jackson Street. The best feature is the porch, which is shaded by an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ladira
leithhall, Owner at Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review - we hope we'll see you again soon!

Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewed 18 August 2015

Rooms are small and cluttered. Extremely noisy window A/C. Breakfast was consistent…. Terrible every day. Miss leading advertising - rude host, limited onsite parking most guests were made to walk 4 -5 long blocks. Ocean view turned out to be a restaurant parking lot. Advertised to contain sink, refrigerator – not in our room.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joe b
Susan L, Owner at Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Joe, we're terribly sorry to hear your stay with us left a bit more to be desired. We do all we can to be sure that each guest is comfortable and enjoying their stay - in your case, you said you were unhappy because your room wasn't as big as your friend's room (most of our rooms are bigger). We...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 15 August 2015

This was our third stay at Leith Hall and we enjoyed Elan and Susan's hospitality and historically accurate furnishings and decorations as we had on our previous visits. They serve lovely breakfasts and tea time treats. We especially enjoyed visiting with our hosts and other guests, as Elan has a talent for chatting with everyone on their large wrap around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PRS53
leithhall, Owner at Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review! We're looking forward to your next visit. Best wishes, Susan and Elan

Reading, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 8 August 2015

I found the Leith Hall B&B on Trivago which offered a discount of $49 off a regular night's stay. My wife and I spent a few days in OCMD, then took the Lewes-Cape May Ferry to Cape May. Upon arrival at 2PM, we were greeted by the B&B manager. She checked us in in no time and was very gracious...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dwa211
Susan L, Owner at Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thrilled you and your wife could join us, even if just for one night! We always want you to feel right at home any time you stay with us and we're happy that was the case. Each room is special and it's fantastic knowing how much you enjoyed all the little details that went into yours. With that said, thanks...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 9 July 2015

We booked this B&B last minute and were thankful to get a two bedroom suite as there were four of us traveling together. We had a late arrival, and the hosts were excellent in communicating what to expect. We booked the Audubon suite and it was very charming. Loved the high ceilings in the main room. There was only one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheRays70
Susan L, Owner at Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thrilled you could join us last minute! We're happy you enjoyed breakfast - French toast is one of our favorites, too. Thanks for your wonderful remarks! We do hope we'll be seeing you again the next time you make it to Cape May! Best, Susan and Elan, Owners

Monroe, New Jersey
Reviewed 28 June 2015

We spent the night at Leith Hall. While we have been to Cape May many times, this was are first visit here. Elan is a wonderful host and shares many interesting facts about his and Susan's travels in Europe. Afternoon tea was tasty -especially the Key Lime Cheesecake. Would definitely recommend Leith Hall.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lovetogarden52
Susan L, Owner at Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

So glad your stay with us was so wonderful! We do like sharing our stories with guests, and getting to hear theirs -- it's a wonderful way to get to know the people who come through our doors. Since you've been coming to Cape May for so long, we do hope we'll be seeing you again in the future for...

Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 26 June 2015 via mobile

The location (a block from the ocean and two blocks from town centre), the ocean view (from our third floor bedroom AND bathroom!), the delicious homemade breakfasts, the hosts (friendly and attentive but not "in your face"), the housekeeper cleaned the room while we were at breakfast (her timing was perfect!),the authenticity of the B&B Victorian style.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ann C
Susan L, Owner at Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for this wonderful review, Ann! We're lucky to have oceans views from all of our rooms upstairs, and we're glad you enjoyed that so much. With that said, we hope we'll get to see you again on your next trip to Cape May. Best, Susan and Elan, Owners

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#27 of 37 in Cape May
215 reviews
0.2 km away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
484 reviews
0.1 km away
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
#29 of 37 in Cape May
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,124 reviews
0.1 km away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
0.3 km away
The Luther Ogden Inn
The Luther Ogden Inn
#31 of 39 in Cape May
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast is an elegantly restored inn that is nestled in the heart of the Karen Akers Victorian Historic District. This ornate Victorian style bed and breakfast is only a half of a block away from the beach and offers breathtaking ocean views, full gourmet breakfasts, antiques, and afternoon tea. Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast also offers modern day amenities such as air conditioning, wireless internet, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and free parking. Our bed and breakfast is ideally located for a vacation where you can relax and enjoy the warmth and hospitality of Cape May. Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast is the only professionally restored bed and breakfast in Cape May. While visiting Cape May you will step back into by being surrounded by the elegant Victorian style but, this town carries an atmosphere that is casual and relaxed. Our guests at Leith Hall will help themselves to a hearty full breakfast partnered with a lounge on the porch while enjoying a nice conversation with hosts and other guests. The aroma of freshly brewed coffee and home baked breads flows through the inn and is the most delightful way to wake up. Our breakfast’s that include decadent quiches, crepes, and egg entrees grant you the energy that you need for a day at the beach. Enjoy a relaxing afternoon tea time that includes fresh, homemade cakes and pastries served with hot English tea during the winter and iced tea or lemonade during the summer. Come stay at Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast and experience this elegant Victorian inn that offers a casual and relaxed atmosphere with breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast

Address: 22 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2412
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Price Range: RM673 - RM1,231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be sure the heating and air conditioning are updated as well as bedding.”
 of 5 bubbles ReneeG987, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Almost beachfront! 3rd floor rooms must be able to climb 11 and 17 steps, but with good ocean views!”
 of 5 bubbles 10sumi2012, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on third floor have a great oceanview”
 of 5 bubbles baysidegal76, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask what floor you will be on if you do not want to be on the third floor.”
 of 5 bubbles TwinnieA, 22 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Better view from upper rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles jimkC1358AY, 14 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5